Articles | Air & Space Magazinehttp://www.airspacemag.com/rss/articles/RSS feed for ArticlesenWed, 23 Jul 2014 18:00:00 +0000Calamity on Mt. Hoodhttp://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/calamity-hogback-180952139/When shifting winds downed a helicopter.Wed, 23 Jul 2014 18:00:00 +0000 The Museum’s New, Revamped Planetarium http://www.airspacemag.com/space/Museums-New-Revamped-Planetarium-180952121/Bright stars and new shows at the Einstein.Wed, 23 Jul 2014 18:00:00 +0000Secrets of the Skunk Works http://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/secrets-skunk-works-180952122/Exclusive photographs of once-classified inventions from Lockheed’s famous brain trust.Wed, 23 Jul 2014 18:00:00 +0000Corsair vs. Kamikaze in 1945http://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/Corsair-vs-Kamikaze-1945-180952124/Above and Beyond Wed, 23 Jul 2014 18:00:00 +0000Why We Don’t Have an SSThttp://www.airspacemag.com/flight-today/Search-for-Quiet-SST-180952125/In the politics of supersonic transport, “boom” let to bust.Wed, 23 Jul 2014 18:00:00 +0000America’s Next Spaceshiphttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/americas-next-spaceship-180952126/Designed to go where no man has gone before. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 18:00:00 +0000Mountain Training for Helicopter Pilots http://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/mountain-training-helicopter-pilots-180952127/An Army school in Colorado shows military pilots how to master the heights. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 18:00:00 +0000The Accidental Record Setter http://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/accidental-record-setter-180952128/How a moonlighting ferry pilot landed in the history books, and other trans-Pacific tales. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 18:00:00 +0000When Slower Was Faster http://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/when-slower-was-faster-1-180952131/The brains—and the physics—behind the 1955 Bendix win.Wed, 23 Jul 2014 18:00:00 +0000Al Gore’s Satellite http://www.airspacemag.com/space/al-gores-satellite-180952132/It’s almost ready for launch—even if no one wants to take credit for its resurrection.Wed, 23 Jul 2014 18:00:00 +0000Where to Buy a WWI Aeroplane http://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/where-buy-wwi-aeroplane-180952133/Just like the ones they used to fly in 1917—almost. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 18:00:00 +0000The Thrill of Flying the World’s Smallest Jethttp://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/thrill-flying-worlds-smallest-jet-180952134/Jim Bede and the 1975 BD-5 Jet TeamWed, 23 Jul 2014 18:00:00 +0000Andy Weir, Author of <i>The Martian</i>http://www.airspacemag.com/as-interview/andy-weir-author-martian-180950383/A conversation with a space nerd-turned-novelist.Wed, 23 Jul 2014 16:33:34 +0000Plastic as a Sign of Civilizationhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/plastic-sign-civilization-180951923/We will know the extraterrestrials by their trash.Tue, 01 Jul 2014 17:22:07 +0000Will the Stratosphere Be 2020’s Hot Tourist Destination?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/will-stratosphere-be-2020s-hot-tourist-destination-180951891/Flights could begin as early as 2016.Fri, 27 Jun 2014 20:15:38 +0000Glaciers on Mars, 3.5 Billion Years Ago http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/glaciers-mars-35-billion-years-ago-180951872/New evidence that the planet was once cold, wet—and perhaps habitable.Thu, 26 Jun 2014 18:25:46 +0000To Mars! (But Not the Way We’re Going)http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/mars-not-way-were-going-180951855/Hard advice in a new report on the future of human spaceflight.Wed, 25 Jun 2014 20:31:45 +0000Birds Make Landing on a Wire Look Easy. Now Try It With a Drone.http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/birds-make-landing-wire-look-easy-try-it-drone-180951561/If engineers can master the technique, UAVs might be able to charge themselves on power lines.Thu, 19 Jun 2014 14:10:53 +0000Neil Armstrong, College Professorhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/neil-armstrong-college-professor-180951771/An online archive highlights the astronaut’s little-known academic careerTue, 17 Jun 2014 18:44:49 +0000The Kansas City B-25 Factoryhttp://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/kansas-city-b-25-factory-180951624/This hastily constructed plant produced 6,608 bombers during World War IIWed, 11 Jun 2014 15:19:30 +0000