Articles | Air & Space Magazinehttp://www.airspacemag.com/rss/articles/RSS feed for ArticlesenFri, 24 Apr 2015 19:47:01 +0000MESSENGER Comes To a Crashing End on Thursdayhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/messenger-comes-crashing-end-thursday-180955098/With its mission over, NASA’s Mercury orbiter will slam into the planet it’s been studying for years. Fri, 24 Apr 2015 19:47:01 +0000The Best Judges of Airshow Performers: Other Performershttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/best-judges-airshow-performers-other-performers-180955089/Peer evaluation of airshow pilots has reduced accidents by 76 percent.Fri, 24 Apr 2015 14:46:43 +0000New Eyes on the ISShttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/new-eyes-iss-180955069/The space station’s cameras get an upgrade.Thu, 23 Apr 2015 14:29:52 +0000The Lunar “Distraction”http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/lunar-distraction-180955035/Far from being a detour, the Moon is a critical stepping stone to Mars.Mon, 20 Apr 2015 13:45:36 +000010 Hubble Images That Changed Astronomyhttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/gateway-universe-180954890/The famous space telescope has been in orbit 25 years. This is how it ushered in a new age of astronomy.Fri, 17 Apr 2015 19:08:39 +0000That Postal Worker Who Landed at the U.S. Capitol Wasn’t the Firsthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/postal-worker-who-landed-us-capitol-wasnt-first-180955023/It wasn’t even the first gyrocopter.Thu, 16 Apr 2015 20:06:07 +0000How Long Before We Find Extraterrestrial Life?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/how-long-we-find-extraterrestrial-life-180954984/It’s hard to predict, considering that habitability alone doesn’t mean life arose on other worlds. Wed, 15 Apr 2015 14:43:56 +0000What’s in a Name?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/whats-name-180954989/Calling out ULA’s new rocketTue, 14 Apr 2015 19:59:54 +0000Living in the Age of Airplaneshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/living-age-airplanes-180954944/A conversation with documentarian Brian J. Terwilliger about the airplane’s gifts to humankindMon, 13 Apr 2015 17:25:32 +0000Science Publishing -- Some Skepticism Requiredhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/science-publishing-some-skepticism-required-180954871/Although the volume of published scientific papers is increasing, fewer and fewer may actually be read.Fri, 03 Apr 2015 16:50:57 +0000Model Airplanes for Fun and Profithttp://www.airspacemag.com/multimedia/model-airplanes-fun-and-profit-180954864/Some of the best model airplanes are the ones that never get built.Fri, 03 Apr 2015 13:00:00 +0000Tom Cruise Hangs on to a Flying Airbus (Really) in the Next Mission Impossiblehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/tom-cruise-hitches-ride-side-airbus-a400m-emmission-impossible-rogue-nationem-180954805/He wore a safety harness, but that’s really him on a real aircraft, 5,000 feet off the real ground.Wed, 01 Apr 2015 18:26:41 +0000WW2 Anniversary Flyoverhttp://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/ww2-70th-anniversary-flyover-180954736/WW2 airplanes will fly over the National Mall on May 8.Mon, 30 Mar 2015 17:41:22 +0000Coming Soon: Interplanetary Broadbandhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/coming-soon-interplanetary-broadband-180954797/When it comes to spacecraft communications, we’re still in the age of dial-up. That’s about to change.Mon, 30 Mar 2015 14:02:51 +0000Mystery Solved: Mars Has Nitrateshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/mystery-solved-mars-has-nitrates-180954769/The Curiosity rover answers a long-standing question.Thu, 26 Mar 2015 19:38:04 +0000Japanese “People’s Camera” Bound for an Asteroidhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/japanese-peoples-camera-bound-asteroid-180954756/The Hayabusa 2 spacecraft includes an instrument funded through private donations.Thu, 26 Mar 2015 14:52:35 +0000Gallery: One Airman’s Trash...http://www.airspacemag.com/multimedia/one-airmans-trash-180954686/Discarded parts of WWII aircraft were recycled for all kinds of purposes.Tue, 24 Mar 2015 19:47:28 +0000Planetary Pioneerhttp://www.airspacemag.com/airspacemag/planetary-pioneer-180954693/Tom Krimigis, exploring the solar system since 1965.Tue, 24 Mar 2015 19:07:13 +0000Secrets of Flak-Bait Revealedhttp://www.airspacemag.com/multimedia/secrets-flak-bait-revealed-180954682/Conservationists find hidden treasures in the Museum’s B-26.Tue, 24 Mar 2015 18:22:52 +0000Voices of the Veteranshttp://www.airspacemag.com/articles/voices-of-veterans-180954673/Fighter pilots, crew chiefs, bombardiers, and factory workers: All have stories to tell.Mon, 23 Mar 2015 19:00:00 +0000My Dad’s Moon Visionhttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/My-Dads-Moon-Vision-180954672/Surveyor I’s Extended FamilyMon, 23 Mar 2015 19:00:00 +0000What the Movies Taught Us About World War IIhttp://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/what-movies-taught-us-about-world-war-ii-180954671/The biggest war in human history inspired hundreds of movies. One of them had to be the best.Mon, 23 Mar 2015 19:00:00 +0000Kurskhttp://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/kursk-180954670/The greatest tank battle in history might have ended differently had it not been for the action in the air. Mon, 23 Mar 2015 19:00:00 +0000Launch. Recover. Repeathttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/launch-recover-repeat-180954669/If Reusable Launch Vehicles become a reality, it won’t be thanks to NASA.Mon, 23 Mar 2015 19:00:00 +0000The Day After D-Dayhttp://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/day-after-d-day-180954668/When the beaches were won, P-47 Thunderbolts were ready to take the air war to the ground. Mon, 23 Mar 2015 19:00:00 +0000 How to Become a Ball Turret Gunnerhttp://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/how-become-ball-turret-gunner-180954667/To learn to shoot from a bomber, World War II airmen went to the movies.Mon, 23 Mar 2015 19:00:00 +0000The Real Helicopter Parentshttp://www.airspacemag.com/flight-today/real-helicopter-parents-180954666/Families are paying big bucks to put their kids behind the stick.Mon, 23 Mar 2015 19:00:00 +0000A Crater of Cosmic Proportionshttp://www.airspacemag.com/flight-today/crater-cosmic-proportions-180954664/To appreciate the majesty of Northern Quebec’s Pingualuit Crater, you’ve got to see it from an airplaneMon, 23 Mar 2015 19:00:00 +0000The War’s Oddest Dogfighthttp://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/wars-oddest-dogfight-180954663/Over the Atlantic in 1943, it was a battle of the bombers. Mon, 23 Mar 2015 19:00:00 +0000The Biggest Industrial Boom in U.S. Historyhttp://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/biggest-industrial-boom-us-history-180954714/How Roosevelt’s fireside chat changed American culture. Mon, 23 Mar 2015 19:00:00 +0000A Planet Hunter Takes Home The Prizehttp://www.airspacemag.com/as-interview/planet-hunter-takes-home-prize-180954695/Kepler’s mission team is rewarded for ushering in the Era of the Exoplanet with the 2015 NASM Trophy.Mon, 23 Mar 2015 19:00:00 +0000Life as We Don't Know It on Titanhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/life-we-dont-know-it-titan-180954661/Cell membranes may be made of different materials on Saturn’s large moon.Thu, 19 Mar 2015 19:00:00 +0000Flyover Plane-Spottinghttp://www.airspacemag.com/articles/ww2-spotter-cards-180954542/ How to ID the warbirds flying over WashingtonThu, 19 Mar 2015 15:01:56 +0000In 1957, Two Tiny Pellets Were the First Man-made Objects to Escape Earth’s Gravityhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/1957-two-tiny-pellets-were-first-man-made-objects-escape-earths-gravity-180954622/Eccentric astrophysicist Fritz Zwicky scored his victory just 12 days after Sputnik.Wed, 18 Mar 2015 20:35:05 +0000Kids, Your Science Project Advisor is an Astronauthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/kids-your-science-project-advisor-astronaut-180954607/Michelle Ham teams students with the space travelers she once trained at NASA.Wed, 18 Mar 2015 18:15:01 +0000Watching Friday’s Eclipse—From the Stratospherehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/watch-fridays-eclipse-stratosphere-180954609/A Spanish company plans to capture first-of-its-kind video of the March 20 eclipse.Tue, 17 Mar 2015 20:09:58 +0000Weightless, Not Stirredhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/weightless-not-stirred-180954557/A Kickstarter campaign for a martini glass that works in microgravity.Fri, 13 Mar 2015 18:38:09 +0000Yutu Peers Inside the Moonhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/yutu-peers-inside-moon-180954551/Data from the Chinese Chang’E 3 lander show what’s under the lunar surface.Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:00:00 +0000Mars Once Had an Ocean—A Big Onehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/mars-once-had-ocean-big-one-180954522/Newly published results may just seal the case.Tue, 10 Mar 2015 18:44:26 +0000The Deadliest Air Raid in Historyhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/deadliest-air-raid-history-180954512/The firebombing of Tokyo 70 years ago marked the beginning of the end for Imperial Japan.Mon, 09 Mar 2015 19:31:03 +0000Sun-Powered Airplane Begins Round-The-World Flighthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/sun-powered-airplane-begins-round-world-flight-180954499/Solar Impulse is already out of gas. And that’s a good thing.Mon, 09 Mar 2015 15:46:30 +0000Journey to Space 3D Opens at IMAX Theatershttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/journey-space-3d-opens-imax-theaters-180954487/A new big-screen film documents the progress of NASA’s next big adventure.Fri, 06 Mar 2015 13:18:09 +0000Dawn Spacecraft Closes in on Cereshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/dawn-spacecraft-closes-ceres-180954450/Soon we’ll find out what those mysterious bright spots are.Tue, 03 Mar 2015 16:40:17 +0000Even Cosmonauts Liked the Vulcan Greetinghttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/even-cosmonauts-liked-vulcan-greeting-180954446/ Tue, 03 Mar 2015 16:02:28 +0000For Service Above and Beyondhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/service-above-beyond-180954247/Pilots who won the Medal of Honor, from WWI to Vietnam.Fri, 27 Feb 2015 16:32:24 +0000