Articles | Air & Space Magazinehttp://www.airspacemag.com/rss/articles/RSS feed for ArticlesenThu, 29 Sep 2016 20:40:09 +0000NASA Wants Ideas for the Next Electric Airplanehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/air-electric-180960646/Looking beyond the X-57.Thu, 29 Sep 2016 20:40:09 +0000A New Home for a Historic Airplane Competition http://www.airspacemag.com/flight-today/new-home-historic-airplane-competition-180960634/Expertly restored vintage aircraft will be on view once again—in Sacramento.Wed, 28 Sep 2016 20:05:20 +0000Did SpaceX Just Pass NASA on the Road to Mars?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/did-spacex-just-pass-nasa-road-mars-180960629/Elon Musk’s biggest, boldest plan yet.Wed, 28 Sep 2016 18:05:18 +0000South Korea’s 2018 Lunar Missionhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/korea-plans-lunar-mission-2018-180960588/Another nation joins the international movement to the Moon.Mon, 26 Sep 2016 17:25:44 +0000Inside Hangar Onehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/inside-hangar-one-180960562/ Thu, 22 Sep 2016 18:25:56 +0000Just Doing Their Jobhttp://www.airspacemag.com/as-interview/just-doing-their-job-180960410/WASP of the Ferry Command.Wed, 21 Sep 2016 16:00:00 +0000To Dare the Realm of Jupiterhttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/juno-power-and-radiation-180960372/A spacecraft does battle with the giant.Wed, 21 Sep 2016 16:00:00 +0000This is How You Beat the Inverted Spin Record (On Purpose)http://www.airspacemag.com/flight-today/sit-down-before-reading-180960371/You might want to sit down before reading.Wed, 21 Sep 2016 16:00:00 +0000JPL’s Renaissance Manhttp://www.airspacemag.com/as-interview/interview-g-lee-180960370/Gentry Lee likes to stay busy.Wed, 21 Sep 2016 16:00:00 +0000How One Planetary Scientist Became a Cold War Spy For the CIAhttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/cold-war-solar-system-spies-180960369/Code name: Stonehouse. Wed, 21 Sep 2016 16:00:00 +0000My Father, the Tuskegee Airmen, and the Dream of Flighthttp://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/tuskegee-stearman-180960368/An African-American airline captain reflects on the legacy of his forebears.Wed, 21 Sep 2016 16:00:00 +0000When the Patient Is an Enginehttp://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/patient-engine-180960366/ Wed, 21 Sep 2016 16:00:00 +0000Under the Big Jetshttp://www.airspacemag.com/flight-today/under-big-jets-180960365/On St. Maarten, the beach party is loud.Wed, 21 Sep 2016 16:00:00 +0000Big Glass and the Age of New Astronomyhttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/big-astronomy-how-built-180960364/The fight to put a monster telescope on Mauna Kea is part of a bigger war looming among astronomers.Wed, 21 Sep 2016 16:00:00 +0000The Intel Nethttp://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/the-intel-net-180960363/The sprawling, secretive process between sensor and action.Wed, 21 Sep 2016 16:00:00 +0000Homework in Orbithttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/space-station-outreach-180960361/The next payload headed for the International Space Station is an 8th grader’s assignment.Wed, 21 Sep 2016 16:00:00 +0000Saying Goodbye to My Seahawkhttp://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/seahawks-in-the-desert-180960373/ The day I had to leave my SH-60B helicopter at the boneyard. Wed, 21 Sep 2016 15:55:02 +0000The Guard at NATO’s Northern Gatehttp://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/norways-air-force-180960362/With a new force of F-35 Joint Strike Fighters, Norway readies for Europe’s next threat.Wed, 21 Sep 2016 15:54:15 +0000Meet <i>Doc,</i> One of Only Two Flying B-29s in the Worldhttp://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/restoration-doc-flies-again-180960367/For 42 years, <i>Fifi</i> was the only airworthy Superfortress. Now it has company.Wed, 21 Sep 2016 14:57:42 +0000Methane from Meteorites? Maybe Not.http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/methane-meteorites-maybe-not-180960509/A challenge to a new hypothesis, and a great example of how science works. Tue, 20 Sep 2016 15:42:19 +00005 Ways the Civil Air Patrol Works 4 Uhttp://www.airspacemag.com/as-next/5-ways-civil-air-patrol-can-work-4-u-180960524/ Tue, 20 Sep 2016 14:24:41 +0000Astronauts Forget About Gravityhttp://www.airspacemag.com/as-next/astronauts-forget-about-gravity-180960523/ Tue, 20 Sep 2016 14:15:02 +0000I Built This Airplane With a Little Help From My Friendshttp://www.airspacemag.com/as-next/i-built-airplane-little-help-my-friends-180960522/ Tue, 20 Sep 2016 14:07:51 +0000Robot Builder, JPLhttp://www.airspacemag.com/as-next/ryan-mccormick-jet-propulsion-lab-180960521/ Tue, 20 Sep 2016 14:00:31 +0000How is an Aircraft Propulsion System Like a Stack of Pancakes?http://www.airspacemag.com/as-next/how-aircraft-propulsion-system-stack-pancakes-180960520/ Tue, 20 Sep 2016 13:42:20 +00005 Tips for Internshipshttp://www.airspacemag.com/as-next/5-tips-internships-180960519/ Tue, 20 Sep 2016 13:21:41 +0000Fly Etihad, With Nicole Kidmanhttp://www.airspacemag.com/as-next/fly-etihad-nicole-kidman-180960517/ Mon, 19 Sep 2016 22:18:38 +0000Warbird Wrangler, Wings of Freedom Tourhttp://www.airspacemag.com/as-next/jamie-mitchell-wings-freedom-tour-180960516/ Mon, 19 Sep 2016 21:52:23 +0000Jeff Bezos’ Simple Two-Step Planhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/jeff-bezos-simple-two-step-plan-180960498/Revolutionizing online shopping wasn’t challenging enough, apparently.Fri, 16 Sep 2016 19:00:12 +0000China Prepares for First Astronaut Flight in Three Yearshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/china-readies-first-astronaut-flight-three-years-180960468/Tiangong-2 marks another step toward a long-term space station.Wed, 14 Sep 2016 21:21:57 +0000Gaia’s Billion-Star Atlas Will Revolutionize Astronomyhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/gaias-billion-star-atlas-will-revolutionize-astronomy-180960461/The ultimate roadmap of our galaxy is now online.Wed, 14 Sep 2016 18:10:44 +0000Virgin Galactic Gets Back to Flyinghttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/virgin-galactic-gets-back-flying-180960441/<i>Unity</i> picks up where the space tourism company left off in 2014. Tue, 13 Sep 2016 19:42:56 +0000Martian Methane May Come From Cometshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/martian-methane-may-come-comets-180960428/A new explanation for one of planetary science’s big mysteries.Tue, 13 Sep 2016 15:06:54 +0000Lowering the Cost of Human Spaceflighthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/lowering-cost-human-spaceflight-180960420/Three ways to make things cheaper.Mon, 12 Sep 2016 19:00:00 +0000A Boost for Astrobiology in Germanyhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/boost-astrobiology-germany-180960375/A new society dedicated to studying life on other worlds. Thu, 08 Sep 2016 18:09:51 +0000Filmmaker Adam Nimoy’s Homage to His Famous Dadhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/son-spock-180960311/The new documentary, <em>For the Love of Spock,</em> premieres Friday.Wed, 07 Sep 2016 19:42:07 +0000Bad Day at Pad 40http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/bad-day-pad-40-180960333/SpaceX loses a rocket, and some of its momentum.Fri, 02 Sep 2016 12:30:00 +0000The Stratotanker Turns 60http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/stratotanker-turns-60-180960302/The KC-135 aerial refueling aircraft made its first flight on August 31, 1956.Wed, 31 Aug 2016 20:22:59 +0000So You’ve Heard a Potential Alien Signal. How Do You Tell the World?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/so-youve-heard-potential-seti-signal-how-do-you-tell-world-180960299/The hazards of going public in the face of uncertainty.Tue, 30 Aug 2016 21:18:12 +0000‘That’s What Happens When You Send Up a Microbiologist’http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/s-what-happens-when-you-send-microbiologist-station-180960268/Scientist-turned-astronaut Kate Rubins brings her lab experience to orbit.Fri, 26 Aug 2016 16:00:41 +0000Is the New Planet Proxima b Really Habitable?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/new-planet-proxima-b-really-habitable-180960258/It depends on water, radiation, and other factors still unknown.Thu, 25 Aug 2016 20:06:20 +0000Shot Down in Vietnamhttp://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/shot-down-180960166/A former U.S. Army pilot’s memoir of combat and captivity.Wed, 24 Aug 2016 20:27:15 +0000Class of ’59http://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/the-59ers-180960072/No buildings, no flight lessons, no problem. Some 60 years later, the first Air Force Academy cadets look back.Wed, 24 Aug 2016 19:12:48 +0000An Earthlike (Maybe) Planet Around the Nearest Starhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/earthlike-maybe-planet-around-nearest-star-180960236/Proxima b is the first exoplanet we can actually contemplate visiting.Wed, 24 Aug 2016 17:51:53 +0000The Man Who Taught Mr. Spock to Speak Vulcanhttp://www.airspacemag.com/as-interview/say-what-linguist-elaborates-180960198/Linguist Marc Okrand had to invent whole new languages for <i>Star Trek’s</i> non-Earthlings.Wed, 24 Aug 2016 16:00:00 +0000Little Gems of Aviation Historyhttp://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/aero-pins-180960073/A collector finds a company’s identity in its service pins.Wed, 24 Aug 2016 16:00:00 +0000What Went Wrong on Malaysia Airlines Flight 370?http://www.airspacemag.com/flight-today/crash-detectives-excerpt-180960071/Two years later, its disappearance is still unsolved. A new book reconstructs the last minutes in the cockpit.Wed, 24 Aug 2016 16:00:00 +0000Drones in a Busy Skyhttp://www.airspacemag.com/flight-today/drone-tests-180960069/Can technology protect airplanes from the new threat?Wed, 24 Aug 2016 16:00:00 +0000The Flying Men of Marinhttp://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/marvelous-marin-man-180960068/In 1929, Jacob Sellmer and son came up with a better way to get to San Francisco.Wed, 24 Aug 2016 16:00:00 +0000Aliens on Line 1http://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/aliens-line-one-180960067/For one evening, it looked like we finally had an extraterrestrial signal. Wed, 24 Aug 2016 16:00:00 +0000Restoring Germany’s Captured “Bat Wing”http://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/horten-flying-wing-180960066/A team of conservators works to preserve the innovative Horten Ho 229 V3.Wed, 24 Aug 2016 16:00:00 +0000Look What Lindbergh Left Inside the <i>Spirit of St. Louis</i>http://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/secrets-spirit-180960065/ Ninety years later, a restoration team makes an unexpected find.Wed, 24 Aug 2016 16:00:00 +0000Lufthansa Brings Back a Superstar From the 1950shttp://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/restoration-lockheed-starliner-180960064/The Starliner was stylish, but became obsolete in the jet age. Now it’s being restored. Wed, 24 Aug 2016 16:00:00 +0000Starship Enterprise: The Extended Missionhttp://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/star-trek-at-50-180960063/A half-century after its television debut, notable space and entertainment figures explore the impact of <em>Star Trek.</em>Wed, 24 Aug 2016 16:00:00 +0000Last Days at Saturnhttp://www.airspacemag.com/flight-today/team-cassini-180960062/For 20 years, Cassini has been exploring the ringed planet. Now it’s time for the team to say goodbye.Wed, 24 Aug 2016 16:00:00 +0000This Canadian Museum Has Got Gamehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/canadian-museum-has-got-game-180960217/Aerospace exhibits for the iPad generation. Mon, 22 Aug 2016 19:42:42 +0000Enter our Fourth Annual Photo Contest!http://www.airspacemag.com/multimedia/enter-our-fourth-annual-photo-contest-180960176/Send us your best shots by November 1, 2016 and win cash prizes.Thu, 18 Aug 2016 04:00:00 +0000The Truck Driver Who Jumped From the Edge of Spacehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/truck-driver-who-jumped-edge-space-180960114/Nick Piantanida, born 84 years ago today, was nothing if not determined.Mon, 15 Aug 2016 12:17:01 +0000How, Where, and When to Watch the Perseid Meteorshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/how-where-and-when-watch-perseid-meteors-180960098/If you’re in the right place, all you really have to do is look up.Thu, 11 Aug 2016 15:15:20 +0000The Last Words of Otto Lilienthalhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/last-words-otto-lilienthal-180960084/Germany’s “Flying Man” was the most successful aviator of his day.Wed, 10 Aug 2016 14:27:05 +0000Amelia Earhart Slept Herehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/amelia-earhart-slept-here-180959836/The country’s first airport hotel opened in Oakland, California, in 1929.Mon, 08 Aug 2016 17:44:51 +0000Air & Space Quiz: Test Your Knowledge of the F-35http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/air-space-quiz-test-your-knowledge-f-35-180960029/ Fri, 05 Aug 2016 16:00:22 +0000LUCA, the Ancestor of All Life on Earthhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/luca-ancestor-all-life-earth-180959980/A new genetic analysis points to hydrothermal vents as the planet’s first habitat.Wed, 03 Aug 2016 19:46:21 +0000Life on an Aircraft Carrierhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/life-aircraft-carrier-180959996/ Tue, 02 Aug 2016 19:30:00 +0000