Articles | Air & Space Magazinehttp://www.airspacemag.com/rss/articles/RSS feed for ArticlesenFri, 29 Aug 2014 13:20:13 +0000Time-Lapse of Cygnus Departing the Space Stationhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/time-lapse-cygnus-departing-space-station-180952522/Astronauts say goodbye to their supply ship after a month in orbit.Fri, 29 Aug 2014 13:20:13 +0000Alien Life May Thrive on an Exotic Kind of Carbon Dioxidehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/alien-life-may-thrive-exotic-kind-carbon-dioxide-180952500/The familiar gas would have not-so-familiar properties on other planets.Thu, 28 Aug 2014 13:34:35 +0000A Tour of the Boneyardhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/tour-boneyard-180952460/The aircraft retirement home in Arizona is well worth a visit.Mon, 25 Aug 2014 14:10:26 +0000Scientists Find Life in an Antarctic Lakehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/scientists-find-life-frozen-antarctic-lake-180952439/ …a place not unlike Jupiter’s moon EuropaThu, 21 Aug 2014 18:17:17 +0000Artifacts of the Great Warhttp://www.airspacemag.com/articles/world-war-i-objects-180952307/A collection of World War I objects, from the mundane to the extraordinaryWed, 20 Aug 2014 19:07:32 +0000Where NASA Learned to Spacewalkhttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/where-nasa-learned-spacewalk-180952396/Gemini astronauts jumped into this Maryland pool to experience working in space.Wed, 20 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000Captain Dave and his Ukulelehttp://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/captain-dave-and-his-ukulele-180952397/Flying around Hawaii for tips.Wed, 20 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000We Test-Drive the Country’s Only Skydiving Simulatorhttp://www.airspacemag.com/articles/we-test-drive-countrys-only-skydiving-simulator-180952398/Terminal velocity without the wind blastWed, 20 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000The Rockets That Inspired Francis Scott Keyhttp://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/rockets-inspired-francis-scott-key-180952399/We know they had a “red glare,” but what kind of rocket did the British fire in 1814?Wed, 20 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000How Important Is a Pilot’s First Airplane?http://www.airspacemag.com/flight-today/how-important-pilots-first-airplane-180952401/Why older trainers often have the edge on newer ones.Wed, 20 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000Cancelled: The Gregor FDB-1http://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/cancelled-gregor-fdb-1-180952402/One pilot called the Canadian biplane “chubby in a vicious way.” Wed, 20 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000The Truth About the MiG-29http://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/truth-about-mig-29-180952403/How U.S. intelligence services solved the mystery of a cold war killer. Wed, 20 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000A Flight In A Skycatcherhttp://www.airspacemag.com/flight-today/flight-skycatcher-180952404/A light airplane that won't frighten new pilots.Wed, 20 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000Diary of a World War I Acehttp://www.airspacemag.com/multimedia/diary-world-war-i-ace-180952405/Air combat, prison camp, and the will to fly again.Wed, 20 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000Aviation’s Sexiest Racerhttp://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/Aviations-Sexiest-Racer-180952406/Ettore Bugatti built fast cars—and just one airplane.Wed, 20 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000The Quadcopter’s Teacherhttp://www.airspacemag.com/as-interview/quadcopters-teacher-180952408/Jonathan Aitken wants robots to navigate—and cooperate—on their own.Wed, 20 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000Birth of the Bugattihttp://www.airspacemag.com/articles/bugatti-racer-drawings-180952314/Original design sketches show how the raceplane evolved.Wed, 20 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000Virtual Museum Visitshttp://www.airspacemag.com/articles/virtual-museum-visits-180952413/The National Air and Space Museum online collection includes thousands of artifacts that aren’t on display.Wed, 20 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000When Sputnik Crashed in Wisconsinhttp://www.airspacemag.com/articles/when-sputnik-crashed-wisconsin-180952388/Half a century later, the town of Manitowoc commemorates its biggest day ever.Wed, 20 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000Cubesats to the Moon (Mars and Saturn, Too)http://www.airspacemag.com/space/cubesats-moon-mars-and-saturn-too-180952389/The next generation of planetary explorers.Wed, 20 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000How the 737 Got Its Hamster Mouthhttp://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/how-737-got-its-hamster-mouth-180952391/The top-selling commercial airliner engine started with a strange design.Wed, 20 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000Barefoot Pilots of the Maldiveshttp://www.airspacemag.com/flight-today/barefoot-pilots-maldives-180952393/A remote island nation becomes a finishing school for floatplane pilots. Wed, 20 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000The Great Big, Beautiful Tomorrow http://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/great-big-beautiful-tomorrow-180952395/At the 1964 World’s Fair, the Space Age led the way to world peace, happiness, and fast cars. Wed, 20 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000Life in a Lake of Oilhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/life-pool-oil-180952281/And that may have implications for Saturn’s moon TitanThu, 07 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000Moon First—Mine the Asteroids Laterhttp://www.airspacemag.com/articles/moon-firstmine-asteroids-later-180952272/Let’s learn how to extract space resources closer to home.Wed, 06 Aug 2014 19:04:10 +0000A Spotter’s Guide to World War I Replicashttp://www.airspacemag.com/airspacemag/spotters-guide-world-war-i-replicas-180952264/Where to see a Jenny in flightFri, 01 Aug 2014 14:17:44 +0000Spaceport Westhttp://www.airspacemag.com/multimedia/spaceport-america-photo-gallery-180952172/Virgin Galactic’s future launch site rises up from the New Mexico desert.Wed, 30 Jul 2014 19:00:35 +0000Al Gore’s Satellite http://www.airspacemag.com/space/al-gores-satellite-180952132/It’s almost ready for launch—even if no one wants to take credit for its resurrection.Wed, 23 Jul 2014 18:00:00 +0000Where to Buy a WWI Aeroplane http://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/where-buy-wwi-aeroplane-180952133/Just like the ones they used to fly in 1917—almost. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 18:00:00 +0000The Thrill of Flying the World’s Smallest Jethttp://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/thrill-flying-worlds-smallest-jet-180952134/Jim Bede and the 1975 BD-5 Jet TeamWed, 23 Jul 2014 18:00:00 +0000Calamity on Mt. Hoodhttp://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/calamity-hogback-180952139/When shifting winds downed a helicopter.Wed, 23 Jul 2014 18:00:00 +0000 The Museum’s New, Revamped Planetarium http://www.airspacemag.com/space/Museums-New-Revamped-Planetarium-180952121/Bright stars and new shows at the Einstein.Wed, 23 Jul 2014 18:00:00 +0000Secrets of the Skunk Works http://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/secrets-skunk-works-180952122/Exclusive photographs of once-classified inventions from Lockheed’s famous brain trust.Wed, 23 Jul 2014 18:00:00 +0000Corsair vs. Kamikaze in 1945http://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/Corsair-vs-Kamikaze-1945-180952124/Above and Beyond Wed, 23 Jul 2014 18:00:00 +0000Why We Don’t Have an SSThttp://www.airspacemag.com/flight-today/Search-for-Quiet-SST-180952125/In the politics of supersonic transport, “boom” led to bust.Wed, 23 Jul 2014 18:00:00 +0000America’s Next Spaceshiphttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/americas-next-spaceship-180952126/Designed to go where no man has gone before. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 18:00:00 +0000Mountain Training for Helicopter Pilots http://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/mountain-training-helicopter-pilots-180952127/An Army school in Colorado shows military pilots how to master the heights. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 18:00:00 +0000The Accidental Record Setter http://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/accidental-record-setter-180952128/How a moonlighting ferry pilot landed in the history books, and other trans-Pacific tales. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 18:00:00 +0000When Slower Was Faster http://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/when-slower-was-faster-1-180952131/The brains—and the physics—behind the 1955 Bendix win.Wed, 23 Jul 2014 18:00:00 +0000Andy Weir, Author of <i>The Martian</i>http://www.airspacemag.com/as-interview/andy-weir-author-martian-180950383/A conversation with a space nerd-turned-novelist.Wed, 23 Jul 2014 16:33:34 +0000