Articles | Air & Space Magazinehttp://www.airspacemag.com/rss/articles/RSS feed for ArticlesenMon, 06 Jul 2015 20:06:57 +0000SETI and the Rise of the Machineshttp://www.airspacemag.com/airspacemag/seti-and-rise-machines-180955834/Non-biological intelligence offers another possible solution to the Fermi Paradox.Mon, 06 Jul 2015 20:06:57 +0000Sample Return May Not Be the Best Way to Find Martian Lifehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/sample-return-may-not-be-best-way-find-martian-life-180955788/NASA’s Mars 2020 will be a great technology demonstrator, but is it right for astrobiology?Wed, 01 Jul 2015 15:46:20 +0000A Spyplane in 1914http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/a-spyplane-in-1914-180955597/Its mission included two pit stops and an “excellent lunch.”Tue, 30 Jun 2015 19:59:41 +0000SpaceX Loses Dragon Cargo Ship in Launch Explosionhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/spacex-loses-dragon-cargo-ship-launch-explosion-180955748/NASA says space station logistics may have to be shuffled, but there’s no emergency.Mon, 29 Jun 2015 14:16:34 +0000What Is the Space Program Good For?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/what-value-space-program-180955720/In 1968, on the eve of the first Apollo launch, rocket pioneer Wernher von Braun gave his answer.Fri, 26 Jun 2015 12:24:49 +0000Lindbergh’s 1927 Flight Set Off a Mini-Craze of Board Games http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/lindberghs-1927-flight-games-180955607/“Lindy Hop-Off” and “Captain Hop Across Junior” were just two of the titles inspired by the first transatlantic solo flight.Thu, 25 Jun 2015 21:46:25 +0000Video: The F-35 Goes Skiinghttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/video-f-35-goes-skiing-180955687/The Lightning II practices a British-style carrier takeoff at Patuxent River.Wed, 24 Jun 2015 13:31:46 +0000Life May Need to Take Charge of a Planet to Survivehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/life-may-need-take-charge-planet-survive-180955675/A sobering solution to Fermi’s Paradox Tue, 23 Jun 2015 16:13:50 +0000You, Too, Can Own A Hypersonic Flying Laboratoryhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/you-too-can-own-a-scramjet-180955621/For a mere $60,000 or so. Plus shipping and handling.Mon, 22 Jun 2015 15:07:32 +0000Encore!http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/encore-180955666/Watch how this four-year-old reacts to her first aerobatic flight.Mon, 22 Jun 2015 14:23:41 +0000Here’s What Moving Traffic Looks Like From 250 Miles Uphttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/heres-what-traffic-looks-250-miles-180955657/Urthecast releases its first high-res video from the space station.Sat, 20 Jun 2015 12:22:11 +0000A Dust Cloud Around the Moonhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/dust-cloud-around-moon-180955624/Who ever said that space is empty?Wed, 17 Jun 2015 18:26:57 +00003,200 Miles Over Cereshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/3200-miles-over-ceres-180955614/ A JPL composite video simulates a flyover of a dwarf planet.Wed, 17 Jun 2015 18:05:35 +0000Stateside Reservists Exposed to Agent Orange Will Get Benefits After Allhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/air-force-reservists-exposed-agent-orange-while-stateside-180955598/The Veterans Administration follows up on a finding by the Institute of Medicine.Mon, 15 Jun 2015 19:57:16 +0000Bringing Inflight Movies to Airlines Was Harder Than It Soundshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/when-did-inflight-movies-become-standard-on-airlines-180955566/Starting in 1961, passengers battled boredom with Hollywood films.Fri, 12 Jun 2015 17:20:19 +0000 CubeSats to the Rescue?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/cubesats-rescue-180955544/Small spacecraft will have an impact on astrobiology, although their use may be limited.Tue, 09 Jun 2015 18:26:45 +0000The First U.S. Air Law Was In a Town Without Airplaneshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/first-us-air-law-was-town-without-airplanes-180955524/In 1908, a nervous Florida town prepared for an aerial onslaught.Mon, 08 Jun 2015 17:32:04 +0000The Right Time to Search for Martian Lifehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/right-time-search-martian-life-180955476/After decades of geology-focused Mars missions, should we send one dedicated to biology? Tue, 02 Jun 2015 13:34:42 +0000The First U.S. Spacewalkhttp://www.airspacemag.com/multimedia/first-us-spacewalk-180955457/Ed White’s trip outside, 50 years ago, was exhilarating, improvised, and at times scary.Tue, 02 Jun 2015 13:00:10 +0000How to Drop Like “The Rock” When Your Helicopter Engine Dieshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/how-drop-rock-when-your-helicopter-engine-dies-180955454/A lesson on autorotation in Dwayne Johnson’s new movie, <i>San Andreas</i>Fri, 29 May 2015 19:21:47 +0000NASA’s Europa Mission Gets A Little More Realhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/nasa-selects-instruments-mission-europa-180955428/Scientists select nine instruments to assess the Jovian moon’s habitability.Wed, 27 May 2015 20:23:51 +0000Now We Know at Least Two Payloads on the X-37Bhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/now-we-know-least-two-payloads-x-37b-180955405/But most everything else about the Air Force spaceplane’s current mission remains secret.Wed, 27 May 2015 12:00:00 +0000China and the “Dark Side”http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/china-and-dark-side-180955391/A proposed Chinese mission to the Moon’s hidden hemisphere.Tue, 26 May 2015 12:09:44 +0000David McCullough on the Wright Brothershttp://www.airspacemag.com/as-interview/david-mccullough-wright-brothers-180955344/The Pulitzer Prize winner tells the human story behind the invention of the airplane.Thu, 21 May 2015 19:50:49 +0000The Search for Future Earthshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/search-future-earths-180955361/A rare variety of exoplanet may give us a preview of what’s in store for our planet billions of years from now.Wed, 20 May 2015 19:20:00 +0000The Recline of Civilizationhttp://www.airspacemag.com/flight-today/recline-civilization-180955348/The science of designing an airline passenger seat. Wed, 20 May 2015 19:09:59 +0000An Inside Look at the <i>Spirit of St. Louis</i>http://www.airspacemag.com/multimedia/inside-look-spirit-st-louis-180955351/ Wed, 20 May 2015 19:09:17 +0000The Universe is Ringinghttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/universe-ringing-180955325/And astronomers are building observatories to listen to it.Wed, 20 May 2015 19:00:00 +0000The Bushplane Olympicshttp://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/bushplane-olympics-180955326/In Valdez, Alaska, the prize goes to the airplane that takes off and lands in the shortest distance. Wed, 20 May 2015 19:00:00 +0000Winners of Our Second Annual Photo Contesthttp://www.airspacemag.com/articles/winners-2nd-annual-air-space-photo-contest-180955328/ Wed, 20 May 2015 19:00:00 +0000See The World From 100,000 Feethttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/see-world-100000-feet-180955329/Companies on both sides of the Atlantic are building capsules to carry you into the stratosphere. Wed, 20 May 2015 19:00:00 +0000What Created the Universe’s Cold Spot?http://www.airspacemag.com/space/what-created-universes-cold-spot-180955343/ A super(void) explanationWed, 20 May 2015 19:00:00 +0000Winning the Stratobowl in 1935http://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/winning-stratobowl-1935-180955345/A geologic formation became the perfect launchpad for flights into the stratosphere.Wed, 20 May 2015 19:00:00 +0000An Aircraft Carrier’s Cable Guyshttp://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/aircraft-carriers-cable-guys-180955347/It takes muscle to stop and stow a 25-ton fighter. Wed, 20 May 2015 19:00:00 +0000On Their Own Steamhttp://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/trains-planes-cats-180955319/Navy carriers are only now breaking away from using 19th century tech to put jets in the air.Wed, 20 May 2015 19:00:00 +0000The <i>Spirit of St. Louis</i> Lands Againhttp://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/spirit-st-louis-lands-again-180955320/Charles Lindbergh’s iconic aircraft undergoes restoration.Wed, 20 May 2015 19:00:00 +0000Learning to Fly the Fortresshttp://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/learning-fly-fortress-180955321/Memorable flights and other adventures Wed, 20 May 2015 19:00:00 +0000Can UAVs Save the Elephants?http://www.airspacemag.com/flight-today/can-uavs-save-elephants-180955322/ Sentinels in the sky are hunting the poachers.Wed, 20 May 2015 19:00:00 +0000Pretend to Fly Pan Am -- On a Hollywood Sound Stagehttp://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/delicious-airline-food-really-180955323/The Pan Am Experience aims to recreate a bygone era when airline food was good.Wed, 20 May 2015 19:00:00 +0000How the Korean War Almost Went Nuclearhttp://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/how-korean-war-almost-went-nuclear-180955324/In 1950, Harry Truman had to decide whether to use B-29s to drop atomic bombs.Wed, 20 May 2015 19:00:00 +0000Photo Gallery: The Complex Choreography of Carrier Landingshttp://www.airspacemag.com/multimedia/hook-and-release-180955352/“Hook and release” is not as simple as it sounds.Wed, 20 May 2015 14:51:20 +0000How Do You Airlift 500 Sea Turtles?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/how-do-you-airlift-500-sea-turtles-180955281/One Piper Cub at a timeMon, 18 May 2015 18:28:12 +0000The X-47’s Missing Linkhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/x-47-missing-link-180955249/Did they skip a step in the UAV test program, or is somebody hiding something?Fri, 15 May 2015 15:42:42 +0000SF Writer Gregory Benford on How Pluto Has Been Imaginedhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/imagining-pluto-180955232/For 85 years, Pluto has belonged to the science fiction writers. Now it’s about to get real.Wed, 13 May 2015 15:17:38 +0000The 9/11 Takedown That Never Happenedhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/911-takedown-never-happened-180955222/A former National Guard pilot recalls her dramatic scramble over Washington on September 11.Mon, 11 May 2015 18:54:09 +0000Watch the Replay of the WWII Flyoverhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/watch-wwii-flyover-180955221/Dozens of warbirds flew over the Nation's Capital FridayFri, 08 May 2015 19:35:16 +0000