Articles | Air & Space Magazinehttp://www.airspacemag.com/rss/articles/RSS feed for ArticlesenThu, 20 Nov 2014 21:07:12 +0000Picture-Perfect SR-71http://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/picture-perfect-sr-71-180953419/A Blackbird pilot and photographer describes the day he took his favorite picture.Thu, 20 Nov 2014 21:07:12 +0000What a Blackbird Drinkshttp://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/what-blackbird-drinks-180953422/On the SR-71, Kelly Johnson once said, everything had to be invented—including the gas.Thu, 20 Nov 2014 20:48:55 +0000Plant Life May Thrive in Alien Atmospheres http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/plant-life-may-thrive-alien-atmospheres-180953410/It may not even require as much light as it does on Earth.Thu, 20 Nov 2014 17:25:43 +0000Orbital Inspectorshttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/orbital-inspectors-180953376/If the space station gets smacked by a micrometeoroid, an array of devices can find—and fix—the damage.Wed, 19 Nov 2014 15:00:00 +0000 Painting With a Learjet Enginehttp://www.airspacemag.com/flight-today/painting-learjet-engine-180953357/A German princess takes to the runway to produce “jet-art.”Wed, 19 Nov 2014 15:00:00 +0000AOPA Goes Back to Its Grassrootshttp://www.airspacemag.com/flight-today/anniversary-homecoming-brings-aopa-back-its-grassroots-180953360/On its 75th anniversary, the pilots association celebrates successes and looks to the future.Wed, 19 Nov 2014 15:00:00 +0000Eye to Eye with a Bearhttp://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/eye-eye-bear-bomber-180953363/In 1966, a Naval aviator got an unforgettable look at an icon of the Cold War: the Soviet Tupolev Tu-95 bomber.Wed, 19 Nov 2014 15:00:00 +0000Searching for Moon Rocks in Iowahttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/searching-moon-rocks-iowa-180953365/In 1964, midwestern farmers and school kids got a jump on the Apollo astronauts.Wed, 19 Nov 2014 15:00:00 +0000The Pioneering Age of Ultralightshttp://www.airspacemag.com/flight-today/pioneering-age-ultralights-180953366/Small-engine wonders in the Museum’s collection.Wed, 19 Nov 2014 15:00:00 +0000How to Survive A Helicopter Crashhttp://www.airspacemag.com/flight-today/how-survive-helicopter-crash-180953369/Specialized—and terrifying—training helps passengers prepare for the worst.Wed, 19 Nov 2014 15:00:00 +0000America’s First Combat Pilotshttp://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/americas-first-combat-pilots-180953371/Descendants of the volunteers who served in the famed Lafayette Escadrille shed light on why they chose to fight.Wed, 19 Nov 2014 15:00:00 +0000The Cub’s Badass Big Brotherhttp://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/cubs-badass-big-brother-180953372/The Piper PA-48 Enforcer may have been called the “Super Mustang,” but it never found its mission.Wed, 19 Nov 2014 15:00:00 +0000Blackbird Diarieshttp://www.airspacemag.com/flight-today/blackbird-diaries-180953373/Stories from the fastest jet ever flown.Wed, 19 Nov 2014 15:00:00 +0000Dark Matter Detectiveshttp://www.airspacemag.com/how-things-work/dark-matter-detectives-180953374/ The hunt for the most elusive particles in the universe is half a mile underground.Wed, 19 Nov 2014 15:00:00 +0000The Missile Men of North Vietnamhttp://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/missile-men-north-vietnam-180953375/ A look at the air war waged from the ground. Wed, 19 Nov 2014 15:00:00 +0000Raiders of the Lost Ark’s Fake Flying Winghttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/raiders-lost-arks-fake-flying-wing-180953339/After 33 years, two amateur auteurs wrap their boyhood <em>Raiders</em> remake by blowing up the Nazi airplane of their dreams.Mon, 17 Nov 2014 15:57:48 +0000Return of the Parasiteshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/return-parasites-180953319/DARPA wants new tech for an old idea.Fri, 14 Nov 2014 16:01:10 +0000<i>Interstellar’s</i> Scientific Fact-Checkerhttp://www.airspacemag.com/as-interview/can-wormholes-180953314/A talk with physicist Kip Thorne.Thu, 13 Nov 2014 20:00:59 +0000A New Way to Search for Martian Lifehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/new-way-search-martian-life-180953316/Isotopic analysis may help us separate native organisms from Earthly contamination.Thu, 13 Nov 2014 16:58:09 +0000Time-Lapse of Orion’s Trip to the Launch Padhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/time-lapse-orions-trip-launch-pad-180953299/The new spaceship gets one step closer to its December 4 debut.Wed, 12 Nov 2014 14:56:57 +0000The First Landing on a Comethttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/first-landing-comet-180953297/After two and a half suspenseful days, Rosetta mission scientists ended up a happy bunch.Tue, 11 Nov 2014 19:19:06 +0000China is Now Positioned to Dominate the Moonhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/china-now-positioned-dominate-moon-180953267/What are they up to?Thu, 06 Nov 2014 21:12:38 +0000Incredible Image Shows Never-Before-Seen Detail in a Solar System Being Bornhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/baby-planets-come-together-incredible-image-180953256/This will be the go-to picture for planetary formation in astronomy textbooks.Thu, 06 Nov 2014 12:00:00 +0000The Future of Air Travel, as Seen from MIThttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/future-air-travel-seen-mit-180953245/An expert panel looks ahead to the airline experience of 2030, with more passengers and fewer (if any) pilots.Wed, 05 Nov 2014 16:53:41 +0000Navy F-35 Makes Its First Carrier Landing, With an Audiencehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/navy-f-35-makes-its-first-carrier-landing-audience-180953244/New military airplanes don't come along as often as they used to.Tue, 04 Nov 2014 21:14:56 +0000SpaceShipTwo Suffers Fatal Accident During a Test Flighthttp://www.airspacemag.com/articles/spaceshiptwo-suffers-fatal-accident-during-test-flight-180953219/One pilot is lost; investigation is under way.Sat, 01 Nov 2014 13:05:58 +0000Chinese Test Capsule Returns from Moonhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/chinese-test-capsule-return-moon-tonight-180953204/Mission paves the way for a future lunar sample return.Fri, 31 Oct 2014 15:31:18 +0000How Animals Came to Roam the Earthhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/how-animals-came-roam-earth-180953191/The rise of complex life came after a rise in oxygen levels, according to new research.Thu, 30 Oct 2014 18:00:00 +0000Yet Another Flying Carhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/yet-another-flying-car-180953170/Here we go again.Wed, 29 Oct 2014 13:06:49 +0000What Was the Deal With That Boat Scuttling Last Night's Rocket Launch?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/whats-deal-boat-scuttling-last-nights-antares-rocket-launch-180953176/The Coast Guard and Marine Police try to warn boats out of the danger zone, but sometimes they get through.Tue, 28 Oct 2014 21:17:12 +0000Google VP Sets New Record for a Stratospheric Leaphttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/google-vp-sets-new-record-stratospheric-leap-180953145/Alan Eustace makes history with his 26-mile fall.Fri, 24 Oct 2014 20:14:16 +0000Mimas: Is There an Ocean Inside the Death Star?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/mimas-ocean-within-death-star-180953137/Another (possibly) watery moon in the outer solar systemFri, 24 Oct 2014 15:24:32 +0000Watch Video of a NASA Rocket Sled Pulling a Giant Parachutehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/watch-video-nasa-rocket-sled-pulling-parachute-desert-180953120/Even better than the official “Enter Sandman” video.Thu, 23 Oct 2014 20:50:26 +0000First Respondershttp://www.airspacemag.com/multimedia/first-responders-180952997/American World War I pilots joined up early by serving with Britain’s Royal Air Force.Thu, 23 Oct 2014 17:15:49 +0000First Privately Funded Moon Mission Launches on a Chinese Rockethttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/first-privately-funded-moon-mission-ride-chinese-rocket-180953094/A Luxembourg company sends a payload where no amateur radio satellite has ever gone.Tue, 21 Oct 2014 10:54:22 +0000Did a B-24 Really Shoot Down a V-2 Rocket in 1944?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/did-B-24-really-shoot-down-V-2-rocket-1944-180953085/On the trail of a tall tale.Mon, 20 Oct 2014 19:51:08 +0000International Spacecraft Fleet Poised To Watch Comet Skim Past Marshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/international-spacecraft-fleet-watch-comet-skim-past-mars-180953088/During Sunday’s close approach, the view will be best from the Red Planet.Fri, 17 Oct 2014 20:54:36 +0000Lunar Volcanism: How Recent is Recent?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/lunar-volcanism-how-recent-recent-180953075/New work suggests that lavas were erupted on the Moon less than 100 million years ago.Fri, 17 Oct 2014 12:49:58 +0000New Spacecraft Cleaning Method Gets Rid of Pesky “Hitchhikers”http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/new-spacecraft-cleaning-method-gets-rid-pesky-hitchhikers-180953074/A cheaper, easier, approach to planetary protection.Thu, 16 Oct 2014 19:46:26 +0000Orion: the Trailerhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/orion-trailer-180952988/A preview of NASA’s coming movie...uh…launch.Thu, 09 Oct 2014 21:04:58 +0000Europe’s Proto-Spaceplane Gets Ready To Flyhttp://www.airspacemag.com/airspacemag/europes-spaceplane-readies-fly-180952967/The IXV will pave the way for future reusable spacecraft.Wed, 08 Oct 2014 16:49:38 +0000The First Aerial Combat Victoryhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/first-aerial-combat-victory-180952933/Airplane vs. airplane over France in 1914Sat, 04 Oct 2014 13:15:43 +0000Describing Mars to the Rest of the Worldhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/beautiful-mars-180952938/NASA’s new translation project introduces the Red Planet in Icelandic, Esperanto, and more.Fri, 03 Oct 2014 18:05:41 +0000A Road Trip on the Moonhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/road-trip-moon-180952925/Sightseeing tips for a lunar vacationThu, 02 Oct 2014 18:18:38 +0000“Just Fly This Sumbitch Myself”http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet-military/just-fly-sumbitch-myself-180952817/Air America’s pilots liked danger—and a bit of fun.Wed, 01 Oct 2014 13:27:06 +0000Area 51’s Black Jetshttp://www.airspacemag.com/multimedia/area-51s-black-jets-180952881/The highly classified inventions tested at Groom Lake are some of the greatest aircraft ever flown.Tue, 30 Sep 2014 19:36:33 +0000How Did This Mean-Looking Jet Get Permission to Land In Washington D.C.?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/how-did-mean-looking-jet-get-permission-land-washington-dc-180952875/For one thing, it left its weapons at home.Mon, 29 Sep 2014 19:05:00 +0000Etihad Airlines’ Luxury Suite in the Skyhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/etihad-airlines-luxury-suite-sky-180952861/With your own gourmet chef, too.Fri, 26 Sep 2014 20:00:39 +0000How the Navy’s Going Greenhttp://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/how-navys-going-green-180952719/The USS <i>Makin Island’</i>s hybrid-electric propulsion is the future of aircraft carriers.Thu, 25 Sep 2014 20:22:11 +0000To Find Alien Life, Expect the Unexpectedhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/find-alien-life-expect-unexpected-180952853/Highlights of a Library of Congress symposium on first contact with extraterrestrial lifeThu, 25 Sep 2014 18:56:45 +0000