Articles | Air & Space Magazinehttp://www.airspacemag.com/rss/articles/RSS feed for ArticlesenFri, 05 Feb 2016 13:46:46 +0000Martian Life May Survive on Water From the Atmospherehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/martian-life-may-survive-water-atmosphere-180958047/And “follow the water” could be a misguided strategy.Fri, 05 Feb 2016 13:46:46 +0000Shots Seen ’Round the Worldhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/shots-seen-round-world-180958015/Lucky spectators on Earth and in orbit are sometimes treated to an unexpected show on launch day.Wed, 03 Feb 2016 14:05:05 +0000Minuteman, the Missile that Blows Smoke Ringshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/minuteman-missile-blows-smoke-rings-180958003/That distinctive puff is 55 years old today.Mon, 01 Feb 2016 18:52:06 +0000Europe Launches Satellite to Speed Up Space Communicationshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/europe-looks-speed-space-communications-180957991/Tonight’s launch of EDRS-A is a milestone for laser relays in orbit.Fri, 29 Jan 2016 21:11:35 +0000All of Them Gonehttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/all-them-gone-180957964/For NASA’s astronauts, the loss was personal as well as professional.Thu, 28 Jan 2016 16:52:04 +0000Remembering <i>Challenger</i>http://www.airspacemag.com/space/remembering-ichallengeri-180957961/Three perspectives on one of NASA’s darkest days.Thu, 28 Jan 2016 16:51:43 +0000Scientists Find One of the Rare Uninhabited Places on Earthhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/scientists-find-one-rare-uninhabited-places-earth-180957943/No traces of life turn up in Antarctica’s University Valley.Tue, 26 Jan 2016 20:14:00 +0000Terror Over Londonhttp://www.airspacemag.com/as-interview/terror-over-london-180957909/A new book recalls the city’s first blitz during World War I.Fri, 22 Jan 2016 17:18:11 +0000Life Found Refuge From Radiation on the Early Earthhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/life-found-refuge-radiation-early-earth-180957895/Maybe the ocean wasn’t the only habitable place four billion years ago.Thu, 21 Jan 2016 18:54:51 +0000Space 2016: Six Stories to Watchhttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/space-2016-six-stories-watch-180957831/ Wed, 20 Jan 2016 20:33:23 +0000Bezos, Bigelow, Branson and Muskhttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/bezos-bigelow-branson-and-musk-180957824/Can billionaires save the space program?Wed, 20 Jan 2016 20:33:10 +0000China Picks Up the Pacehttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/china-picks-up-pace-180957825/A second Chinese space station launches on a new rocket, and the schedule of moon landings accelerates.Wed, 20 Jan 2016 20:32:38 +0000Searchlights in a Dark Universehttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/searchlights-dark-universe-180957826/New missions to find what’s hidden.Wed, 20 Jan 2016 20:32:25 +0000Rise of the CubeSatshttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/rise-cubesats-180957827/Small satellites get real.Wed, 20 Jan 2016 20:32:12 +0000Slowdown in the Outer Solar Systemhttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/slowdown-outer-solar-system-180957828/After Juno arrives at Jupiter, we’ll see a hiatus in missions beyond the asteroid belt.Wed, 20 Jan 2016 20:31:57 +0000To an Asteroid...or Nothttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/asteroidor-not-180957830/Destination decisions in an election year.Wed, 20 Jan 2016 20:31:41 +0000Missiles Killing Missileshttp://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/missiles-killing-missiles-180957780/The Army’s 11th Air Defense Artillery Brigade does a dress rehearsal of a nuclear attack.Wed, 20 Jan 2016 18:00:00 +0000The Nine Lives of an Apollo Moon Landerhttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/in-the-museum-nine-lives-apollo-moon-lander-180957781/How LM-2 came to impersonate the Apollo 11 lunar module.Wed, 20 Jan 2016 18:00:00 +0000F-22 Raptors Uncagedhttp://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/raptor-strikes-180957782/An F-22 pilot opens up about the fighter’s first combat.Wed, 20 Jan 2016 18:00:00 +0000The Ghost of FAU 571http://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/above-beyond-ghost-of-fau-571-180957783/Any Uruguayan of my generation would recognize the tail number of the passenger jet that crashed in the Andes in 1972.Wed, 20 Jan 2016 18:00:00 +0000How to Land a House on Marshttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/how-to-land-house-on-mars-180957784/NASA thought it knew, until an alarming failure last summer.Wed, 20 Jan 2016 18:00:00 +0000The Devil’s Observatoryhttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/oldies-oddities-devils-solar-observatory-180957785/The worst thing about Harqua Hala was the isolation.Wed, 20 Jan 2016 18:00:00 +0000The Underwater Airshiphttp://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/soundings-underwater-airship-180957786/Exploring the wreckage of the USS <i>Macon</i>, which went down off the California coast 80 years ago.Wed, 20 Jan 2016 18:00:00 +0000Across the Continent in a Homebuilthttp://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/across-continent-homebuilt-distance-180957787/Some pilots build airplanes just to travel far.Wed, 20 Jan 2016 18:00:00 +0000Bob Gilruth, the Quiet Force Behind Apollohttp://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/quiet-force-behind-apollo-180957788/How a research engineer came to lead NASA to the moon. Wed, 20 Jan 2016 18:00:00 +0000What Are Those Giant Arrows Dotting the American Landscape?http://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/soundings-arrow-quest-180957833/And no, they aren’t alien markings.Wed, 20 Jan 2016 18:00:00 +0000Crash Correspondenthttp://www.airspacemag.com/as-interview/air-space-interview-tom-costello-180957880/TV reporter Tom Costello recounts what he’s seen and learned in a decade of covering commercial aviation accidents.Wed, 20 Jan 2016 18:00:00 +0000How Things Work: Space Fencehttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/how-things-work-space-fence-180957776/The new early-warning system to protect spacecraft from orbiting junk.Wed, 20 Jan 2016 18:00:00 +0000What’s the X-37 Doing Up There?http://www.airspacemag.com/space/spaceplane-x-37-180957777/The Air Force isn’t saying, so we asked other spaceplane experts. Wed, 20 Jan 2016 18:00:00 +0000Clifford Turpin, King of the Airhttp://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/from-here-to-obscurity-180957778/He was one of the great original airshow pilots. Why did he hide his past?Wed, 20 Jan 2016 18:00:00 +0000The Thunderpiglet and Other Famous Failureshttp://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/technically-speaking-trials-and-errors-180957779/Fail at the drawing board and you fail in the air.Wed, 20 Jan 2016 18:00:00 +0000Flight in Alaskahttp://www.airspacemag.com/flight-today/flight-alaska-180957865/A place where—still—the best practical means of travel is the airplane.Wed, 20 Jan 2016 11:00:00 +0000Reusable Launch Vehicles and Lunar Returnhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/reusable-launch-vehicles-and-lunar-return-180957849/The real value of the SpaceX and Blue Origin achievements is to make living on the Moon more feasible.Fri, 15 Jan 2016 20:18:30 +0000Before the Meatballhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/before-meatball-180957709/NASA’s logo may have been cooler, but the NACA emblem was worn by famous pilots like Orville Wright and Eddie Rickenbacker.Tue, 12 Jan 2016 14:18:29 +0000 Hubble’s Great Grandchildhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/hubbles-great-grandchild-180957747/It’s not too early to start planning the space telescopes of the 2030s.Fri, 08 Jan 2016 21:42:16 +0000Signs of Advanced Life---on Earthhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/signs-advanced-life-earth-180957735/Humans have left their mark in the geologic record, just as alien civilizations might on other worlds.Thu, 07 Jan 2016 19:00:00 +0000How Much of the World’s Population Has Flown in an Airplane?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/how-much-worlds-population-has-flown-airplane-180957719/Some numbers, and some guesses.Wed, 06 Jan 2016 18:10:22 +0000Johannes Kepler Defended His Mother in a Witchcraft Trialhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/johannes-kepler-mother-witch-180957616/The famous astronomer conducted his mother’s defense in an ordeal that lasted six years.Mon, 28 Dec 2015 18:36:05 +0000A One-of-a-Kind Gift from Apollo 8 on Christmas Evehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/go-flight-book-excerpt-180957534/A new book describes the joy, stress, and sense of success inside NASA mission control.Tue, 22 Dec 2015 20:48:07 +0000Ceres’ Spots in the Spotlighthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/ceres-spots-spotlight-180957620/Water and organics are reported. Is there energy, too?Tue, 22 Dec 2015 20:04:49 +0000SpaceX Takes a “Revolutionary” Step Toward Reusable Rocketshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/spacex-takes-revolutionary-step-toward-reusable-rockets-180957609/A Falcon 9 first stage makes a controlled landing 10 minutes after launch.Tue, 22 Dec 2015 16:44:01 +0000Scenes from the World Air Games in Dubaihttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/scenes-world-air-games-dubai-180957587/This year’s competition drew everything from model airplanes to balloons.Tue, 22 Dec 2015 16:42:40 +0000What to Do With That Drone You Get for Christmashttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/what-do-drone-you-get-christmas-180957585/Taking light painting to new heights.Fri, 18 Dec 2015 17:13:02 +0000Searching for Life at Enceladushttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/searching-life-enceladus-180957564/Which is better, a sample return mission or an onsite investigation?Wed, 16 Dec 2015 20:41:06 +0000Best Children’s Books of the Yearhttp://www.airspacemag.com/multimedia/best-childrens-books-2015-180954834/The best aviation- and space-themed books for young readers in 2015.Mon, 14 Dec 2015 18:36:49 +0000Simulating Human Space Missionshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/simulating-human-space-missions-180957539/Are Earth analogs helpful?Mon, 14 Dec 2015 18:02:08 +0000Curiosity Set to Explore Martian Sand Duneshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/curiosity-set-explore-martian-sand-dunes-180957522/The rover will tread carefully, in case it’s a trap.Fri, 11 Dec 2015 17:25:37 +0000Santa Monica Airport Will Stay Openhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/santa-monica-stays-open-180957479/An FAA decision amounts to a stay of execution for the small airfield.Wed, 09 Dec 2015 20:12:34 +0000