Articles | Air & Space Magazinehttp://www.airspacemag.com/rss/articles/RSS feed for ArticlesenFri, 23 Jan 2015 15:30:07 +0000When “Go” is Better Than “No Go”http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/when-go-better-no-go-180954008/Sometimes aborting the takeoff is the wrong decision.Fri, 23 Jan 2015 15:30:07 +0000Aero Meets Hero: Cartoonist Peter Pachoumis’ Look Back at WW2http://www.airspacemag.com/as-interview/peter-pachoumis-180953999/Introducing Victory, the spiritual heir of Captain America.Thu, 22 Jan 2015 18:27:34 +0000Supermarket Spaceshipshttp://www.airspacemag.com/multimedia/supermarket-spaceships-180953861/These 1950s life-sized mock-ups helped prepare Americans for the real Space Age.Thu, 22 Jan 2015 16:37:27 +0000What Couldn’t the F-4 Phantom Do?http://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/what-couldnt-f-4-phantom-do-180953944/A tribute to McDonnell’s masterpiece fighter jet.Tue, 20 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000UAV U.http://www.airspacemag.com/flight-today/uav-u-180953945/How to train the next generation of pilots—who will never take to the skies.Tue, 20 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000 Scott Kelly’s Year in Spacehttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/scott-kellys-year-space-180953946/You think gravity wears you down? Try 12 months without it.Tue, 20 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000The Final Flight of Extortion 17http://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/final-flight-extortion-17-180953947/It was the deadliest helicopter crash in the history of U.S. special operations. Why did it happen?Tue, 20 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000A Meteorite Older than Earth Could Tell Us How Planets Were Madehttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/meteorite-older-earth-could-tell-us-how-planets-were-made-180953931/Discovering a solar system in a grain of sand.Tue, 20 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000U.S. Debut at Chinese Airshowhttp://www.airspacemag.com/flight-today/us-debut-chinese-airshow-180953932/A C-17 Globemaster wowed visitors at the Zhuhai AirshowTue, 20 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000 The B-52 Just Keeps on Flyinghttp://www.airspacemag.com/flight-today/b-52-just-keeps-flying-180953933/Designed in the 1940s, the BUFF shows no sign of retiring. Tue, 20 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000The (Nail-Biting) First Landing on a Comethttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/nail-biting-first-landing-comet-180953935/How it went down inside the Rosetta control room that night. Tue, 20 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000Need a T-33 to De-Ice a Runway? No Problemhttp://www.airspacemag.com/flight-today/need-t-33-de-ice-runway-no-problem-180953936/My first crack at “piloting” a real jet didn’t turn out the way I’d hopedTue, 20 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000A Game For Your Inner Spyhttp://www.airspacemag.com/flight-today/game-your-inner-spy-180953939/ Visitors learn about the cold war in a new role-playing gameTue, 20 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000Hellfire Meets Predator http://www.airspacemag.com/flight-today/hellfire-meets-predator-180953940/How the drone was cleared to shoot.Tue, 20 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000Pluto at Lasthttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/pluto-last-180953941/Nine years after leaving Earth, New Horizons closes in on the last of the Original Nine planets, and whatever lies beyond. Tue, 20 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000Airline Merger Warshttp://www.airspacemag.com/flight-today/airline-merger-wars-180953942/The battle for the soul of an airlineTue, 20 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000Last of the Great Flying Boats http://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/last-great-flying-boats-180953943/Why the Convair Tradewind was a beautiful, versatile, fast failure. Tue, 20 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000A Ride on the World’s Largest Passenger Jethttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/ride-worlds-largest-passenger-jet-180953953/My first trip on an Airbus A-380, at a time when the giant airliner’s future is in doubt.Tue, 20 Jan 2015 16:35:53 +0000The Future of Aircraft Carriershttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/future-aircraft-carriers-180953905/A debate at the Naval Academy Museum leads to some surprising conclusions.Thu, 15 Jan 2015 20:40:35 +0000Astronomers Just Doubled the Number of Potentially Habitable Planetshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/astronomers-just-doubled-number-potentially-habitable-planets-180953898/Another step closer to finding a second EarthWed, 14 Jan 2015 20:08:03 +0000How Do Astronauts Weigh Themselves in Space?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/how-do-astronauts-weigh-themselves-space-180953884/High-tech scales for the zero-G traveler.Tue, 13 Jan 2015 20:27:06 +0000Park Service to Allow Diving Tours of B-29 Wreckage in Lake Meadhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/lake-mead-b-29-180953839/The Nevada crash site hasn’t been open to the public since 2008.Fri, 09 Jan 2015 20:41:26 +0000New Spacewalk Exhibit Opens at National Air and Space Museumhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/new-spacewalk-exhibit-opens-national-air-and-space-museum-180953836/“Outside the Spacecraft” celebrates 50 years of astronaut EVAs.Thu, 08 Jan 2015 18:02:57 +0000A New Tool for Finding Life on Other Planetshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/new-tool-finding-life-other-planets-180953800/It’s small, fast, and—best of all—doesn’t require knowledge of alien biochemistry.Mon, 05 Jan 2015 17:02:10 +0000Is [Your Invention Here] The Future of Aviation?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/future-aviation-180953683/Probably not. In the airline business, innovation takes a back seat to fuel efficiency.Wed, 31 Dec 2014 12:00:00 +0000The Mystery of Lunar Layershttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/mystery-lunar-layers-180953748/Stratigraphy on the Moon is key to understanding its geological history.Mon, 29 Dec 2014 15:51:54 +0000Follow the Methane!http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/follow-methane-180953735/Scientists ponder their next steps in the search for life on Mars.Wed, 24 Dec 2014 17:30:56 +0000What Was the Star of Bethlehem?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/what-was-star-bethlehem-180953625/Who better to ask than the Vatican?Mon, 22 Dec 2014 18:32:12 +0000India Tests Prototype Astronaut Capsulehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/india-tests-prototype-astronaut-capsule-180953697/Another milestone on the path to human spaceflight.Fri, 19 Dec 2014 20:49:49 +0000Einstein’s Thoughts on SETIhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/einsteins-thoughts-seti-180953666/“Why should earth be the only planet supporting human life?” asked the physicist in 1920.Wed, 17 Dec 2014 21:36:37 +0000Exciting New Findings About Martian Methanehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/exciting-new-findings-about-martian-methane-180953628/Could life be the source?Tue, 16 Dec 2014 18:30:00 +0000Hayabusa 2 Heads Off to Hunt an Asteroidhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/hayabusa-heads-off-hunt-asteroid-180953596/And this time, it’s got a gun.Fri, 12 Dec 2014 21:11:25 +0000Motorcycles of the Airhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/motorcycles-air-180953577/Trike flyers are all about the fun.Wed, 10 Dec 2014 18:21:59 +0000Best Children’s Books of 2014http://www.airspacemag.com/multimedia/best-childrens-books-2014-180953271/The year’s best aviation- and space-themed books for young readersFri, 05 Dec 2014 15:00:42 +0000DNA is Hardier Than We Thoughthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/dna-hardier-we-thought-180953535/It can survive suborbital spaceflight, but what about longer interplanetary trips?Thu, 04 Dec 2014 18:35:39 +0000The Orion Era Beginshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/orion-era-begins-180953526/What to watch for during tomorrow’s test.Wed, 03 Dec 2014 21:22:43 +0000The Flight of Orionhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/flight-orion-180953513/A new spacecraft takes flight, but to where?Tue, 02 Dec 2014 20:07:38 +0000Speaking With Extraterrestrialshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/speaking-extraterrestrials-180953489/Composing a message that can be understood by aliens will be extremely difficult. And conversation may be impossible.Mon, 01 Dec 2014 19:32:30 +0000