Daily Planet | Air & Space Magazinehttp://www.airspacemag.com/rss/daily-planet/RSS feed for Daily PlanetenFri, 20 Jan 2017 14:00:00 +0000Drones + Augmented Reality = Help for Firefightershttp://www.airspacemag.com/articles/drones-augment-reality-180961874/ScanEagles soar over active fires, while viewers explore the scene using holograms.Fri, 20 Jan 2017 14:00:00 +0000Thousands of Airplanes Will Descend on Washington This Weekendhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/washingtons-inaugural-airspace-180961867/You can fly into D.C. for the inauguration—as long as you do it very carefully.Thu, 19 Jan 2017 19:00:00 +0000Drones Swarm Like Gnats in Navy Videohttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/navy-tests-swarming-drones-180961802/In tests conducted last October, three F/A-18s bring 103 friends to the party.Tue, 17 Jan 2017 21:30:06 +0000Are Humans Freaks of Nature?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/are-humans-freaks-nature-180961785/The small but significant gap between humans and other animals on Earth may shed light on why we see no alien visitors.Fri, 13 Jan 2017 13:39:18 +0000Surrounded By Robotshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/space-vr-surround-yourself-robots-180961793/A VR field trip inside the Boston Dynamics lab.Thu, 12 Jan 2017 21:46:47 +0000Free-Falling Above a Burning B-24http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/free-fall-above-burning-b-24-180961719/Bailing out over Occupied France in 1944.Tue, 10 Jan 2017 21:11:28 +0000The Show Before the Air Showhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/show-air-show-180961639/Without the annual ICAS trade show, there would be no smoke and aerobatics.Mon, 09 Jan 2017 21:00:00 +0000The Year in VR: From Pearl Harbor to the Stratospherehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/year-vr-pearl-harbor-stratosphere-180961722/A sampler of virtual reality air and space experiences that came out in 2016.Fri, 06 Jan 2017 21:00:00 +0000These Tiny Creatures Can Withstand an Astonishing 16,000 Gshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/these-tiny-creatures-can-withstand-astonishing-16000-gs-180961717/The ultimate animal survivor would still have a hard time on other planets.Fri, 06 Jan 2017 15:30:00 +0000In 1950, Airlines Didn’t Serve Liquor Over Dry Stateshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/getting-high-skies-180961700/Remembering when the drinks cart was subject to some very complicated laws. Thu, 05 Jan 2017 20:52:48 +0000China’s Moon Missions Are Anything But Pointlesshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/chinas-moon-missions-are-anything-pointless-180961633/The value of the nation’s lunar robotic missions goes beyond science.Tue, 03 Jan 2017 16:10:57 +0000Small Is the Next Big Trend in Consumer UAVshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/small-gets-big-180961530/JetJat, Dobby and other nanodrones.Fri, 30 Dec 2016 14:00:00 +0000George McGovern’s WWII Diaryhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/george-mcgoverns-world-war-ii-diary-180961585/Notes from the one-time presidential nominee’s 35 combat missions.Thu, 29 Dec 2016 19:00:00 +0000The Martian RVhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/martian-rv-180961586/What says home better than a 1976 Airstream trailer?Thu, 29 Dec 2016 15:18:13 +0000Vera Rubin Made “Dark Matter” a Household Phrasehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/vera-rubin-made-dark-matter-household-phrase-180961581/Years later, the astronomer recalled her “incredible delight” in the discovery for which she was most famous.Wed, 28 Dec 2016 18:00:00 +0000This Pebble Turns Out to Be a Fossilized Dinosaur Brainhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/pebble-turns-out-be-fossilized-dinosaur-brain-180961557/And iguanodons may have been smarter than we thought.Fri, 23 Dec 2016 17:00:00 +0000How to Shoot Down a Dronehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/downing-drones-radio-rifles-180961525/...without actually shooting.Fri, 23 Dec 2016 14:00:00 +0000Trillions of Migrating Insects Take to the Sky Every Yearhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/three-trillion-insects-overhead-180961521/And that’s just over one part of England.Thu, 22 Dec 2016 19:00:00 +0000How Plausible Is the New Science Fiction Movie <em>Passengers?</em>http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/plausible-passengers-180961540/We asked a NASA contractor working on Mars missions about the problems of sleeping your way through a months-or-years-long spaceflight.Wed, 21 Dec 2016 23:00:00 +0000Breakthrough in Antimatter Physics Has Some Dreaming of Starshipshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/breakthrough-antimatter-physics-has-some-dreaming-starships-180961497/The cost is still a problem, though. Mon, 19 Dec 2016 16:00:00 +0000Cave Living on the Moonhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/cave-living-moon-180961494/Caves could make useful lunar habitats, but not if they aren’t where you need them.Mon, 19 Dec 2016 14:00:00 +000012 <i>Air & Space</i> Stories From 2016 You Need To Readhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/12-air-space-stories-from-2016-need-read-180961382/Some of our favorite aviation and space stories of the year.Fri, 16 Dec 2016 19:41:29 +0000On Mars, Looks Can Be Deceivinghttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/mars-looks-can-be-deceiving-180961487/Reliable biosignatures need more than a physical resemblance to be convincing.Fri, 16 Dec 2016 16:16:31 +0000This Huey Flies Itselfhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/huey-flies-itself-180961450/Aurora Flight Sciences teaches an old dog a new trick.Thu, 15 Dec 2016 22:10:33 +0000Amazon Delivers!http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/amazon-delivers-180961455/The shopping behemoth’s first drone delivery goes off without a hitch.Wed, 14 Dec 2016 23:30:00 +0000New Satellite Network Will Watch Hurricanes Growhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/new-satellite-network-will-watch-hurricanes-grow-180961403/CYGNSS fills a blind spot in our observation of tropical storms.Mon, 12 Dec 2016 23:00:00 +0000Jimmy Wyld, the Young Genius Who Jump-Started the U.S. Rocket Businesshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/jimmy-wyld-young-genius-who-jump-started-us-rocket-business-180961383/Seventy-five years ago, a bunch of amateur rocketeers from New Jersey started a small company with a big future. Fri, 09 Dec 2016 21:11:48 +0000A Feathered Dinosaur From 99 Million Years Agohttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/feathered-dinosaur-99-million-years-ago-180961369/This bird-like creature raises questions about how smart dinosaurs really were. Fri, 09 Dec 2016 16:37:50 +0000Tiny Adorable Bird Goggles Allow Innovative Study of Flighthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/tiny-adorable-bird-goggles-allow-innovative-study-flight-180961285/Stanford engineers wanted to measure lift forces, but first they had to protect their avian partner’s eyes.Tue, 06 Dec 2016 00:01:00 +0000Night of 500 Droneshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/paint-night-drones-180961232/Is this the first step to flying billboards?Fri, 02 Dec 2016 17:00:00 +0000A Step toward Silicon Life?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/step-toward-silicon-life-180961272/Scientists have found that microbes can make chemical bonds that might—conceivably—play a role in alien biology. Fri, 02 Dec 2016 14:23:13 +0000Canadian Astronaut Will Test a New Bio-Monitor Shirt in Spacehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/canadian-astronaut-will-test-new-bio-monitor-shirt-space-180961270/Space doctors hope the “Astroskin” can replace some of those messy wires and electrodes.Thu, 01 Dec 2016 21:00:00 +0000Venus, By Way of Hawaiihttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/venus-way-hawaii-180961253/ Wed, 30 Nov 2016 20:00:00 +0000Finding Earth 2.0 Will Be Harder Than We Thoughthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/finding-earth-20-will-be-harder-than-we-thought-180961067/No such discovery can be expected within this decade.Wed, 23 Nov 2016 13:00:00 +0000Air & Space Quiz: Test Your Knowledge of the P-51http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/air-space-quiz-test-your-knowledge-p-51-180961162/ Tue, 22 Nov 2016 20:27:17 +0000