Daily Planet | Air & Space Magazinehttp://www.airspacemag.com/rss/daily-planet/RSS feed for Daily PlanetenThu, 08 Oct 2015 18:00:00 +0000A Martian Land of Lakeshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/martian-land-lakes-180956877/Another week, another leap in our understanding of water on Mars, but with many open questions.Thu, 08 Oct 2015 18:00:00 +0000Lunar Water Creates New Capabilities in Spacehttp://www.airspacemag.com/airspacemag/lunar-water-creates-new-capabilities-space-180956849/Why try to mine water from the Moon if it’s cheaper to launch water from Earth?Wed, 07 Oct 2015 14:10:26 +0000Embrace the Crashinghttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/embrace-crashing-180956809/R/C airplanes can teach a valuable lesson: learn from your mistakes.Mon, 05 Oct 2015 15:49:07 +0000Wait, When Does <em>The Martian</em> Take Place, Anyway?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/wait-when-does-em-martianem-take-place-anyway-180956806/Author Andy Weir mostly got his facts right, but his hero’s contempt for disco doesn’t quite add up. An <em>Air & Space</em> investigation.Fri, 02 Oct 2015 14:00:00 +0000A Lot of Explaining to Dohttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/explaining-science-180956783/A donation from GE Aviation gives the education program at the National Air and Space Museum a boost.Wed, 30 Sep 2015 19:39:54 +0000Mars Just Got a Little More Life-Friendlyhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/mars-just-got-little-more-life-friendly-180956780/Water on the surface? Check. But that doesn’t automatically make the planet habitable.Tue, 29 Sep 2015 19:06:17 +0000A High-Flying Glider Takes Its First Baby Stephttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/gliding-thoroughbred-takes-baby-step-180956725/5,000 feet down, 85,000 more to go.Thu, 24 Sep 2015 15:11:08 +0000Astronaut Hoot Gibson Wins Gold at Renohttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/astronaut-hoot-gibson-wins-gold-reno-180956703/At the 2015 National Championship Air Races, the cheer was “Root for Hoot!”Tue, 22 Sep 2015 13:46:29 +0000“That’s been missing for eight years!”http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/overheard-space-station-s-been-missing-eight-years-180956695/Lost and found in orbit.Mon, 21 Sep 2015 19:31:57 +0000Tiny, Remote St. Helena Gets Its First Airporthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/tiny-remote-st-helena-180956669/The isolated island, with just 4,500 residents, is about to enter the aviation age.Fri, 18 Sep 2015 16:29:24 +0000A Marine Legend Arrives at the National Air and Space Museumhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/marine-legend-arrives-national-air-and-space-museum-180956670/The Phrog goes into retirement.Thu, 17 Sep 2015 20:08:22 +0000Don’t Let Oxygen Fool Youhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/dont-let-oxygen-fool-you-180956650/As a sign of life on other planets, oxygen may not be the smoking gun some of us thought it was.Wed, 16 Sep 2015 20:00:33 +0000Want to See a Fighter Jet Fly Low and Fast? Here Are Some Prime Viewing Spotshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/fly-low-and-fast-180956560/Try Death Valley, or the famous “Mach Loop” in Wales.Mon, 14 Sep 2015 11:51:43 +0000“I’m Telling You, It Doesn’t Fit”http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/overheard-space-station-im-telling-you-it-doesnt-fit-180956571/Loading an overstuffed Soyuz capsule would try anyone’s patience.Fri, 11 Sep 2015 16:43:09 +0000Remnants of Life Found Half a Mile Below the Seafloorhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/remnants-life-found-half-mile-below-seafloor-180956554/Similar deep habitats might be found on other worlds.Wed, 09 Sep 2015 18:41:57 +0000Fate Is the Hunterhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/fate-hunter-180956508/A Hawker Hunter crash in England calls airshow routines into question, but it shouldn’t.Tue, 08 Sep 2015 11:00:00 +0000From Dreamliner to….Starlinerhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/dreamliner-starliner-180956528/Boeing pins a name on its new spaceship.Fri, 04 Sep 2015 20:04:50 +0000NASA Creates Research Institute to Study Human Spaceflighthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/nasa-creates-research-institute-study-human-spaceflight-180956514/Another small step closer to a human mission to Mars.Fri, 04 Sep 2015 12:46:05 +0000Among the Ghosts at Pearl Harbor, 70 Years After V-J Dayhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/among-ghosts-pearl-harbor-70-years-after-v-j-day-180956496/A visit to where America’s World War II began, and ended.Wed, 02 Sep 2015 20:05:55 +0000Return of the Double Eagle?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/return-double-eagle-180956490/Beam-blasting the Moon offers a clever solution to a tricky measurement.Wed, 02 Sep 2015 18:22:37 +0000Watch This Cool Time-Lapse of a Soyuz Re-Parking in Orbithttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/watch-cool-time-lapse-soyuz-reparking-orbit-180956477/A rare maneuver to make room for the next crew.Tue, 01 Sep 2015 18:36:46 +0000Life Detection Experiment Might Be Added to Europa Missionhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/life-detection-experiment-might-be-added-europa-mission-180956460/NASA leaves open the possibility of a dedicated instrument on its Jupiter-bound spacecraft.Mon, 31 Aug 2015 19:32:18 +0000Interview: Matt Damon, First Farmer on Marshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/matt-damon-first-farmer-mars-180956410/The actor discusses his role as an astronaut in the upcoming film “The Martian.”Fri, 28 Aug 2015 16:18:54 +0000Brazilian Team Claims World Racing Recordshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/brazilian-team-claims-world-racing-records-180956415/<i>Anequim</i> is now the fastest shark in the sky. Thu, 27 Aug 2015 15:41:46 +0000Watch This Dramatic Time-Lapse of Typhoon Goni Bearing Down on Japanhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/watch-dramatic-time-lapse-typhoon-goni-bearing-down-japan-180956395/A Japanese satellite catches a powerful storm in action.Tue, 25 Aug 2015 18:21:55 +0000A Race to the Stratosphere in 1933http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/race-stratosphere-1933-180956387/Long before the Cold War, Soviets and Americans dueled to reach the top of the atmosphere.Mon, 24 Aug 2015 18:28:04 +0000The Bugatti Racer Finally Takes Flighthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/bugatti-racer-finally-takes-flight-180956361/Almost 80 years after it was designed, the sleek 100p gets airborne.Fri, 21 Aug 2015 16:36:48 +0000Belka and Strelka: Space Celebritieshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/belka-and-strelka-soviet-space-celebrities-180956299/55 years ago today, two “cosmonauts” went into orbit and safely returned.Wed, 19 Aug 2015 15:42:15 +0000Dive to the USS Macon Wreckhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/dive-uss-macon-wreck-180956305/Explorers on a six-month ocean mapping voyage are diving to the sunken airship today.Tue, 18 Aug 2015 15:30:40 +0000The Ghost Army of World War IIhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/ghost-army-world-war-ii-180955617/In which a special unit used inflatable tanks, sound effects, and phony radio broadcasts to confuse the enemy.Mon, 17 Aug 2015 15:11:31 +0000Ride Along in a P-51 Mustang in This 360° Virtual Reality Videohttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/ride-along-p-51-mustang-vr-video-180956257/The future meets World War IIFri, 14 Aug 2015 17:49:35 +0000Artist Aline Rhonie Tried to Capture All of Early Aviation in a Single Paintinghttp://www.airspacemag.com/airspacemag/artist-aline-rhonie-180956198/The pilot/painter’s 126-foot mural includes 600 pilots and 268 types of aircraft.Fri, 14 Aug 2015 14:00:00 +0000First Picture of a 'Young Jupiter' Exoplanethttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/first-picture-young-jupiter-exoplanet-180956266/51 Eridani b is the youngest, smallest, and coolest exoplanet imaged yet.Thu, 13 Aug 2015 18:00:00 +0000The Most Earthlike Planet Yet Makes a Good Target for SETIhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/most-earthlike-planet-yet-makes-good-target-seti-180956233/The newly discovered world gives us a preview of what Earth may look like 1.5 billion years in the future. Tue, 11 Aug 2015 20:11:59 +0000The Man Who Solved the Mystery of Flight 901http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/man-who-solved-mystery-flight-901-180956222/Gordon Vette’s research helped explain one of history’s worst air disasters.Mon, 10 Aug 2015 18:38:08 +0000