Daily Planet | Air & Space Magazinehttp://www.airspacemag.com/rss/daily-planet/RSS feed for Daily PlanetenFri, 19 Sep 2014 17:55:44 +0000Navy Drone Makes First Coast-to-Coast Test Flighthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/navy-maritime-drone-makes-first-coast-coast-test-flight-180952775/The MQ-4C Triton’s 16th test flight is its longest yet.Fri, 19 Sep 2014 17:55:44 +0000Half of All First-Time Cubesat Projects End in Failurehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/cubesats-are-great-even-if-they-die-you-180952745/Half of all first-time Cubesat projects end in failure. And that’s not entirely bad.Thu, 18 Sep 2014 17:12:25 +0000Boeing, SpaceX Win NASA Commercial Crew Awardhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/boeing-spacex-win-nasa-commercial-crew-award-180952722/The companies will work toward flying astronauts to the space station by 2017.Tue, 16 Sep 2014 22:27:11 +0000Reno Crowd Agrees: “Best Race I Ever Saw!”http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/reno-crowd-agrees-best-race-i-ever-saw-180952709/The Kid won it, but it was the Old Man of Air Racing who gave the fans a finish they’ll never forget.Tue, 16 Sep 2014 19:13:20 +0000India’s Mangalyaan Spacecraft Closes In On Marshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/indias-mangalyaan-closes-mars-180952707/With hopes to become the third agency to orbit the Red Planet.Tue, 16 Sep 2014 16:02:09 +0000The First Arctic Flight—in 1914http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/first-arctic-flight-1914-180952688/A little-known Polish aviator got there more than a decade before Byrd and Amundsen.Fri, 12 Sep 2014 17:55:53 +0000More Signs That Europa Could Be Habitablehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/more-signs-europa-could-be-habitable-180952683/Researchers see plate tectonic activity on a distant moon.Fri, 12 Sep 2014 16:00:00 +0000Star Trek’s U.S.S. Enterprise to Boldly Go Back to the Workshophttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/star-treks-uss-enterprise-boldly-go-back-workshop-180952633/A 49-year-old pop cultural artifact gets a much-needed restoration.Thu, 11 Sep 2014 19:43:06 +0000“Re-Blued” at the U.S. Air Force Academyhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/re-blued-us-air-force-academy-180952665/A quick, inspiring visit to the Academy’s campus in Colorado SpringsWed, 10 Sep 2014 20:03:48 +0000Space Crowdfunding: What’s the Secret?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/space-crowdfunding-whats-secret-180952649/Winners and losers among the space start-ups.Tue, 09 Sep 2014 18:05:00 +0000NASA Touts Space Station Benefits in New Video Serieshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/new-video-series-shows-how-space-station-experiments-help-people-earth-180952605/Watch how some space experiments can help people on Earth.Fri, 05 Sep 2014 15:30:44 +0000Undocumented Alienhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/undocumented-alien-180952618/Meteorite NWA5000 is beautiful – but is it from the Moon?Thu, 04 Sep 2014 19:03:23 +0000New ISS Experiment Tests Organisms’ Survival Skills in Spacehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/new-iss-experiment-tests-organisms-survival-skills-space-180952600/Biological samples will be exposed to the harsh environment outside the space station.Wed, 03 Sep 2014 18:06:23 +0000Ten-Year-Old Gore Vidal Helped Sell the “People’s Airplane”http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/age-10-gore-vidal-helped-his-father-sell-peoples-airplane-180952591/The future author acted as a pitchman for personal aviation in 1936.Tue, 02 Sep 2014 20:54:55 +0000Time-Lapse of Cygnus Departing the Space Stationhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/time-lapse-cygnus-departing-space-station-180952522/Astronauts say goodbye to their supply ship after a month in orbit.Fri, 29 Aug 2014 13:20:13 +0000Alien Life May Thrive on an Exotic Kind of Carbon Dioxidehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/alien-life-may-thrive-exotic-kind-carbon-dioxide-180952500/The familiar gas would have not-so-familiar properties on other planets.Thu, 28 Aug 2014 13:34:35 +0000A Tour of the Boneyardhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/tour-boneyard-180952460/The aircraft retirement home in Arizona is well worth a visit.Mon, 25 Aug 2014 14:10:26 +0000Scientists Find Life in an Antarctic Lakehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/scientists-find-life-frozen-antarctic-lake-180952439/ …a place not unlike Jupiter’s moon EuropaThu, 21 Aug 2014 18:17:17 +0000The Dusty Gems of Pimahttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/dusty-gems-pima-180952371/Tucson’s famous air and space museum was well worth a stop on my western tour.Mon, 18 Aug 2014 16:01:25 +0000“Miracle on the Hudson” Hero Gets a Dunking at Oshkoshhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/miracle-hudson-hero-gets-dunking-oshkosh-180952299/...by one of his former passengersFri, 08 Aug 2014 19:17:17 +0000Life in a Lake of Oilhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/life-pool-oil-180952281/And that may have implications for Saturn’s moon TitanThu, 07 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000Moon First—Mine the Asteroids Laterhttp://www.airspacemag.com/articles/moon-firstmine-asteroids-later-180952272/Let’s learn how to extract space resources closer to home.Wed, 06 Aug 2014 19:04:10 +0000The First Close-Up Photos of the Moonhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/first-close-photos-moon-180952185/Fifty years ago this week, Ranger 7 showed us what the lunar surface looks like.Wed, 30 Jul 2014 19:10:23 +0000Suicide by Airplane: It’s Rare, But It Happenshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/suicide-airplane-its-rare-it-happens-180952198/A new study identifies 24 suspected U.S. cases of “aircraft-assisted” suicide over the past 20 years.Tue, 29 Jul 2014 18:30:51 +0000Prospecting the Moon’s Poleshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/prospecting-moons-poles-180952182/An early look at NASA plans to start assaying lunar resources.Mon, 28 Jul 2014 18:46:29 +0000Rosetta’s Comet Has a Shiny Necklacehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/rosettas-comet-has-shiny-necklace-180952157/New pictures show a bright “neck” where the comet’s two pieces join.Thu, 24 Jul 2014 20:15:32 +0000