Daily Planet | Air & Space Magazinehttp://www.airspacemag.com/rss/daily-planet/RSS feed for Daily PlanetenThu, 30 Jul 2015 18:18:33 +0000Google’s Future Air Forcehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/googles-future-air-force-180956113/Before the Internet giant starts flying delivery drones, it has to solve another problem: cheap position tracking.Thu, 30 Jul 2015 18:18:33 +0000SpaceShipTwo Crash Was Due to Pilot Error, and a Lapse in Safety Culturehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/spaceshiptwo-crash-was-due-pilot-error-and-lapse-safety-culture-180956096/The company running the suborbital vehicle’s test program failed to pay enough attention to the possibility of human error.Tue, 28 Jul 2015 20:41:51 +0000Nanotechnology + Small Satellites = Big Returnshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/nanotechnology-small-satellites-big-returns-180956082/A NASA study group hopes to build powerful science instruments for the next generation of CubeSats.Mon, 27 Jul 2015 22:05:02 +0000In Rural Virginia, a Drone Makes the First Legal U.S. Package Deliveryhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/rural-virginia-drone-makes-first-legal-us-package-delivery-180956053/Advocates call it a “Kitty Hawk moment” for the flying package business.Fri, 24 Jul 2015 17:58:42 +0000Pilots vs. Poachershttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/pilots-vs-poachers-180955764/The future of elephant survival may depend, in part, on aerial patrols.Wed, 22 Jul 2015 11:14:52 +0000Even Neil Armstrong Gets a Kickstarter Campaignhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/even-neil-armstrong-gets-kickstarter-campaign-180955957/Smithsonian’s first crowdsourcing project will help digitize the famous Apollo 11 spacesuit. Mon, 20 Jul 2015 09:00:00 +0000Selecting a Landing Site for Humans on Marshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/selecting-landing-site-humans-mars-180955948/NASA takes a small step toward a big decision.Fri, 17 Jul 2015 16:00:00 +0000Seventy Years After the Trinity Test, There Are 16,000 Nuclear Weapons in the Worldhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/70th-anniversary-trinity-test-there-are-16000-nuclear-weapons-world-180955944/And it all started with three explosions in the summer of 1945.Thu, 16 Jul 2015 20:21:19 +0000Swirling Controversyhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/swirling-controversy-180955939/The origins of strange swirl-like markings on the lunar surface are still mysterious.Thu, 16 Jul 2015 11:59:18 +0000Stowaways on New Horizonshttp://www.airspacemag.com/blogs/stowaways-new-horizons-180955932/Three not-so-official plaques made it all the way to Pluto.Wed, 15 Jul 2015 18:49:16 +0000Are These 1909 Photos the Oldest Pictures of Pluto?http://www.airspacemag.com/airspacemag/are-these-1909-photos-oldest-known-pictures-pluto-180955930/Maybe.Wed, 15 Jul 2015 16:07:49 +0000Hello Again, Comrades! (Здравствуйте еще раз, товарищи!)http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/hello-again-comrades-zdravstvujte-eshe-raz-tovarishi-180955876/The U.S. and Russia share a long flight to commemorate a long history.Tue, 14 Jul 2015 13:45:29 +0000Any More Big Planets Out There?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/are-there-other-big-planets-out-there-180955913/Pluto is not the only large object beyond Neptune.Mon, 13 Jul 2015 21:54:59 +0000Pluto’s Naming Gamehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/plutos-naming-game-180955892/New Horizons is about to discover a mess of new planetary features. What will we call them?Fri, 10 Jul 2015 17:44:04 +0000Thoughts on a Midair Collisionhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/thoughts-midair-collision-180955869/What may have gone wrong in the sky over Charleston.Thu, 09 Jul 2015 17:21:16 +0000An Aircraft Carrier Worthy of a Superherohttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/aircraft-carrier-worthy-superhero-180955667/Geoffrey Pyke’s ingenious carrier made of ice was like something out of a comic strip.Wed, 08 Jul 2015 13:52:35 +0000SETI and the Rise of the Machineshttp://www.airspacemag.com/airspacemag/seti-and-rise-machines-180955834/Non-biological intelligence offers another possible solution to the Fermi Paradox.Mon, 06 Jul 2015 20:06:57 +0000Solar Impulse: One Giant Leap for Green Energyhttp://www.airspacemag.com/airspacemag/short-flight-man-one-giant-leap-batteries-180955809/Four days after takeoff, the sun-powered aircraft is still going strong.Thu, 02 Jul 2015 23:05:22 +0000Sample Return May Not Be the Best Way to Find Martian Lifehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/sample-return-may-not-be-best-way-find-martian-life-180955788/NASA’s Mars 2020 will be a great technology demonstrator, but is it right for astrobiology?Wed, 01 Jul 2015 15:46:20 +0000A Spyplane in 1914http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/a-spyplane-in-1914-180955597/Its mission included two pit stops and an “excellent lunch.”Tue, 30 Jun 2015 19:59:41 +0000SpaceX Loses Dragon Cargo Ship in Launch Explosionhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/spacex-loses-dragon-cargo-ship-launch-explosion-180955748/NASA says space station logistics may have to be shuffled, but there’s no emergency.Mon, 29 Jun 2015 14:16:34 +0000What Is the Space Program Good For?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/what-value-space-program-180955720/In 1968, on the eve of the first Apollo launch, rocket pioneer Wernher von Braun gave his answer.Fri, 26 Jun 2015 12:24:49 +0000Lindbergh’s 1927 Flight Set Off a Mini-Craze of Board Games http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/lindberghs-1927-flight-games-180955607/“Lindy Hop-Off” and “Captain Hop Across Junior” were just two of the titles inspired by the first transatlantic solo flight.Thu, 25 Jun 2015 21:46:25 +0000Video: The F-35 Goes Skiinghttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/video-f-35-goes-skiing-180955687/The Lightning II practices a British-style carrier takeoff at Patuxent River.Wed, 24 Jun 2015 13:31:46 +0000Film Composer and Pilot James Horner Dies in Airplane Crashhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/academy-award-winning-composer-pilot-james-horner-feared-dead-california-airplane-crash-180955681/He wrote the scores for more than 70 films, including two in the Star Trek series.Tue, 23 Jun 2015 20:42:21 +0000Life May Need to Take Charge of a Planet to Survivehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/life-may-need-take-charge-planet-survive-180955675/A sobering solution to Fermi’s Paradox Tue, 23 Jun 2015 16:13:50 +0000You, Too, Can Own A Hypersonic Flying Laboratoryhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/you-too-can-own-a-scramjet-180955621/For a mere $60,000 or so. Plus shipping and handling.Mon, 22 Jun 2015 15:07:32 +0000Encore!http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/encore-180955666/Watch how this four-year-old reacts to her first aerobatic flight.Mon, 22 Jun 2015 14:23:41 +0000Here’s What Moving Traffic Looks Like From 250 Miles Uphttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/heres-what-traffic-looks-250-miles-180955657/Urthecast releases its first high-res video from the space station.Sat, 20 Jun 2015 12:22:11 +0000A Dust Cloud Around the Moonhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/dust-cloud-around-moon-180955624/Who ever said that space is empty?Wed, 17 Jun 2015 18:26:57 +00003,200 Miles Over Cereshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/3200-miles-over-ceres-180955614/ A JPL composite video simulates a flyover of a dwarf planet.Wed, 17 Jun 2015 18:05:35 +0000Stateside Reservists Exposed to Agent Orange Will Get Benefits After Allhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/air-force-reservists-exposed-agent-orange-while-stateside-180955598/The Veterans Administration follows up on a finding by the Institute of Medicine.Mon, 15 Jun 2015 19:57:16 +0000Bringing Inflight Movies to Airlines Was Harder Than It Soundshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/when-did-inflight-movies-become-standard-on-airlines-180955566/Starting in 1961, passengers battled boredom with Hollywood films.Fri, 12 Jun 2015 17:20:19 +0000Guess Which Presidential Candidate Used to Fly C-130shttp://www.airspacemag.com/airspacemag/rick-perrys-c-130-hercules-180955533/The right backdrop for kicking off a long, hard campaignThu, 11 Jun 2015 17:34:55 +0000If You Like Ballpoint Pens, Thank the R.A.F.http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/ballpoint-pens-RAF-180955537/A story for National Ballpoint Pen DayWed, 10 Jun 2015 13:48:44 +0000 CubeSats to the Rescue?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/cubesats-rescue-180955544/Small spacecraft will have an impact on astrobiology, although their use may be limited.Tue, 09 Jun 2015 18:26:45 +0000The First U.S. Air Law Was In a Town Without Airplaneshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/first-us-air-law-was-town-without-airplanes-180955524/In 1908, a nervous Florida town prepared for an aerial onslaught.Mon, 08 Jun 2015 17:32:04 +0000