Daily Planet | Air & Space Magazinehttp://www.airspacemag.com/rss/daily-planet/RSS feed for Daily PlanetenMon, 30 Nov 2015 19:47:28 +0000Steps Toward a Green Guide to Flyinghttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/steps-toward-green-guide-flying-180957356/A new study on airline carbon efficiency is interesting, but not as helpful as it seems.Mon, 30 Nov 2015 19:47:28 +0000Blue Origin Sticks the Landinghttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/blue-origin-sticks-landing-180957383/Jeff Bezos’ space tourist company makes a move in the upright-landing-rocket race.Tue, 24 Nov 2015 15:52:42 +0000Meeting Hanna Reitschhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/meeting-hanna-reitsch-180957337/In 1952, a young Frederick Forsyth met Hitler's personal pilot.Mon, 23 Nov 2015 20:49:54 +0000The Man Who Named the Martian Dayhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/man-who-named-martian-day-180957350/A new memoir looks back at the early days of planetary exploration.Fri, 20 Nov 2015 19:07:56 +0000Spacecraft Collision? Hang-glider Fire? There’s a Code for That.http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/spacecraft-collision-hang-glider-burst-flames-theres-code-180956828/A new medical coding system allows your doctor to be specific about the cause of injury. Very specific. Wed, 18 Nov 2015 20:28:20 +0000In a Remote Forest, Traces of a 50-Year-Old Mysteryhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/f-106-crashed-1964-found-washingtons-olympic-peninsula-180956570/A forester uncovers the nearly forgotten wreckage of an Air Force F-106 that went down in 1964.Mon, 16 Nov 2015 17:57:36 +0000 Japan’s Co-Op Lunar Missionhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/japans-co-op-lunar-mission-180957275/Team HAKUTO aims for the moon, and something even more ambitious—opening the space business to everyone.Fri, 13 Nov 2015 20:11:11 +0000Another Way to Land on the Moonhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/another-way-land-moon-180957260/It’s difficult and expensive to soft-land a spacecraft on the Moon, so why bother?Thu, 12 Nov 2015 17:47:14 +0000SETI: Shortcut or Longshot?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/seti-shortcut-or-longshot-180957238/The search for extraterrestrial intelligence is improving, yes, but don’t give up on other astrobiological investigations just yet.Tue, 10 Nov 2015 20:06:59 +0000The Airplanes of James Bondhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/airplanes-james-bond-180957171/The definitive list of every flying machine that appears in the 007 oeuvre.Thu, 05 Nov 2015 20:15:01 +0000Airport Security: “Disappointing and Troubling”http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/airport-security-how-safe-are-we-180957079/A Congressional hearing highlights problems with TSA screeners. At least the X-ray machines are safe.Wed, 04 Nov 2015 19:06:29 +0000China Rolls Out New Passenger Jet to Compete With Boeing and Airbushttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/chinas-great-leap-forward-180957148/The Comac C919 is unveiled to fanfare, but it’s a very ambitious gamble.Tue, 03 Nov 2015 21:08:15 +0000Human Mars Mission a “Go” For 2035http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/human-mars-mission-go-2035-180957137/NASA takes the first step in a historic journey.Mon, 02 Nov 2015 21:04:23 +0000Life on Earth Is 100 Million Years Older Than We Thoughthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/beginning-life-earth-just-got-pushed-back-100-million-years-180957078/New evidence points to an origin 4.1 billion years ago.Wed, 28 Oct 2015 15:12:34 +0000Northrop Grumman Will Make the Next Stealth Bomberhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/northrop-grumman-will-make-air-forces-next-stealth-bomber-180957067/The 'bomber of the future' still awash in secrecyTue, 27 Oct 2015 21:46:23 +0000Airplanes of the Cornhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/airplanes-corn-180956976/Aerospace-themed corn mazes are a hit with tourists.Mon, 26 Oct 2015 12:53:13 +0000The Fastest Man Alive -- in 1934http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/fastest-man-alive-1934-180957041/Francesco Agello’s seaplane set a record that still stands.Sat, 24 Oct 2015 03:16:36 +0000This Little Device Could Save Pilots’ Liveshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/little-device-could-save-pilots-lives-180957032/Aviation safety experts say that “Angle of Attack” indicators in small airplanes could help prevent accidents.Fri, 23 Oct 2015 14:44:17 +0000Singapore’s In It For the (Ultra) Long Haulhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/singapores-ultra-long-haul-180956981/It’s tough to make them work, but long-distance air routes can bring rewards.Wed, 21 Oct 2015 19:03:55 +0000Could the Colorado Plateau Be an Ancient Impact Scar?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/could-colorado-plateau-be-ancient-impact-scar-180956994/Conjectures on a road trip across the American WestMon, 19 Oct 2015 20:10:56 +0000More than Half a Century After <em>Bridge of Spies,</em> the U-2 Is Still Flyinghttp://www.airspacemag.com/airspacemag/sixty-five-years-after-its-famous-shootdown-u-2-still-flyingand-spying-180956924/The iconic Cold War spyplane has long outlived the Cold War.Thu, 15 Oct 2015 21:31:04 +0000ExoMars: A Crabwalking Rover With a Chance to Find Lifehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/exomars-crabwalking-rover-chance-find-life-180956941/Europe’s first Mars landing mission is due to get under way next spring.Wed, 14 Oct 2015 19:50:18 +0000Dutch Safety Board: Ukraine Should Have Closed its Airspace Before MH-17 Was Shot Downhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/dutch-safety-board-ukraine-should-have-closed-its-airspace-before-mh-17-was-shot-down-180956921/The investigators’ preliminary report details the airliner’s last moments.Tue, 13 Oct 2015 18:16:46 +0000Aviation Town, USAhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/welcome-dayton-180956848/For airplane enthusiasts, Dayton has plenty to offer.Fri, 09 Oct 2015 17:14:04 +0000A Martian Land of Lakeshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/martian-land-lakes-180956877/Another week, another leap in our understanding of water on Mars, but with many open questions.Thu, 08 Oct 2015 18:00:00 +0000Lunar Water Creates New Capabilities in Spacehttp://www.airspacemag.com/airspacemag/lunar-water-creates-new-capabilities-space-180956849/Why try to mine water from the Moon if it’s cheaper to launch water from Earth?Wed, 07 Oct 2015 14:10:26 +0000Embrace the Crashinghttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/embrace-crashing-180956809/R/C airplanes can teach a valuable lesson: learn from your mistakes.Mon, 05 Oct 2015 15:49:07 +0000Wait, When Does <em>The Martian</em> Take Place, Anyway?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/wait-when-does-em-martianem-take-place-anyway-180956806/Author Andy Weir mostly got his facts right, but his hero’s contempt for disco doesn’t quite add up. An <em>Air & Space</em> investigation.Fri, 02 Oct 2015 14:00:00 +0000