Daily Planet | Air & Space Magazinehttp://www.airspacemag.com/rss/daily-planet/RSS feed for Daily PlanetenTue, 21 Oct 2014 10:54:22 +0000First Privately Funded Moon Mission to Ride on a Chinese Rockethttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/first-privately-funded-moon-mission-ride-chinese-rocket-180953094/A Luxembourg company sends a payload where no amateur radio satellite has ever gone.Tue, 21 Oct 2014 10:54:22 +0000Did a B-24 Really Shoot Down a V-2 Rocket in 1944?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/did-B-24-really-shoot-down-V-2-rocket-1944-180953085/On the trail of a tall tale.Mon, 20 Oct 2014 19:51:08 +0000International Spacecraft Fleet Poised To Watch Comet Skim Past Marshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/international-spacecraft-fleet-watch-comet-skim-past-mars-180953088/During Sunday’s close approach, the view will be best from the Red Planet.Fri, 17 Oct 2014 20:54:36 +0000Lunar Volcanism: How Recent is Recent?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/lunar-volcanism-how-recent-recent-180953075/New work suggests that lavas were erupted on the Moon less than 100 million years ago.Fri, 17 Oct 2014 12:49:58 +0000New Spacecraft Cleaning Method Gets Rid of Pesky “Hitchhikers”http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/new-spacecraft-cleaning-method-gets-rid-pesky-hitchhikers-180953074/A cheaper, easier, approach to planetary protection.Thu, 16 Oct 2014 19:46:26 +0000Orion: the Trailerhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/orion-trailer-180952988/A preview of NASA’s coming movie...uh…launch.Thu, 09 Oct 2014 21:04:58 +0000Europe’s Proto-Spaceplane Gets Ready To Flyhttp://www.airspacemag.com/airspacemag/europes-spaceplane-readies-fly-180952967/The IXV will pave the way for future reusable spacecraft.Wed, 08 Oct 2014 16:49:38 +0000A Space Station Experiment for Astronauts—And Everyone Who Ageshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/space-station-experiment-astronautsand-everyone-who-ages-180952966/A current ISS study tackles the mystery of immune system suppression in microgravity.Tue, 07 Oct 2014 19:17:14 +0000The First Aerial Combat Victoryhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/first-aerial-combat-victory-180952933/Airplane vs. airplane over France in 1914Sat, 04 Oct 2014 13:15:43 +0000Describing Mars to the Rest of the Worldhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/beautiful-mars-180952938/NASA’s new translation project introduces the Red Planet in Icelandic, Esperanto, and more.Fri, 03 Oct 2014 18:05:41 +0000A Road Trip on the Moonhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/road-trip-moon-180952925/Sightseeing tips for a lunar vacationThu, 02 Oct 2014 18:18:38 +0000How Did This Mean-Looking Jet Get Permission to Land In Washington D.C.?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/how-did-mean-looking-jet-get-permission-land-washington-dc-180952875/For one thing, it left its weapons at home.Mon, 29 Sep 2014 19:05:00 +0000Etihad Airlines’ Luxury Suite in the Skyhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/etihad-airlines-luxury-suite-sky-180952861/With your own gourmet chef, too.Fri, 26 Sep 2014 20:00:39 +0000To Find Alien Life, Expect the Unexpectedhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/find-alien-life-expect-unexpected-180952853/Highlights of a Library of Congress symposium on first contact with extraterrestrial lifeThu, 25 Sep 2014 18:56:45 +0000Raptor Sees First Combat Over Syriahttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/raptor-sees-first-combat-over-syria-180952823/After nine years, the F-22 gets its first call to action.Tue, 23 Sep 2014 19:57:56 +0000“Not a Woman’s Profession”http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/not-womans-profession-180952807/Elena Serova overcame more than the rigors of cosmonaut training to reach space from today’s conservative Russia.Mon, 22 Sep 2014 20:32:54 +0000Navy Drone Makes First Coast-to-Coast Test Flighthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/navy-maritime-drone-makes-first-coast-coast-test-flight-180952775/The MQ-4C Triton’s 16th test flight is its longest yet.Fri, 19 Sep 2014 17:55:44 +0000Half of All First-Time CubeSat Projects End in Failurehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/cubesats-are-great-even-if-they-die-you-180952745/Half of all first-time Cubesat projects end in failure. And that’s not entirely bad.Thu, 18 Sep 2014 17:12:25 +0000Boeing, SpaceX Win NASA Commercial Crew Awardhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/boeing-spacex-win-nasa-commercial-crew-award-180952722/The companies will work toward flying astronauts to the space station by 2017.Tue, 16 Sep 2014 22:27:11 +0000Reno Crowd Agrees: “Best Race I Ever Saw!”http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/reno-crowd-agrees-best-race-i-ever-saw-180952709/The Kid won it, but it was the Old Man of Air Racing who gave the fans a finish they’ll never forget.Tue, 16 Sep 2014 19:13:20 +0000India’s Mangalyaan Spacecraft Closes In On Marshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/indias-mangalyaan-closes-mars-180952707/With hopes to become the third agency to orbit the Red Planet.Tue, 16 Sep 2014 16:02:09 +0000The First Arctic Flight—in 1914http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/first-arctic-flight-1914-180952688/A little-known Polish aviator got there more than a decade before Byrd and Amundsen.Fri, 12 Sep 2014 17:55:53 +0000More Signs That Europa Could Be Habitablehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/more-signs-europa-could-be-habitable-180952683/Researchers see plate tectonic activity on a distant moon.Fri, 12 Sep 2014 16:00:00 +0000Star Trek’s U.S.S. Enterprise to Boldly Go Back to the Workshophttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/star-treks-uss-enterprise-boldly-go-back-workshop-180952633/A 49-year-old pop cultural artifact gets a much-needed restoration.Thu, 11 Sep 2014 19:43:06 +0000“Re-Blued” at the U.S. Air Force Academyhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/re-blued-us-air-force-academy-180952665/A quick, inspiring visit to the Academy’s campus in Colorado SpringsWed, 10 Sep 2014 20:03:48 +0000Space Crowdfunding: What’s the Secret?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/space-crowdfunding-whats-secret-180952649/Winners and losers among the space start-ups.Tue, 09 Sep 2014 18:05:00 +0000NASA Touts Space Station Benefits in New Video Serieshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/new-video-series-shows-how-space-station-experiments-help-people-earth-180952605/Watch how some space experiments can help people on Earth.Fri, 05 Sep 2014 15:30:44 +0000Undocumented Alienhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/undocumented-alien-180952618/Meteorite NWA5000 is beautiful – but is it from the Moon?Thu, 04 Sep 2014 19:03:23 +0000New ISS Experiment Tests Organisms’ Survival Skills in Spacehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/new-iss-experiment-tests-organisms-survival-skills-space-180952600/Biological samples will be exposed to the harsh environment outside the space station.Wed, 03 Sep 2014 18:06:23 +0000Ten-Year-Old Gore Vidal Helped Sell the “People’s Airplane”http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/age-10-gore-vidal-helped-his-father-sell-peoples-airplane-180952591/The future author acted as a pitchman for personal aviation in 1936.Tue, 02 Sep 2014 20:54:55 +0000Time-Lapse of Cygnus Departing the Space Stationhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/time-lapse-cygnus-departing-space-station-180952522/Astronauts say goodbye to their supply ship after a month in orbit.Fri, 29 Aug 2014 13:20:13 +0000Alien Life May Thrive on an Exotic Kind of Carbon Dioxidehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/alien-life-may-thrive-exotic-kind-carbon-dioxide-180952500/The familiar gas would have not-so-familiar properties on other planets.Thu, 28 Aug 2014 13:34:35 +0000A Tour of the Boneyardhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/tour-boneyard-180952460/The aircraft retirement home in Arizona is well worth a visit.Mon, 25 Aug 2014 14:10:26 +0000