Daily Planet | Air & Space Magazinehttp://www.airspacemag.com/rss/daily-planet/RSS feed for Daily PlanetenFri, 05 Feb 2016 13:46:46 +0000Martian Life May Survive on Water From the Atmospherehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/martian-life-may-survive-water-atmosphere-180958047/And “follow the water” could be a misguided strategy.Fri, 05 Feb 2016 13:46:46 +0000Shots Seen ’Round the Worldhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/shots-seen-round-world-180958015/Lucky spectators on Earth and in orbit are sometimes treated to an unexpected show on launch day.Wed, 03 Feb 2016 14:05:05 +0000Minuteman, the Missile that Blows Smoke Ringshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/minuteman-missile-blows-smoke-rings-180958003/That distinctive puff is 55 years old today.Mon, 01 Feb 2016 18:52:06 +0000Europe Launches Satellite to Speed Up Space Communicationshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/europe-looks-speed-space-communications-180957991/Tonight’s launch of EDRS-A is a milestone for laser relays in orbit.Fri, 29 Jan 2016 21:11:35 +0000Scientists Find One of the Rare Uninhabited Places on Earthhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/scientists-find-one-rare-uninhabited-places-earth-180957943/No traces of life turn up in Antarctica’s University Valley.Tue, 26 Jan 2016 20:14:00 +0000Life Found Refuge From Radiation on the Early Earthhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/life-found-refuge-radiation-early-earth-180957895/Maybe the ocean wasn’t the only habitable place four billion years ago.Thu, 21 Jan 2016 18:54:51 +0000Reusable Launch Vehicles and Lunar Returnhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/reusable-launch-vehicles-and-lunar-return-180957849/The real value of the SpaceX and Blue Origin achievements is to make living on the Moon more feasible.Fri, 15 Jan 2016 20:18:30 +0000The Making of an Antarctic Stationhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/halley-vi-research-station-180957811/When your first five research stations get pummeled by the harsh polar environment, build one you can move.Wed, 13 Jan 2016 17:19:25 +0000Before the Meatballhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/before-meatball-180957709/NASA’s logo may have been cooler, but the NACA emblem was worn by famous pilots like Orville Wright and Eddie Rickenbacker.Tue, 12 Jan 2016 14:18:29 +0000 Hubble’s Great Grandchildhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/hubbles-great-grandchild-180957747/It’s not too early to start planning the space telescopes of the 2030s.Fri, 08 Jan 2016 21:42:16 +0000Signs of Advanced Life---on Earthhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/signs-advanced-life-earth-180957735/Humans have left their mark in the geologic record, just as alien civilizations might on other worlds.Thu, 07 Jan 2016 19:00:00 +0000How Much of the World’s Population Has Flown in an Airplane?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/how-much-worlds-population-has-flown-airplane-180957719/Some numbers, and some guesses.Wed, 06 Jan 2016 18:10:22 +0000Our Top 10 Stories of 2015http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/our-top-10-aviation-space-stories-2015-180957651/The most-viewed stories on AirSpaceMag.com this year included coverage of the massive WW2 flyover in D.C. and a rare SR-71 Blackbird crash.Mon, 28 Dec 2015 19:11:23 +0000Johannes Kepler Defended His Mother in a Witchcraft Trialhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/johannes-kepler-mother-witch-180957616/The famous astronomer conducted his mother’s defense in an ordeal that lasted six years.Mon, 28 Dec 2015 18:36:05 +0000A One-of-a-Kind Gift from Apollo 8 on Christmas Evehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/go-flight-book-excerpt-180957534/A new book describes the joy, stress, and sense of success inside NASA mission control.Tue, 22 Dec 2015 20:48:07 +0000Ceres’ Spots in the Spotlighthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/ceres-spots-spotlight-180957620/Water and organics are reported. Is there energy, too?Tue, 22 Dec 2015 20:04:49 +0000SpaceX Takes a “Revolutionary” Step Toward Reusable Rocketshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/spacex-takes-revolutionary-step-toward-reusable-rockets-180957609/A Falcon 9 first stage makes a controlled landing 10 minutes after launch.Tue, 22 Dec 2015 16:44:01 +0000Scenes from the World Air Games in Dubaihttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/scenes-world-air-games-dubai-180957587/This year’s competition drew everything from model airplanes to balloons.Tue, 22 Dec 2015 16:42:40 +0000<i>Spirit of St. Louis</i> Replica Soars Over New Yorkhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/spirit-st-louis-replica-soars-over-new-york-180957525/The Old Rhinebeck Aerodrome says the Ryan it spent decades building is the most authentic replica of Charles Lindbergh’s airplane ever built.Mon, 21 Dec 2015 16:24:15 +0000What to Do With That Drone You Get for Christmashttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/what-do-drone-you-get-christmas-180957585/Taking light painting to new heights.Fri, 18 Dec 2015 17:13:02 +0000Searching for Life at Enceladushttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/searching-life-enceladus-180957564/Which is better, a sample return mission or an onsite investigation?Wed, 16 Dec 2015 20:41:06 +0000Simulating Human Space Missionshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/simulating-human-space-missions-180957539/Are Earth analogs helpful?Mon, 14 Dec 2015 18:02:08 +0000Curiosity Set to Explore Martian Sand Duneshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/curiosity-set-explore-martian-sand-dunes-180957522/The rover will tread carefully, in case it’s a trap.Fri, 11 Dec 2015 17:25:37 +0000