Daily Planet | Air & Space Magazinehttp://www.airspacemag.com/rss/daily-planet/RSS feed for Daily PlanetenFri, 17 Feb 2017 17:00:00 +0000SpaceX Launches from Historic Pad 39Ahttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/spacex-poised-launch-historic-pad-39a-180962224/Commercial rockets take center stage at Cape Canaveral.Fri, 17 Feb 2017 17:00:00 +0000Ceres Just Got A Lot More Interesting to Astrobiologistshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/ceres-just-got-lot-more-interesting-astrobiologists-180962196/Indigenous organics have been found on the largest body in the asteroid belt.Thu, 16 Feb 2017 19:00:00 +0000Tiny Tech Will Help Drones Stay Safe in the National Airspacehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/small-drones-small-transmitters-180962154/ADS-B equipment is the future of air traffic control. Until now, most drones couldn’t carry it.Wed, 15 Feb 2017 20:00:00 +0000Planet Labs Goes For Record 88-Satellite Launchhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/planet-labs-goes-record-88-satellite-launch-180962178/The upstart remote sensing company is poised to begin daily whole-Earth photography.Tue, 14 Feb 2017 21:00:11 +0000Love Is in the Airhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/love-air-180962153/The art of skywriting is honored on a new stamp from the USPS.Tue, 14 Feb 2017 15:00:00 +0000A New Lander Concept for Europahttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/new-lander-concept-europa-180962137/Life detection would be a key part of a mission to Jupiter’s intriguing icy moon.Mon, 13 Feb 2017 16:18:23 +0000People With Frizzy Hair Are More Likely to Hear the Sound of Meteorshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/the-sound-of-meteors-180961886/That buzzing, popping, and crackling noise may be real after all.Thu, 09 Feb 2017 15:55:09 +0000PBS’s “City in the Sky” Exposes the Hidden Minutiae of Air Travelhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/pbs-emcity-skyem-exposes-hidden-minutiae-air-travel-180962084/A three-part public television documentary takes viewers to parts of the airport they’ve never seen.Wed, 08 Feb 2017 20:52:16 +0000In 1912, Mohan Singh Was Billed as “The Only Hindu Flyer in the World”http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/mohan-singh-aviator-of-mystery-180962015/The strange tale of a barnstormer turned yoga master.Tue, 07 Feb 2017 17:46:39 +0000Before “Hidden Figures,” There Was a Rock Opera About NASA’s Human Computershttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/hidden-figures-there-was-rock-opera-about-nasas-human-computers-180961980/Katherine Johnson’s inspirational story came to the Baltimore stage in 2015, thanks to another space scientist.Fri, 03 Feb 2017 14:00:00 +0000Oxygen is Not Enoughhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/oxygen-not-enough-180962009/To point us to a habitable planet, that is.Thu, 02 Feb 2017 21:00:00 +0000The Bot That Flies Like a Bathttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/bot-flies-bat-180962004/Robot researchers have created a lightweight, agile drone that mimics one of nature’s greatest fliers.Wed, 01 Feb 2017 19:00:00 +0000These Mushroom-Based Drones Eat Themselves at Mission’s Endhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/vanishing-drones-180961990/Once the job is done, the tiny gliders are designed to disappear.Tue, 31 Jan 2017 21:36:48 +0000Whoever Said the Moon is the End Goal?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/whoever-said-moon-end-goal-180961943/And who decided that space is only for science?Fri, 27 Jan 2017 14:00:00 +0000The Moon May Have Had Lots of Water in the Distant Pasthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/moon-may-have-had-water-distant-past-180961906/And that raises its interest to astrobiologists.Wed, 25 Jan 2017 15:05:50 +0000In 1986, David Letterman Went On the Air, In the Airhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/1986-david-letterman-went-air-air-180961797/For the 4th anniversary of “Late Night,” the TV host filmed the show on board a TWA 747.Mon, 23 Jan 2017 17:00:00 +0000Drones + Augmented Reality = Help for Firefightershttp://www.airspacemag.com/articles/drones-augment-reality-180961874/ScanEagles soar over active fires, while viewers explore the scene using holograms.Fri, 20 Jan 2017 14:00:00 +0000Thousands of Airplanes Will Descend on Washington This Weekendhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/washingtons-inaugural-airspace-180961867/You can fly into D.C. for the inauguration—as long as you do it very carefully.Thu, 19 Jan 2017 19:00:00 +0000Drones Swarm Like Gnats in Navy Videohttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/navy-tests-swarming-drones-180961802/In tests conducted last October, three F/A-18s bring 103 friends to the party.Tue, 17 Jan 2017 21:30:06 +0000Are Humans Freaks of Nature?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/are-humans-freaks-nature-180961785/The small but significant gap between humans and other animals on Earth may shed light on why we see no alien visitors.Fri, 13 Jan 2017 13:39:18 +0000Surrounded By Robotshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/space-vr-surround-yourself-robots-180961793/A VR field trip inside the Boston Dynamics lab.Thu, 12 Jan 2017 21:46:47 +0000Free-Falling Above a Burning B-24http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/free-fall-above-burning-b-24-180961719/Bailing out over Occupied France in 1944.Tue, 10 Jan 2017 21:11:28 +0000The Show Before the Air Showhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/show-air-show-180961639/Without the annual ICAS trade show, there would be no smoke and aerobatics.Mon, 09 Jan 2017 21:00:00 +0000The Year in VR: From Pearl Harbor to the Stratospherehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/year-vr-pearl-harbor-stratosphere-180961722/A sampler of virtual reality air and space experiences that came out in 2016.Fri, 06 Jan 2017 21:00:00 +0000These Tiny Creatures Can Withstand an Astonishing 16,000 Gshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/these-tiny-creatures-can-withstand-astonishing-16000-gs-180961717/The ultimate animal survivor would still have a hard time on other planets.Fri, 06 Jan 2017 15:30:00 +0000In 1950, Airlines Didn’t Serve Liquor Over Dry Stateshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/getting-high-skies-180961700/Remembering when the drinks cart was subject to some very complicated laws. Thu, 05 Jan 2017 20:52:48 +0000China’s Moon Missions Are Anything But Pointlesshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/chinas-moon-missions-are-anything-pointless-180961633/The value of the nation’s lunar robotic missions goes beyond science.Tue, 03 Jan 2017 16:10:57 +0000Small Is the Next Big Trend in Consumer UAVshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/small-gets-big-180961530/JetJat, Dobby and other nanodrones.Fri, 30 Dec 2016 14:00:00 +0000George McGovern’s WWII Diaryhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/george-mcgoverns-world-war-ii-diary-180961585/Notes from the one-time presidential nominee’s 35 combat missions.Thu, 29 Dec 2016 19:00:00 +0000The Martian RVhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/martian-rv-180961586/What says home better than a 1976 Airstream trailer?Thu, 29 Dec 2016 15:18:13 +0000Vera Rubin Made “Dark Matter” a Household Phrasehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/vera-rubin-made-dark-matter-household-phrase-180961581/Years later, the astronomer recalled her “incredible delight” in the discovery for which she was most famous.Wed, 28 Dec 2016 18:00:00 +0000This Pebble Turns Out to Be a Fossilized Dinosaur Brainhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/pebble-turns-out-be-fossilized-dinosaur-brain-180961557/And iguanodons may have been smarter than we thought.Fri, 23 Dec 2016 17:00:00 +0000How to Shoot Down a Dronehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/downing-drones-radio-rifles-180961525/...without actually shooting.Fri, 23 Dec 2016 14:00:00 +0000