Daily Planet | Air & Space Magazinehttp://www.airspacemag.com/rss/daily-planet/RSS feed for Daily PlanetenWed, 24 Aug 2016 17:51:53 +0000An Earthlike (Maybe) Planet Around the Nearest Starhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/earthlike-maybe-planet-around-nearest-star-180960236/Proxima b is the first exoplanet we can actually contemplate visiting.Wed, 24 Aug 2016 17:51:53 +0000This Canadian Museum Has Got Gamehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/canadian-museum-has-got-game-180960217/Aerospace exhibits for the iPad generation. Mon, 22 Aug 2016 19:42:42 +0000Return of the Airshiphttp://www.airspacemag.com/airspacemag/return-airship-180960184/Whether it floats or flies, it’s the biggest thing in the skiesFri, 19 Aug 2016 13:07:24 +0000The Truck Driver Who Jumped From the Edge of Spacehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/truck-driver-who-jumped-edge-space-180960114/Nick Piantanida, born 84 years ago today, was nothing if not determined.Mon, 15 Aug 2016 12:17:01 +0000How, Where, and When to Watch the Perseid Meteorshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/how-where-and-when-watch-perseid-meteors-180960098/If you’re in the right place, all you really have to do is look up.Thu, 11 Aug 2016 15:15:20 +0000The Last Words of Otto Lilienthalhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/last-words-otto-lilienthal-180960084/Germany’s “Flying Man” was the most successful aviator of his day.Wed, 10 Aug 2016 14:27:05 +0000Amelia Earhart Slept Herehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/amelia-earhart-slept-here-180959836/The country’s first airport hotel opened in Oakland, California, in 1929.Mon, 08 Aug 2016 17:44:51 +0000Air & Space Quiz: Test Your Knowledge of the F-35http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/air-space-quiz-test-your-knowledge-f-35-180960029/ Fri, 05 Aug 2016 16:00:22 +0000LUCA, the Ancestor of All Life on Earthhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/luca-ancestor-all-life-earth-180959980/A new genetic analysis points to hydrothermal vents as the planet’s first habitat.Wed, 03 Aug 2016 19:46:21 +0000Life on an Aircraft Carrierhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/life-aircraft-carrier-180959996/ Tue, 02 Aug 2016 19:30:00 +0000Private Pilots, NASA Wants Your Helphttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/hunting-dangerous-plants-made-easy-180959975/The space agency is looking for general aviation pilots to help track harmful algal blooms.Mon, 01 Aug 2016 19:29:02 +0000Testing for Methane on Marshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/testing-methane-mars-180959962/And the three leading theories are...Fri, 29 Jul 2016 13:54:43 +0000Space Radiation May Cause Heart Diseasehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/space-radiation-may-lead-heart-disease-180959950/Apollo astronauts have died from cardiovascular problems at a much higher rate than other astronauts. Why?Thu, 28 Jul 2016 16:51:17 +0000Little Light in the Search for Dark Matterhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/findings-are-little-light-dark-matter-search-180959926/Scientists have to re-think the particles believed to make up most of the universe when another experiment comes up empty.Wed, 27 Jul 2016 14:07:28 +0000Solar Impulse 2 Finishes Its Epic Round-the-World Triphttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/around-world-without-drop-fuel-180959922/And all without using a drop of fuel.Tue, 26 Jul 2016 20:12:09 +0000The Fastest Jet Flight in Historyhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/fastest-jet-flight-history-180959911/Forty years ago, the SR-71 Blackbird set a record that still stands.Tue, 26 Jul 2016 14:04:12 +0000Ricochets, Decapitations and Lunar Sculptureshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/ricochets-decapitations-and-lunar-sculptures-180959904/How some of the largest craters on the Moon were created.Mon, 25 Jul 2016 17:37:22 +0000Looking for The Right Atmospherehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/looking-right-atmosphere-180959884/The next step in the search for habitable planets.Fri, 22 Jul 2016 15:00:55 +0000Neil Armstrong’s Gloves and Helmet Go Back on Displayhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/neil-armstrongs-gloves-and-helmet-go-back-display-180959862/The historic artifacts come out of the cold, but only for a year.Wed, 20 Jul 2016 19:54:46 +0000<em>Star Trek</em> ’s Simon Pegg, Giving Her All She’s Gothttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/simon-pegg-giving-her-all-shes-got-180959845/The actor and screenwriter reflects on the legacy of a science fiction franchise that’s been boldly going for half a century.Wed, 20 Jul 2016 16:38:02 +0000Mars Needs Broadband!http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/mars-needs-broadband-180959830/A new relay satellite will boost the data flow from Mars starting in the early 2020s.Tue, 19 Jul 2016 14:15:18 +0000That Time James Bond Offended the Irishhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/time-james-bond-pissed-ireland-180959820/Ian Fleming’s fourth book caused consternation at Shannon Free Airport.Fri, 15 Jul 2016 19:20:14 +0000Climate Change May Affect The Habitability of Other Planetshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/climate-change-may-affect-habitability-other-planets-180959805/It’s not just Earth that has to worry.Thu, 14 Jul 2016 15:31:52 +0000A VR Look Inside the Juno Spacecrafthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/vr-look-inside-juno-spacecraft-180959784/ Tue, 12 Jul 2016 20:04:56 +0000The Upside-Down Dinnerhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/upside-down-dinner-180959631/To celebrate inverted flight, the Hendon Aviators ate their meal upside-down and backwards.Mon, 11 Jul 2016 18:00:00 +0000Wright Brothers’ Long-Lost Patent Gets a Private Family Viewinghttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/wright-brothers-long-lost-patent-gets-private-family-viewing-180959747/At the National Archives, a close look at aviation’s birth certificate.Fri, 08 Jul 2016 17:33:59 +0000Fran Bagenal’s Excellent Yearhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/fran-bagenals-excellent-year-180959740/Pluto last summer, Jupiter this summer. Where to next for this veteran planetary scientist?Fri, 08 Jul 2016 14:03:47 +0000Former Japanese Airline Pilot Fulfills Dream to Fly in Spacehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/airline-pilot-fulfills-lifelong-dream-fly-space-180959724/Astronaut Takuya Onishi scores a first.Thu, 07 Jul 2016 17:52:01 +0000The Cosmic Zoo: Why Animal-Like Life Should Be Common In the Universehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/cosmic-zoo-why-animal-life-should-be-common-universe-180959685/Once biology starts on a planet, there’s a good chance complex organisms would follow.Tue, 05 Jul 2016 17:43:15 +0000Vietnam Helicopter Pilot Awarded Medal of Honor Almost 50 Years Laterhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/vietnam-war-helicopter-pilot-upgraded-medal-honor-180959547/Charles Kettles’ act of heroism in May 1967 receives the nation’s highest award.Fri, 01 Jul 2016 18:49:23 +0000Continuing the Long March to the Moonhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/continuing-long-march-moon-180959672/China’s goals and aspirations in space become ever clearer.Fri, 01 Jul 2016 15:42:43 +0000Can UAV Designers Learn From Soaring Birds?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/what-can-uavs-learn-soaring-birds-180959581/Frigates use cumulus clouds as a kind of up elevator.Thu, 30 Jun 2016 18:37:44 +0000The Mystery of Tabby’s Starhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/mystery-tabbys-star-180959615/A Kickstarter campaign to study one of astronomy’s most puzzling objects.Wed, 29 Jun 2016 20:41:58 +0000Happy 40th Birthday, National Air and Space Museum!http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/happy-birthday-national-air-and-space-museum-180959588/After a two-year renovation, the Boeing Milestones of Flight Hall reopens July 1.Tue, 28 Jun 2016 16:16:58 +0000Growable Spacecraft: A Solution to Artificial Gravity?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/growable-spacecraft-solution-artificial-gravity-180959584/Modules made of tough plastic may be the next big thing in space construction.Tue, 28 Jun 2016 12:57:51 +0000