Daily Planet | Air & Space Magazinehttp://www.airspacemag.com/rss/daily-planet/RSS feed for Daily PlanetenFri, 19 Dec 2014 20:49:49 +0000India Tests Prototype Astronaut Capsulehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/india-tests-prototype-astronaut-capsule-180953697/Another milestone on the path to human spaceflight.Fri, 19 Dec 2014 20:49:49 +0000Einstein’s Thoughts on SETIhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/einsteins-thoughts-seti-180953666/“Why should earth be the only planet supporting human life?” asked the physicist in 1920.Wed, 17 Dec 2014 21:36:37 +0000Exciting New Findings About Martian Methanehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/exciting-new-findings-about-martian-methane-180953628/Could life be the source?Tue, 16 Dec 2014 18:30:00 +0000Hayabusa 2 Heads Off to Hunt an Asteroidhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/hayabusa-heads-off-hunt-asteroid-180953596/And this time, it’s got a gun.Fri, 12 Dec 2014 21:11:25 +0000Motorcycles of the Airhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/motorcycles-air-180953577/Trike flyers are all about the fun.Wed, 10 Dec 2014 18:21:59 +0000DNA is Hardier Than We Thoughthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/dna-hardier-we-thought-180953535/It can survive suborbital spaceflight, but what about longer interplanetary trips?Thu, 04 Dec 2014 18:35:39 +0000The Orion Era Beginshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/orion-era-begins-180953526/What to watch for during tomorrow’s test.Wed, 03 Dec 2014 21:22:43 +0000The Flight of Orionhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/flight-orion-180953513/A new spacecraft takes flight, but to where?Tue, 02 Dec 2014 20:07:38 +0000Speaking With Extraterrestrialshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/speaking-extraterrestrials-180953489/Composing a message that can be understood by aliens will be extremely difficult. And conversation may be impossible.Mon, 01 Dec 2014 19:32:30 +0000The Air Show’s Ringmasterhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/air-shows-ringmaster-180953468/For an Air Boss, most of the work happens before the show even opens.Wed, 26 Nov 2014 15:11:06 +0000Plant Life May Thrive in Alien Atmospheres http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/plant-life-may-thrive-alien-atmospheres-180953410/It may not even require as much light as it does on Earth.Thu, 20 Nov 2014 17:25:43 +0000Raiders of the Lost Ark’s Fake Flying Winghttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/raiders-lost-arks-fake-flying-wing-180953339/After 33 years, two amateur auteurs wrap their boyhood <em>Raiders</em> remake by blowing up the Nazi airplane of their dreams.Mon, 17 Nov 2014 15:57:48 +0000Return of the Parasiteshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/return-parasites-180953319/DARPA wants new tech for an old idea.Fri, 14 Nov 2014 16:01:10 +0000A New Way to Search for Martian Lifehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/new-way-search-martian-life-180953316/Isotopic analysis may help us separate native organisms from Earthly contamination.Thu, 13 Nov 2014 16:58:09 +0000Time-Lapse of Orion’s Trip to the Launch Padhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/time-lapse-orions-trip-launch-pad-180953299/The new spaceship gets one step closer to its December 4 debut.Wed, 12 Nov 2014 14:56:57 +0000First Landing on a Comethttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/first-landing-comet-180953297/After two and a half suspenseful days, Rosetta mission scientists ended up a happy bunch.Tue, 11 Nov 2014 19:19:06 +0000China is Now Positioned to Dominate the Moonhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/china-now-positioned-dominate-moon-180953267/What are they up to?Thu, 06 Nov 2014 21:12:38 +0000Incredible Image Shows Never-Before-Seen Detail in a Solar System Being Bornhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/baby-planets-come-together-incredible-image-180953256/This will be the go-to picture for planetary formation in astronomy textbooks.Thu, 06 Nov 2014 12:00:00 +0000The Future of Air Travel, as Seen from MIThttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/future-air-travel-seen-mit-180953245/An expert panel looks ahead to the airline experience of 2030, with more passengers and fewer (if any) pilots.Wed, 05 Nov 2014 16:53:41 +0000Navy F-35 Makes Its First Carrier Landing, With an Audiencehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/navy-f-35-makes-its-first-carrier-landing-audience-180953244/New military airplanes don't come along as often as they used to.Tue, 04 Nov 2014 21:14:56 +0000Chinese Test Capsule Returns from Moonhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/chinese-test-capsule-return-moon-tonight-180953204/Mission paves the way for a future lunar sample return.Fri, 31 Oct 2014 15:31:18 +0000How Animals Came to Roam the Earthhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/how-animals-came-roam-earth-180953191/The rise of complex life came after a rise in oxygen levels, according to new research.Thu, 30 Oct 2014 18:00:00 +0000Yet Another Flying Carhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/yet-another-flying-car-180953170/Here we go again.Wed, 29 Oct 2014 13:06:49 +0000What Was the Deal With That Boat Scuttling Last Night's Rocket Launch?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/whats-deal-boat-scuttling-last-nights-antares-rocket-launch-180953176/The Coast Guard and Marine Police try to warn boats out of the danger zone, but sometimes they get through.Tue, 28 Oct 2014 21:17:12 +0000Google VP Sets New Record for a Stratospheric Leaphttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/google-vp-sets-new-record-stratospheric-leap-180953145/Alan Eustace makes history with his 26-mile fall.Fri, 24 Oct 2014 20:14:16 +0000Mimas: Is There an Ocean Inside the Death Star?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/mimas-ocean-within-death-star-180953137/Another (possibly) watery moon in the outer solar systemFri, 24 Oct 2014 15:24:32 +0000Watch Video of a NASA Rocket Sled Pulling a Giant Parachutehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/watch-video-nasa-rocket-sled-pulling-parachute-desert-180953120/Even better than the official “Enter Sandman” video.Thu, 23 Oct 2014 20:50:26 +0000