Daily Planet | Air & Space Magazinehttp://www.airspacemag.com/rss/daily-planet/RSS feed for Daily PlanetenThu, 17 Apr 2014 19:08:40 +0000Kepler-186f: The Most Earthlike Planet Yethttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/kepler-186f-most-earthlike-planet-yet-180951138/This one is the same size as our world, and may have water on its surface.Thu, 17 Apr 2014 19:08:40 +0000In 1969, One Nation Refused a Visit by the First Moonwalkershttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/astronaut-and-crown-affair-180951126/Why Hungary spurned the Apollo 11 astronautsWed, 16 Apr 2014 20:21:15 +0000Vote For Your Favorite Spacesuit Designhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/vote-your-favorite-spacesuit-design-180951111/Today’s your last chance to influence the future of astronaut fashion.Tue, 15 Apr 2014 13:09:20 +0000Video Proof: Fruit Flies Maneuver Just Like Fighter Pilotshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/fruit-flies-and-fighter-pilots-180950492/High-speed photography shows the bugs evading their enemies using banked turns.Thu, 10 Apr 2014 18:21:06 +0000Did Mercury Do a Hit-and-Run on Earth?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/did-mercury-do-hit-and-run-earth-180950481/It’s only outrageous speculation, but it would explain a few things.Wed, 09 Apr 2014 16:05:26 +0000Frank Frakes, Plane Crasherhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/frank-frakes-plane-crasher-180950357/An airshow act inspired by automobile demolition derbiesMon, 07 Apr 2014 18:26:48 +0000The Moon’s Mantle Muddlehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/moons-mantle-muddle-180950391/Maybe we’ve been looking for the wrong minerals, or maybe our models are wrong.Fri, 04 Apr 2014 13:30:51 +0000Cassini Finds a Sea Under the Ice of Enceladushttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/cassini-finds-sea-under-ice-enceladus-180950382/Gravity measurements show a body of water as big as Lake Superior on Saturn's tiny moon.Thu, 03 Apr 2014 19:30:01 +0000This is the Team that Knows How to Pull Off a 127,000-Foot Skydivehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/edge-space-jumpsuit-and-capsule-now-display-national-air-and-space-museum-180950360/Red Bull Stratos talks about the jump and unveils some record-breaking artifacts.Thu, 03 Apr 2014 17:25:33 +0000National Air and Space Museum To Get a Makeoverhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/national-air-and-space-museum-get-makeover-180950363/A $30 million gift from Boeing will pay for the first redesign of the main gallery in 40 years.Thu, 03 Apr 2014 14:00:32 +0000The C-5 Gets An Overhaulhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/beast-burden-180950107/How the Air Force is improving its main beast of burden. Wed, 02 Apr 2014 13:50:19 +0000Organic Material on Mars—The Case Gets Strongerhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/organic-material-mars-case-gets-stronger-180950333/Contamination from Earth now seems less likely at the <i>Curiosity</i> landing site.Tue, 01 Apr 2014 12:59:59 +0000Those Safety Instructions in Your Airplane Seat Pocket? Nobody Understands Them.http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/cards-180950298/An FAA survey found comprehension levels as low as 18 percent.Fri, 28 Mar 2014 15:40:17 +0000A New Dwarf Planet, and Maybe Something Morehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/new-dwarf-planet-and-maybe-something-more-180950288/A discovery at the solar system’s edge revives the possibility of a mysterious Planet X.Thu, 27 Mar 2014 14:22:56 +0000A New Clue to the Origin of Lifehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/new-clue-origin-life-180950248/To get biology you need enzymes, but where did enzymes come from?Mon, 24 Mar 2014 17:30:29 +0000The Promise of Astronomy on the Moonhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/promise-astronomy-moon-180950235/Thirty years ago it was a good idea, and it still is today.Fri, 21 Mar 2014 17:54:00 +0000Delivering Discoveryhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/delivering-discovery-180950100/The venerable space shuttle’s last trip: to the National Air and Space Museum.Wed, 19 Mar 2014 13:33:26 +0000A New Mineral, Never Seen on Earth, Points to Our Planet’s Watery Interiorhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/new-mineral-never-seen-earth-points-our-planets-watery-interior-180950111/A diamond discovered in Brazil yields even richer scientific treasure.Fri, 14 Mar 2014 20:20:59 +0000Rosetta's Comet Gets an Early Starthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/rosettas-comet-gets-early-start-180950055/Comet 67P has gotten close enough to the sun to start sizzling.Tue, 11 Mar 2014 17:17:00 +0000The Helicopter Pilot’s Dreaded “Helo Hunch”http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/dreaded-helo-hunch-180950037/Flying helicopters is a musculoskeletal nightmare.Tue, 11 Mar 2014 12:06:52 +0000B-2: The Inside Storyhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/b-2-man-steel-american-airpower-180949991/American airpower's “Man of Steel”Thu, 06 Mar 2014 20:28:08 +0000Mars One: Balancing Skepticism and Optimismhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/mars-one-balancing-skepticism-and-optimism-180949958/There are lots of “ifs” in a controversial plan to send people to Mars by 2025.Tue, 04 Mar 2014 11:50:53 +0000The Dump Truck of Airplaneshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/lc-130-dump-truck-airplanes-180949923/When you're stuck on the Greenland ice, you want the LC-130.Thu, 27 Feb 2014 20:45:55 +0000You Too, Yutu?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/you-too-yutu-180949893/If China’s Moon rover is immobile, its scientific mission is effectively over.Wed, 26 Feb 2014 15:58:29 +0000The “Squadron of Death”—That Performed in High Heelshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/squadron-death-180949714/The forgotten aviation career of Rubye BerauTue, 25 Feb 2014 14:35:05 +0000Napoleon’s Favorite Balloonisthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/napoleons-favorite-balloonist-180949721/How Sophie Blanchard became France’s “aeronaut of official holidays”Tue, 18 Feb 2014 17:00:00 +0000