Daily Planet | Air & Space Magazinehttp://www.airspacemag.com/rss/daily-planet/RSS feed for Daily PlanetenFri, 24 Mar 2017 19:00:00 +0000Quadcopters Go For a Better Bird Counthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/drones-birds-180962661/Ecologists are field-testing drones to record birdsong.Fri, 24 Mar 2017 19:00:00 +0000Here’s What May Be Behind the Laptop Ban on International Flightshttp://www.airspacemag.com/airspacemag/us-and-uk-ban-passenger-laptops-some-flights-middle-east-and-north-africa-180962629/The threat is real, but the implementation raises a few questions.Wed, 22 Mar 2017 18:30:02 +0000Want To Make Mars Livable? Bring Back Its Magnetic Fieldhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/want-make-mars-more-livable-bring-back-its-magnetic-field-180962610/A novel way to terraform the Red Planet.Tue, 21 Mar 2017 17:00:00 +0000Where Was Dark Matter in the Early Universe?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/where-was-dark-matter-early-universe-180962583/Observations of early-forming galaxies shows they're pretty...normal. And that's unexpected.Fri, 17 Mar 2017 19:22:55 +0000Attack of the Drone-Snatching Eagleshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/attack-drone-snatching-eagles-180962543/A natural solution to a growing threatFri, 17 Mar 2017 14:00:00 +0000How the “Suicide Squad” Turned Into One of the World’s First Rocket Companieshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/how-suicide-squad-became-one-worlds-first-rocket-companies-180962548/Aerojet celebrates its 75th anniversary.Thu, 16 Mar 2017 20:55:13 +0000If You Build It, They Will Comehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/if-you-build-it-they-will-come-180962546/Forty-five years after the last Moon landing, it’s time to stop talking and start doing again.Wed, 15 Mar 2017 18:00:36 +0000The Ultimate Space Telescope Would Use the Sun as a Gravitational Lenshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/ultimate-space-telescope-would-use-sun-lens-180962499/An old idea gets new attention.Tue, 14 Mar 2017 12:00:00 +0000Space Station VR Experience Released for Oculus Rifthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/space-station-vr-experience-released-oculus-rift-180962511/For now you’ll need one of those pricey headsets, but other versions are on the way.Mon, 13 Mar 2017 20:07:12 +0000The Drone That Mimics Spaceshipshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/catch-falling-drone-180962459/Want to test communications during atmospheric reentry without risking your spaceplane? There's a drone for that.Fri, 10 Mar 2017 21:30:59 +0000Flying Through the Golden Yearshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/too-old-fly-180962349/A new study looks at the relation between medication use and accidents involving older pilots.Fri, 10 Mar 2017 13:35:23 +0000The Pope’s Laundry and Other Tales of Papal Travelshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/flying-pope-180961907/TWA was Pope John Paul II’s ride during his first visit to the United States in 1979.Tue, 07 Mar 2017 20:50:47 +0000Marines, Fire Up Your Printers!http://www.airspacemag.com/articles/marines-fire-up-your-printers-180962186/Why haul spare parts into battle if you can just print them?Mon, 06 Mar 2017 20:11:16 +0000A Vision for Planetary Science in 2050http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/vision-planetary-science-2050-180962366/We need to dream, and to boldly go where no one has gone before.Fri, 03 Mar 2017 14:00:00 +0000To the Moon in 2026!http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/moon-2026-180962344/A goal for the nation’s 250th birthday?Wed, 01 Mar 2017 16:42:25 +0000Could Alien Life Be Hidden All Around Us?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/could-alien-life-be-hidden-all-around-us-180962328/Thoughts about dark matter biology and a shadow biosphere.Tue, 28 Feb 2017 21:00:12 +0000Are Dubai’s Drone Taxis For Real?http://www.airspacemag.com/articles/fly-through-air-greatest-ease-180962272/Passenger drone service is poised to begin, but there are still a lot of unanswered questions.Mon, 27 Feb 2017 19:38:04 +0000When it Comes to New Planets, Expect the Unexpected http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/when-it-comes-new-planets-expect-unexpected-180962271/Unfortunately, the TRAPPIST-1 planets are not the likeliest places to search for life.Thu, 23 Feb 2017 18:33:48 +0000How Venus Could Help Us Understand the New TRAPPIST-1 Planetshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/how-venus-could-help-us-understand-new-trappist-1-planets-180962267/And vice versaThu, 23 Feb 2017 17:00:00 +0000Apollo 11 Moonship To Go On Tourhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/apollo-11-artifacts-go-tour-180962247/For the next two years, the Command Module <i>Columbia</i> and other artifacts will travel the United States.Wed, 22 Feb 2017 17:00:00 +0000Cislunar Space: The Next 30 Yearshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/cislunar-space-next-30-years-180962249/United Launch Alliance has a vision.Wed, 22 Feb 2017 16:43:08 +0000Virtual Reality Comes to the Space Stationhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/virtual-reality-comes-space-station-180962244/Oculus Rift arrives, as astronauts and cosmonauts send down their first 360 videos.Tue, 21 Feb 2017 20:15:31 +0000SpaceX Launches from Historic Pad 39Ahttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/spacex-poised-launch-historic-pad-39a-180962224/Commercial rockets take center stage at Cape Canaveral.Fri, 17 Feb 2017 17:00:00 +0000Ceres Just Got A Lot More Interesting to Astrobiologistshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/ceres-just-got-lot-more-interesting-astrobiologists-180962196/Indigenous organics have been found on the largest body in the asteroid belt.Thu, 16 Feb 2017 19:00:00 +0000Tiny Tech Will Help Drones Stay Safe in the National Airspacehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/small-drones-small-transmitters-180962154/ADS-B equipment is the future of air traffic control. Until now, most drones couldn’t carry it.Wed, 15 Feb 2017 20:00:00 +0000Planet Labs Goes For Record 88-Satellite Launchhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/planet-labs-goes-record-88-satellite-launch-180962178/The upstart remote sensing company is poised to begin daily whole-Earth photography.Tue, 14 Feb 2017 21:00:11 +0000Love Is in the Airhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/love-air-180962153/The art of skywriting is honored on a new stamp from the USPS.Tue, 14 Feb 2017 15:00:00 +0000A New Lander Concept for Europahttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/new-lander-concept-europa-180962137/Life detection would be a key part of a mission to Jupiter’s intriguing icy moon.Mon, 13 Feb 2017 16:18:23 +0000People With Frizzy Hair Are More Likely to Hear the Sound of Meteorshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/the-sound-of-meteors-180961886/That buzzing, popping, and crackling noise may be real after all.Thu, 09 Feb 2017 15:55:09 +0000PBS’s “City in the Sky” Exposes the Hidden Minutiae of Air Travelhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/pbs-emcity-skyem-exposes-hidden-minutiae-air-travel-180962084/A three-part public television documentary takes viewers to parts of the airport they’ve never seen.Wed, 08 Feb 2017 20:52:16 +0000In 1912, Mohan Singh Was Billed as “The Only Hindu Flyer in the World”http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/mohan-singh-aviator-of-mystery-180962015/The strange tale of a barnstormer turned yoga master.Tue, 07 Feb 2017 17:46:39 +0000Before “Hidden Figures,” There Was a Rock Opera About NASA’s Human Computershttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/hidden-figures-there-was-rock-opera-about-nasas-human-computers-180961980/Katherine Johnson’s inspirational story came to the Baltimore stage in 2015, thanks to another space scientist.Fri, 03 Feb 2017 14:00:00 +0000Oxygen is Not Enoughhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/oxygen-not-enough-180962009/To point us to a habitable planet, that is.Thu, 02 Feb 2017 21:00:00 +0000The Bot That Flies Like a Bathttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/bot-flies-bat-180962004/Robot researchers have created a lightweight, agile drone that mimics one of nature’s greatest fliers.Wed, 01 Feb 2017 19:00:00 +0000These Mushroom-Based Drones Eat Themselves at Mission’s Endhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/vanishing-drones-180961990/Once the job is done, the tiny gliders are designed to disappear.Tue, 31 Jan 2017 21:36:48 +0000Whoever Said the Moon is the End Goal?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/whoever-said-moon-end-goal-180961943/And who decided that space is only for science?Fri, 27 Jan 2017 14:00:00 +0000