Daily Planet | Air & Space Magazinehttp://www.airspacemag.com/rss/daily-planet/RSS feed for Daily PlanetenFri, 02 Dec 2016 17:00:00 +0000Paint the Night with Droneshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/paint-night-drones-180961232/Is this the first step to flying billboards?Fri, 02 Dec 2016 17:00:00 +0000A Step toward Silicon Life?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/step-toward-silicon-life-180961272/Scientists have found that microbes can make chemical bonds that might—conceivably—play a role in alien biology. Fri, 02 Dec 2016 14:23:13 +0000Canadian Astronaut Will Test a New Bio-Monitor Shirt in Spacehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/canadian-astronaut-will-test-new-bio-monitor-shirt-space-180961270/Space doctors hope the “Astroskin” can replace some of those messy wires and electrodes.Thu, 01 Dec 2016 21:00:00 +0000Venus, By Way of Hawaiihttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/venus-way-hawaii-180961253/ Wed, 30 Nov 2016 20:00:00 +0000Finding Earth 2.0 Will Be Harder Than We Thoughthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/finding-earth-20-will-be-harder-than-we-thought-180961067/No such discovery can be expected within this decade.Wed, 23 Nov 2016 13:00:00 +0000Air & Space Quiz: Test Your Knowledge of the P-51http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/air-space-quiz-test-your-knowledge-p-51-180961162/ Tue, 22 Nov 2016 20:27:17 +0000Drone Deliveries Go Globalhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/drone-deliveries-china-and-soon-world-180961160/China introduces rural service, with other countries not far behind.Mon, 21 Nov 2016 15:00:00 +0000Chinese Astronauts Land on the Same Day That ISS Astronauts Launchhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/chinese-astronauts-land-same-day-iss-astronauts-launch-180961166/Soyuz up, Shenzhou down.Fri, 18 Nov 2016 22:02:09 +0000Early Venusian Oceans May Have Harbored Lifehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/early-venusian-oceans-may-have-harbored-life-180961137/If so, could there still be life in the planet’s atmosphere today?Thu, 17 Nov 2016 17:00:00 +0000Favorable Signs for a Lunar Returnhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/favorable-signs-lunar-return-180961083/The Moon may once again play a significant role in the U.S. space program.Mon, 14 Nov 2016 19:27:02 +0000Drone Hacking Made Easyhttp://www.airspacemag.com/airspacemag/drone-hacking-made-easy-180961052/Nice drone...shame if something were to happen to it.Wed, 09 Nov 2016 22:30:00 +0000The Taliban Discovers Droneshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/taliban-discovers-drones-180961010/What does one slick-looking propaganda video mean?Fri, 04 Nov 2016 14:25:14 +0000The Thorny Devil, an Alien in Our Midsthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/thorny-devil-alien-our-midst-180961007/This lizard could teach us about survival on dry planets.Thu, 03 Nov 2016 19:00:01 +0000Pluto, So Farhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/pluto-so-far-180960990/New Horizons has finally sent down all its data from the fly-by. What have we learned about the far-away dwarf planet system?Wed, 02 Nov 2016 13:04:01 +0000Crowdsourcing Historyhttp://www.airspacemag.com/airspacemag/crowdsourcing-history-180960687/Smithsonian volunteers transcribe everything from Apollo stowage lists to reports on early balloon ascensions.Fri, 28 Oct 2016 14:02:26 +0000Can a Tiny Drone Take Down an Airliner?http://www.airspacemag.com/articles/can-tiny-drone-take-down-airliner-180960896/There’s only one way to find out...Thu, 27 Oct 2016 15:51:04 +0000Is There a Doctor with a Phone Onboard?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/new-smartphone-app-aimed-doctors-responding-emergencies-flight-180960897/A new smartphone app will give doctors responding to in-flight emergencies basic instructions in how to treat 23 common conditions.Wed, 26 Oct 2016 14:53:58 +0000R.A. “Bob” Hoover Dies at 94http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/r-bob-hoover-dies-94-180960903/Aviation fans lose one of the greatest pilots who ever flew.Tue, 25 Oct 2016 16:33:38 +0000A Dessert Only a POW Could Lovehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/dessert-only-pow-could-love-180960887/In a cook-off between aviators and astronauts, who would win?Tue, 25 Oct 2016 11:42:03 +0000Rwanda Gets Medical Delivery by Dronehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/rwanda-gets-medical-delivery-drone-180960825/But how practical is it?Mon, 24 Oct 2016 17:04:29 +0000Matterport Makes VR Navigation Easyhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/matterport-makes-it-easy-navigate-vr-180960884/Look around inside a C-5 transport, or roam the bridge of the USS <i>Midway</i>.Fri, 21 Oct 2016 20:00:00 +0000ExoMars Lander Goes Silent at the Last Minutehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/europes-first-landing-mars-180960828/The good news: The Trace Gas Orbiter arrived as planned and is running flawlessly.Thu, 20 Oct 2016 19:55:06 +0000The Drone You Command With a Wave of Your Handhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/consumer-drones-get-smarter-180960824/The Mavic Pro introduces point and click control, minus the click.Wed, 19 Oct 2016 21:08:16 +0000Marsquakes May Point the Way to Lifehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/marsquakes-may-point-way-life-180960822/Fault zones could make good habitats, according to recent research. Tue, 18 Oct 2016 18:00:00 +0000A Pilot’s Take on Drone Schoolhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/pilots-take-drone-school-180960770/Getting a commercial drone license shouldn’t be too difficult, if you already fly airplanes. Thu, 13 Oct 2016 15:20:17 +0000Lunar Craters May Be Forming Faster Than We Thoughthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/lunar-craters-may-be-forming-faster-we-thought-180960756/New images show a more active surface on the Moon.Wed, 12 Oct 2016 18:00:01 +0000Uber Looks to the Skieshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/uber-looks-skies-180960746/One day, you may be able to summon a drone.Tue, 11 Oct 2016 19:58:46 +0000Is Beaming Messages to Other Stars a Wise Idea?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/beaming-messages-other-stars-wise-idea-180960723/The debate continues, even as a new transmission is aimed at Polaris.Fri, 07 Oct 2016 17:43:28 +0000Now You Can Get Regional Forecasts of Space Weatherhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/now-you-can-get-regional-forecasts-space-weather-180960713/Solar storm warnings just got a little more user-friendly.Thu, 06 Oct 2016 21:00:00 +0000Forget the Predator, Military Drones Are Getting Smaller http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/look-out-little-ones-180960679/Look out for the little ones. Tue, 04 Oct 2016 20:11:02 +0000