Daily Planet | Air & Space Magazinehttp://www.airspacemag.com/rss/daily-planet/RSS feed for Daily PlanetenTue, 25 Oct 2016 11:42:03 +0000A Dessert Only a POW Could Lovehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/dessert-only-pow-could-love-180960887/In a cook-off between aviators and astronauts, who would win?Tue, 25 Oct 2016 11:42:03 +0000Rwanda Gets Medical Delivery by Dronehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/rwanda-gets-medical-delivery-drone-180960825/But how practical is it?Mon, 24 Oct 2016 17:04:29 +0000Matterport Makes VR Navigation Easyhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/matterport-makes-it-easy-navigate-vr-180960884/Look around inside a C-5 transport, or roam the bridge of the USS <i>Midway</i>.Fri, 21 Oct 2016 20:00:00 +0000ExoMars Lander Goes Silent at the Last Minutehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/europes-first-landing-mars-180960828/The good news: The Trace Gas Orbiter arrived as planned and is running flawlessly.Thu, 20 Oct 2016 19:55:06 +0000The Drone You Command With a Wave of Your Handhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/consumer-drones-get-smarter-180960824/The Mavic Pro introduces point and click control, minus the click.Wed, 19 Oct 2016 21:08:16 +0000Marsquakes May Point the Way to Lifehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/marsquakes-may-point-way-life-180960822/Fault zones could make good habitats, according to recent research. Tue, 18 Oct 2016 18:00:00 +0000A Pilot’s Take on Drone Schoolhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/pilots-take-drone-school-180960770/Getting a commercial drone license shouldn’t be too difficult, if you already fly airplanes. Thu, 13 Oct 2016 15:20:17 +0000Lunar Craters May Be Forming Faster Than We Thoughthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/lunar-craters-may-be-forming-faster-we-thought-180960756/New images show a more active surface on the Moon.Wed, 12 Oct 2016 18:00:01 +0000Uber Looks to the Skieshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/uber-looks-skies-180960746/One day, you may be able to summon a drone.Tue, 11 Oct 2016 19:58:46 +0000Is Beaming Messages to Other Stars a Wise Idea?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/beaming-messages-other-stars-wise-idea-180960723/The debate continues, even as a new transmission is aimed at Polaris.Fri, 07 Oct 2016 17:43:28 +0000Now You Can Get Regional Forecasts of Space Weatherhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/now-you-can-get-regional-forecasts-space-weather-180960713/Solar storm warnings just got a little more user-friendly.Thu, 06 Oct 2016 21:00:00 +0000Forget the Predator, Military Drones Are Getting Smaller http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/look-out-little-ones-180960679/Look out for the little ones. Tue, 04 Oct 2016 20:11:02 +0000Farewell, Rosettahttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/farewell-rosetta-180960672/The comet mission ends with a last hurrah.Mon, 03 Oct 2016 19:12:35 +0000NASA Wants Ideas for the Next Electric Airplanehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/air-electric-180960646/Looking beyond the X-57.Thu, 29 Sep 2016 20:40:09 +0000Did SpaceX Just Pass NASA on the Road to Mars?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/did-spacex-just-pass-nasa-road-mars-180960629/Elon Musk’s biggest, boldest plan yet.Wed, 28 Sep 2016 18:05:18 +0000South Korea’s 2018 Lunar Missionhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/korea-plans-lunar-mission-2018-180960588/Another nation joins the international movement to the Moon.Mon, 26 Sep 2016 17:25:44 +0000Inside Hangar Onehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/inside-hangar-one-180960562/ Thu, 22 Sep 2016 18:25:56 +0000Methane from Meteorites? Maybe Not.http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/methane-meteorites-maybe-not-180960509/A challenge to a new hypothesis, and a great example of how science works. Tue, 20 Sep 2016 15:42:19 +0000Jeff Bezos’ Simple Two-Step Planhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/jeff-bezos-simple-two-step-plan-180960498/Revolutionizing online shopping wasn’t challenging enough, apparently.Fri, 16 Sep 2016 19:00:12 +0000China Prepares for First Astronaut Flight in Three Yearshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/china-readies-first-astronaut-flight-three-years-180960468/Tiangong-2 marks another step toward a long-term space station.Wed, 14 Sep 2016 21:21:57 +0000Gaia’s Billion-Star Atlas Will Revolutionize Astronomyhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/gaias-billion-star-atlas-will-revolutionize-astronomy-180960461/The ultimate roadmap of our galaxy is now online.Wed, 14 Sep 2016 18:10:44 +0000Virgin Galactic Gets Back to Flyinghttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/virgin-galactic-gets-back-flying-180960441/<i>Unity</i> picks up where the space tourism company left off in 2014. Tue, 13 Sep 2016 19:42:56 +0000Martian Methane May Come From Cometshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/martian-methane-may-come-comets-180960428/A new explanation for one of planetary science’s big mysteries.Tue, 13 Sep 2016 15:06:54 +0000Lowering the Cost of Human Spaceflighthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/lowering-cost-human-spaceflight-180960420/Three ways to make things cheaper.Mon, 12 Sep 2016 19:00:00 +0000A Boost for Astrobiology in Germanyhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/boost-astrobiology-germany-180960375/A new society dedicated to studying life on other worlds. Thu, 08 Sep 2016 18:09:51 +0000Filmmaker Adam Nimoy’s Homage to His Famous Dadhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/son-spock-180960311/The new documentary, <em>For the Love of Spock,</em> premieres Friday.Wed, 07 Sep 2016 19:42:07 +0000Bad Day at Pad 40http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/bad-day-pad-40-180960333/SpaceX loses a rocket, and some of its momentum.Fri, 02 Sep 2016 12:30:00 +0000The Stratotanker Turns 60http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/stratotanker-turns-60-180960302/The KC-135 aerial refueling aircraft made its first flight on August 31, 1956.Wed, 31 Aug 2016 20:22:59 +0000So You’ve Heard a Potential Alien Signal. How Do You Tell the World?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/so-youve-heard-potential-seti-signal-how-do-you-tell-world-180960299/The hazards of going public in the face of uncertainty.Tue, 30 Aug 2016 21:18:12 +0000‘That’s What Happens When You Send Up a Microbiologist’http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/s-what-happens-when-you-send-microbiologist-station-180960268/Scientist-turned-astronaut Kate Rubins brings her lab experience to orbit.Fri, 26 Aug 2016 16:00:41 +0000