Daily Planet | Air & Space Magazinehttp://www.airspacemag.com/rss/daily-planet/RSS feed for Daily PlanetenMon, 28 Jul 2014 18:46:29 +0000Prospecting the Moon’s Poleshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/prospecting-moons-poles-180952182/An early look at NASA plans to start assaying lunar resources.Mon, 28 Jul 2014 18:46:29 +0000Rosetta’s Comet Has a Shiny Necklacehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/rosettas-comet-has-shiny-necklace-180952157/New pictures show a bright “neck” where the comet’s two pieces join.Thu, 24 Jul 2014 20:15:32 +0000Apollo 15 and The Power of Inspirationhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/apollo-15-and-power-inspiration-180952095/Finding a career in the mountains of the MoonSat, 19 Jul 2014 13:38:24 +0000A Reality Check for 3D Printing in Spacehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/reality-check-3d-printing-space-180952087/A National Research Council study tries to rein in the hype.Fri, 18 Jul 2014 15:54:32 +0000Israel’s Iron Dome Gets Boost in Funding After Missile Attackshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/israels-iron-dome-gets-more-funding-missiles-rain-down-180952077/A U.S. lawmaker says simply, “It works.”Thu, 17 Jul 2014 22:26:43 +0000What If We Do Find Extraterrestrial Life?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/what-if-we-do-find-extraterrestrial-life-180952025/A public symposium in Washington D.C. will take up this provocative topic. Mon, 14 Jul 2014 15:29:55 +0000Air Traffic May Double in 20 Years, While Legroom Shrinkshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/air-traffic-will-grow-20-years-legroom-will-shrink-180951972/How do you fit more passengers in fewer airplanes? Guess.Tue, 08 Jul 2014 15:11:06 +0000Plastic as a Sign of Civilizationhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/plastic-sign-civilization-180951923/We will know the extraterrestrials by their trash.Tue, 01 Jul 2014 17:22:07 +0000Will the Stratosphere Be 2020’s Hot Tourist Destination?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/will-stratosphere-be-2020s-hot-tourist-destination-180951891/Flights could begin as early as 2016.Fri, 27 Jun 2014 20:15:38 +0000Glaciers on Mars, 3.5 Billion Years Ago http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/glaciers-mars-35-billion-years-ago-180951872/New evidence that the planet was once cold, wet—and perhaps habitable.Thu, 26 Jun 2014 18:25:46 +0000To Mars! (But Not the Way We’re Going)http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/mars-not-way-were-going-180951855/Hard advice in a new report on the future of human spaceflight.Wed, 25 Jun 2014 20:31:45 +0000Fifty Shades of Darknesshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/fifty-shades-darkness-180951837/A new explanation of the Moon’s early history is more confusing than illuminating.Tue, 24 Jun 2014 19:17:31 +0000Aviation Pranks, Circa 1910http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/catalog-peculiar-inventions-180951817/If you wanted to spice up your lodge meeting at the turn of the 20th Century, the DeMoulin brothers had some suggestions.Mon, 23 Jun 2014 16:33:15 +0000Birds Make Landing on a Wire Look Easy. Now Try It With a Drone.http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/birds-make-landing-wire-look-easy-try-it-drone-180951561/If engineers can master the technique, UAVs might be able to charge themselves on power lines.Thu, 19 Jun 2014 14:10:53 +0000Neil Armstrong, College Professorhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/neil-armstrong-college-professor-180951771/An online archive highlights the astronaut’s little-known academic careerTue, 17 Jun 2014 18:44:49 +0000An Ocean—Perhaps—on Pluto’s Moon Charonhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/another-oceanperhaps-plutos-moon-charon-180951752/New Horizons may find another water world when it reaches its destination next year. Mon, 16 Jun 2014 18:18:12 +0000Flight Suits or Goggles? How Museums Decide What to Exhibithttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/how-we-choose-what-exhibit-180951639/An inside look at the choices that went into creating a Lindbergh displayTue, 10 Jun 2014 15:45:50 +0000Would Life Be More Advanced on a World Twice as Old as Earth? http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/kapteyn-b-oldest-known-exoplanet-habitable-zone-180951687/Meet Kapteyn b, the oldest known exoplanet in the habitable zone.Mon, 09 Jun 2014 14:45:03 +0000The Pilot Who Led the D-Day Invasionhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/pilot-who-led-d-day-invasion-180951679/Joel Crouch and his pathfinders were the first Americans to reach France in the early hours of June 6, 1944.Fri, 06 Jun 2014 14:22:29 +0000Gordon Swann, Geology Teacher to the Astronautshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/gordon-swann-geology-teacher-astronauts-180951646/Remembering a pioneer of lunar exploration.Tue, 03 Jun 2014 21:01:05 +0000The Inside Scoop on Marine Onehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/inside-scoop-imarine-onei-180951238/Why the “white tops” got painted white, and what exactly is a “Weelo”Mon, 02 Jun 2014 13:36:43 +0000“That Is How a 21st Century Spaceship Should Land”http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/ii-how-21st-century-spaceship-should-land-180951621/SpaceX unveils its Dragon 2 capsule—for people.Fri, 30 May 2014 20:48:28 +0000