Daily Planet | Air & Space Magazinehttp://www.airspacemag.com/rss/daily-planet/RSS feed for Daily PlanetenWed, 02 Sep 2015 20:05:55 +0000Among the Ghosts at Pearl Harbor, 70 Years After V-J Dayhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/among-ghosts-pearl-harbor-70-years-after-v-j-day-180956496/A visit to where America’s World War II began, and ended.Wed, 02 Sep 2015 20:05:55 +0000Return of the Double Eagle?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/return-double-eagle-180956490/Beam-blasting the Moon offers a clever solution to a tricky measurement.Wed, 02 Sep 2015 18:22:37 +0000Watch This Cool Time-Lapse of a Soyuz Re-Parking in Orbithttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/watch-cool-time-lapse-soyuz-reparking-orbit-180956477/A rare maneuver to make room for the next crew.Tue, 01 Sep 2015 18:36:46 +0000Life Detection Experiment Might Be Added to Europa Missionhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/life-detection-experiment-might-be-added-europa-mission-180956460/NASA leaves open the possibility of a dedicated instrument on its Jupiter-bound spacecraft.Mon, 31 Aug 2015 19:32:18 +0000Matt Damon, First Farmer on Marshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/matt-damon-first-farmer-mars-180956410/The actor discusses his role as an astronaut in the upcoming film “The Martian.”Fri, 28 Aug 2015 16:18:54 +0000Brazilian Team Claims World Racing Recordshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/brazilian-team-claims-world-racing-records-180956415/<i>Anequim</i> is now the fastest shark in the sky. Thu, 27 Aug 2015 15:41:46 +0000Watch This Dramatic Time-Lapse of Typhoon Goni Bearing Down on Japanhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/watch-dramatic-time-lapse-typhoon-goni-bearing-down-japan-180956395/A Japanese satellite catches a powerful storm in action.Tue, 25 Aug 2015 18:21:55 +0000A Race to the Stratosphere in 1933http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/race-stratosphere-1933-180956387/Long before the Cold War, Soviets and Americans dueled to reach the top of the atmosphere.Mon, 24 Aug 2015 18:28:04 +0000The Bugatti Racer Finally Takes Flighthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/bugatti-racer-finally-takes-flight-180956361/Almost 80 years after it was designed, the sleek 100p gets airborne.Fri, 21 Aug 2015 16:36:48 +0000Belka and Strelka: Space Celebritieshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/belka-and-strelka-soviet-space-celebrities-180956299/55 years ago today, two “cosmonauts” went into orbit and safely returned.Wed, 19 Aug 2015 15:42:15 +0000Dive to the USS Macon Wreckhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/dive-uss-macon-wreck-180956305/Explorers on a six-month ocean mapping voyage are diving to the sunken airship today.Tue, 18 Aug 2015 15:30:40 +0000The Ghost Army of World War IIhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/ghost-army-world-war-ii-180955617/In which a special unit used inflatable tanks, sound effects, and phony radio broadcasts to confuse the enemy.Mon, 17 Aug 2015 15:11:31 +0000Ride Along in a P-51 Mustang in This 360° Virtual Reality Videohttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/ride-along-p-51-mustang-vr-video-180956257/The future meets World War IIFri, 14 Aug 2015 17:49:35 +0000Artist Aline Rhonie Tried to Capture All of Early Aviation in a Single Paintinghttp://www.airspacemag.com/airspacemag/artist-aline-rhonie-180956198/The pilot/painter’s 126-foot mural includes 600 pilots and 268 types of aircraft.Fri, 14 Aug 2015 14:00:00 +0000First Picture of a 'Young Jupiter' Exoplanethttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/first-picture-young-jupiter-exoplanet-180956266/51 Eridani b is the youngest, smallest, and coolest exoplanet imaged yet.Thu, 13 Aug 2015 18:00:00 +0000The Most Earthlike Planet Yet Makes a Good Target for SETIhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/most-earthlike-planet-yet-makes-good-target-seti-180956233/The newly discovered world gives us a preview of what Earth may look like 1.5 billion years in the future. Tue, 11 Aug 2015 20:11:59 +0000The Man Who Solved the Mystery of Flight 901http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/man-who-solved-mystery-flight-901-180956222/Gordon Vette’s research helped explain one of history’s worst air disasters.Mon, 10 Aug 2015 18:38:08 +0000Drones on the Moonhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/drones-moon-180956187/Is it possible to explore the Moon with low-altitude flying spacecraft?Thu, 06 Aug 2015 19:46:20 +0000As the Earth Turnshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/earth-turns-180956130/Live views of our planet, from satellites near and far.Wed, 05 Aug 2015 20:03:47 +0000Airplane Droppingshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/airplane-droppings-180956153/Pieces of airplane fall from the sky more often than you’d think.Tue, 04 Aug 2015 19:00:39 +0000Google’s Future Air Forcehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/googles-future-air-force-180956113/Before the Internet giant starts flying delivery drones, it has to solve another problem: cheap position tracking.Thu, 30 Jul 2015 18:18:33 +0000SpaceShipTwo Crash Was Due to Pilot Error, and a Lapse in Safety Culturehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/spaceshiptwo-crash-was-due-pilot-error-and-lapse-safety-culture-180956096/The company running the suborbital vehicle’s test program failed to pay enough attention to the possibility of human error.Tue, 28 Jul 2015 20:41:51 +0000Nanotechnology + Small Satellites = Big Returnshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/nanotechnology-small-satellites-big-returns-180956082/A NASA study group hopes to build powerful science instruments for the next generation of CubeSats.Mon, 27 Jul 2015 22:05:02 +0000In Rural Virginia, a Drone Makes the First Legal U.S. Package Deliveryhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/rural-virginia-drone-makes-first-legal-us-package-delivery-180956053/Advocates call it a “Kitty Hawk moment” for the flying package business.Fri, 24 Jul 2015 17:58:42 +0000Pilots vs. Poachershttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/pilots-vs-poachers-180955764/The future of elephant survival may depend, in part, on aerial patrols.Wed, 22 Jul 2015 11:14:52 +0000Even Neil Armstrong Gets a Kickstarter Campaignhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/even-neil-armstrong-gets-kickstarter-campaign-180955957/Smithsonian’s first crowdsourcing project will help digitize the famous Apollo 11 spacesuit. Mon, 20 Jul 2015 09:00:00 +0000Selecting a Landing Site for Humans on Marshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/selecting-landing-site-humans-mars-180955948/NASA takes a small step toward a big decision.Fri, 17 Jul 2015 16:00:00 +0000Seventy Years After the Trinity Test, There Are 16,000 Nuclear Weapons in the Worldhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/70th-anniversary-trinity-test-there-are-16000-nuclear-weapons-world-180955944/And it all started with three explosions in the summer of 1945.Thu, 16 Jul 2015 20:21:19 +0000Swirling Controversyhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/swirling-controversy-180955939/The origins of strange swirl-like markings on the lunar surface are still mysterious.Thu, 16 Jul 2015 11:59:18 +0000Stowaways on New Horizonshttp://www.airspacemag.com/blogs/stowaways-new-horizons-180955932/Three not-so-official plaques made it all the way to Pluto.Wed, 15 Jul 2015 18:49:16 +0000Are These 1909 Photos the Oldest Pictures of Pluto?http://www.airspacemag.com/airspacemag/are-these-1909-photos-oldest-known-pictures-pluto-180955930/Maybe.Wed, 15 Jul 2015 16:07:49 +0000Hello Again, Comrades! (Здравствуйте еще раз, товарищи!)http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/hello-again-comrades-zdravstvujte-eshe-raz-tovarishi-180955876/The U.S. and Russia share a long flight to commemorate a long history.Tue, 14 Jul 2015 13:45:29 +0000Any More Big Planets Out There?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/are-there-other-big-planets-out-there-180955913/Pluto is not the only large object beyond Neptune.Mon, 13 Jul 2015 21:54:59 +0000Pluto’s Naming Gamehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/plutos-naming-game-180955892/New Horizons is about to discover a mess of new planetary features. What will we call them?Fri, 10 Jul 2015 17:44:04 +0000Thoughts on a Midair Collisionhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/thoughts-midair-collision-180955869/What may have gone wrong in the sky over Charleston.Thu, 09 Jul 2015 17:21:16 +0000An Aircraft Carrier Worthy of a Superherohttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/aircraft-carrier-worthy-superhero-180955667/Geoffrey Pyke’s ingenious carrier made of ice was like something out of a comic strip.Wed, 08 Jul 2015 13:52:35 +0000SETI and the Rise of the Machineshttp://www.airspacemag.com/airspacemag/seti-and-rise-machines-180955834/Non-biological intelligence offers another possible solution to the Fermi Paradox.Mon, 06 Jul 2015 20:06:57 +0000