Daily Planet | Air & Space Magazinehttp://www.airspacemag.com/rss/daily-planet/RSS feed for Daily PlanetenThu, 21 Aug 2014 18:17:17 +0000Scientists Find Life in an Antarctic Lakehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/scientists-find-life-frozen-antarctic-lake-180952439/ …a place not unlike Jupiter’s moon EuropaThu, 21 Aug 2014 18:17:17 +0000The Dusty Gems of Pimahttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/dusty-gems-pima-180952371/Tucson’s famous air and space museum was well worth a stop on my western tour.Mon, 18 Aug 2014 16:01:25 +0000“Miracle on the Hudson” Hero Gets a Dunking at Oshkoshhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/miracle-hudson-hero-gets-dunking-oshkosh-180952299/...by one of his former passengersFri, 08 Aug 2014 19:17:17 +0000Scientists Find Life in a Lake of Oilhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/life-pool-oil-180952281/And that may have implications for Saturn’s moon TitanThu, 07 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000Moon First—Mine the Asteroids Laterhttp://www.airspacemag.com/articles/moon-firstmine-asteroids-later-180952272/Let’s learn how to extract space resources closer to home.Wed, 06 Aug 2014 19:04:10 +0000The First Close-Up Photos of the Moonhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/first-close-photos-moon-180952185/Fifty years ago this week, Ranger 7 showed us what the lunar surface looks like.Wed, 30 Jul 2014 19:10:23 +0000Suicide by Airplane: It’s Rare, But It Happenshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/suicide-airplane-its-rare-it-happens-180952198/A new study identifies 24 suspected U.S. cases of “aircraft-assisted” suicide over the past 20 years.Tue, 29 Jul 2014 18:30:51 +0000Prospecting the Moon’s Poleshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/prospecting-moons-poles-180952182/An early look at NASA plans to start assaying lunar resources.Mon, 28 Jul 2014 18:46:29 +0000Rosetta’s Comet Has a Shiny Necklacehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/rosettas-comet-has-shiny-necklace-180952157/New pictures show a bright “neck” where the comet’s two pieces join.Thu, 24 Jul 2014 20:15:32 +0000Apollo 15 and The Power of Inspirationhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/apollo-15-and-power-inspiration-180952095/Finding a career in the mountains of the MoonSat, 19 Jul 2014 13:38:24 +0000A Reality Check for 3D Printing in Spacehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/reality-check-3d-printing-space-180952087/A National Research Council study tries to rein in the hype.Fri, 18 Jul 2014 15:54:32 +0000Israel’s Iron Dome Gets Boost in Funding After Missile Attackshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/israels-iron-dome-gets-more-funding-missiles-rain-down-180952077/A U.S. lawmaker says simply, “It works.”Thu, 17 Jul 2014 22:26:43 +0000What If We Do Find Extraterrestrial Life?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/what-if-we-do-find-extraterrestrial-life-180952025/A public symposium in Washington D.C. will take up this provocative topic. Mon, 14 Jul 2014 15:29:55 +0000Air Traffic May Double in 20 Years, While Legroom Shrinkshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/air-traffic-will-grow-20-years-legroom-will-shrink-180951972/How do you fit more passengers in fewer airplanes? Guess.Tue, 08 Jul 2014 15:11:06 +0000Plastic as a Sign of Civilizationhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/plastic-sign-civilization-180951923/We will know the extraterrestrials by their trash.Tue, 01 Jul 2014 17:22:07 +0000Will the Stratosphere Be 2020’s Hot Tourist Destination?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/will-stratosphere-be-2020s-hot-tourist-destination-180951891/Flights could begin as early as 2016.Fri, 27 Jun 2014 20:15:38 +0000Glaciers on Mars, 3.5 Billion Years Ago http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/glaciers-mars-35-billion-years-ago-180951872/New evidence that the planet was once cold, wet—and perhaps habitable.Thu, 26 Jun 2014 18:25:46 +0000To Mars! (But Not the Way We’re Going)http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/mars-not-way-were-going-180951855/Hard advice in a new report on the future of human spaceflight.Wed, 25 Jun 2014 20:31:45 +0000Fifty Shades of Darknesshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/fifty-shades-darkness-180951837/A new explanation of the Moon’s early history is more confusing than illuminating.Tue, 24 Jun 2014 19:17:31 +0000