Daily Planet | Air & Space Magazinehttp://www.airspacemag.com/rss/daily-planet/RSS feed for Daily PlanetenFri, 29 Aug 2014 13:20:13 +0000Time-Lapse of Cygnus Departing the Space Stationhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/time-lapse-cygnus-departing-space-station-180952522/Astronauts say goodbye to their supply ship after a month in orbit.Fri, 29 Aug 2014 13:20:13 +0000Alien Life May Thrive on an Exotic Kind of Carbon Dioxidehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/alien-life-may-thrive-exotic-kind-carbon-dioxide-180952500/The familiar gas would have not-so-familiar properties on other planets.Thu, 28 Aug 2014 13:34:35 +0000A Tour of the Boneyardhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/tour-boneyard-180952460/The aircraft retirement home in Arizona is well worth a visit.Mon, 25 Aug 2014 14:10:26 +0000Scientists Find Life in an Antarctic Lakehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/scientists-find-life-frozen-antarctic-lake-180952439/ …a place not unlike Jupiter’s moon EuropaThu, 21 Aug 2014 18:17:17 +0000The Dusty Gems of Pimahttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/dusty-gems-pima-180952371/Tucson’s famous air and space museum was well worth a stop on my western tour.Mon, 18 Aug 2014 16:01:25 +0000“Miracle on the Hudson” Hero Gets a Dunking at Oshkoshhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/miracle-hudson-hero-gets-dunking-oshkosh-180952299/...by one of his former passengersFri, 08 Aug 2014 19:17:17 +0000Life in a Lake of Oilhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/life-pool-oil-180952281/And that may have implications for Saturn’s moon TitanThu, 07 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000Moon First—Mine the Asteroids Laterhttp://www.airspacemag.com/articles/moon-firstmine-asteroids-later-180952272/Let’s learn how to extract space resources closer to home.Wed, 06 Aug 2014 19:04:10 +0000The First Close-Up Photos of the Moonhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/first-close-photos-moon-180952185/Fifty years ago this week, Ranger 7 showed us what the lunar surface looks like.Wed, 30 Jul 2014 19:10:23 +0000Suicide by Airplane: It’s Rare, But It Happenshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/suicide-airplane-its-rare-it-happens-180952198/A new study identifies 24 suspected U.S. cases of “aircraft-assisted” suicide over the past 20 years.Tue, 29 Jul 2014 18:30:51 +0000Prospecting the Moon’s Poleshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/prospecting-moons-poles-180952182/An early look at NASA plans to start assaying lunar resources.Mon, 28 Jul 2014 18:46:29 +0000Rosetta’s Comet Has a Shiny Necklacehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/rosettas-comet-has-shiny-necklace-180952157/New pictures show a bright “neck” where the comet’s two pieces join.Thu, 24 Jul 2014 20:15:32 +0000Apollo 15 and The Power of Inspirationhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/apollo-15-and-power-inspiration-180952095/Finding a career in the mountains of the MoonSat, 19 Jul 2014 13:38:24 +0000A Reality Check for 3D Printing in Spacehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/reality-check-3d-printing-space-180952087/A National Research Council study tries to rein in the hype.Fri, 18 Jul 2014 15:54:32 +0000Israel’s Iron Dome Gets Boost in Funding After Missile Attackshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/israels-iron-dome-gets-more-funding-missiles-rain-down-180952077/A U.S. lawmaker says simply, “It works.”Thu, 17 Jul 2014 22:26:43 +0000What If We Do Find Extraterrestrial Life?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/what-if-we-do-find-extraterrestrial-life-180952025/A public symposium in Washington D.C. will take up this provocative topic. Mon, 14 Jul 2014 15:29:55 +0000Air Traffic May Double in 20 Years, While Legroom Shrinkshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/air-traffic-will-grow-20-years-legroom-will-shrink-180951972/How do you fit more passengers in fewer airplanes? Guess.Tue, 08 Jul 2014 15:11:06 +0000