Daily Planet | Air & Space Magazinehttp://www.airspacemag.com/rss/daily-planet/RSS feed for Daily PlanetenThu, 26 Mar 2015 19:38:04 +0000Mystery Solved: Mars Has Nitrateshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/mystery-solved-mars-has-nitrates-180954769/The Curiosity rover answers a long-standing question.Thu, 26 Mar 2015 19:38:04 +0000Japanese “People’s Camera” Bound for an Asteroidhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/japanese-peoples-camera-bound-asteroid-180954756/The Hayabusa 2 spacecraft includes an instrument funded through private donations.Thu, 26 Mar 2015 14:52:35 +0000Life as We Don't Know It on Titanhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/life-we-dont-know-it-titan-180954661/Cell membranes may be made of different materials on Saturn’s large moon.Thu, 19 Mar 2015 19:00:00 +0000In 1957, Two Tiny Pellets Were the First Man-made Objects to Escape Earth’s Gravityhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/1957-two-tiny-pellets-were-first-man-made-objects-escape-earths-gravity-180954622/Eccentric astrophysicist Fritz Zwicky scored his victory just 12 days after Sputnik.Wed, 18 Mar 2015 20:35:05 +0000Kids, Your Science Project Advisor is an Astronauthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/kids-your-science-project-advisor-astronaut-180954607/Michelle Ham teams students with the space travelers she once trained at NASA.Wed, 18 Mar 2015 18:15:01 +0000Watching Friday’s Eclipse—From the Stratospherehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/watch-fridays-eclipse-stratosphere-180954609/A Spanish company plans to capture first-of-its-kind video of the March 20 eclipse.Tue, 17 Mar 2015 20:09:58 +0000Weightless, Not Stirredhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/weightless-not-stirred-180954557/A Kickstarter campaign for a martini glass that works in microgravity.Fri, 13 Mar 2015 18:38:09 +0000Yutu Peers Inside the Moonhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/yutu-peers-inside-moon-180954551/Data from the Chinese Chang’E 3 lander show what’s under the lunar surface.Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:00:00 +0000Mars Once Had an Ocean—A Big Onehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/mars-once-had-ocean-big-one-180954522/Newly published results may just seal the case.Tue, 10 Mar 2015 18:44:26 +0000The Deadliest Air Raid in Historyhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/deadliest-air-raid-history-180954512/The firebombing of Tokyo 70 years ago marked the beginning of the end for Imperial Japan.Mon, 09 Mar 2015 19:31:03 +0000Sun-Powered Airplane Begins Round-The-World Flighthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/sun-powered-airplane-begins-round-world-flight-180954499/Solar Impulse is already out of gas. And that’s a good thing.Mon, 09 Mar 2015 15:46:30 +0000Journey to Space 3D Opens at IMAX Theatershttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/journey-space-3d-opens-imax-theaters-180954487/A new big-screen film documents the progress of NASA’s next big adventure.Fri, 06 Mar 2015 13:18:09 +0000NACA Founded 100 Years Agohttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/naca-founded-100-years-ago-180954461/NASA’s predecessor made aeronautical breakthroughs that changed the course of aviation history.Tue, 03 Mar 2015 21:13:03 +0000Dawn Spacecraft Closes in on Cereshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/dawn-spacecraft-closes-ceres-180954450/Soon we’ll find out what those mysterious bright spots are.Tue, 03 Mar 2015 16:40:17 +0000Even Cosmonauts Liked the Vulcan Greetinghttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/even-cosmonauts-liked-vulcan-greeting-180954446/ Tue, 03 Mar 2015 16:02:28 +0000For Service Above and Beyondhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/service-above-beyond-180954247/Pilots who won the Medal of Honor, from WWI to Vietnam.Fri, 27 Feb 2015 16:32:24 +0000Russia Installs Nanny Cam at Siberian Spaceporthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/russia-installs-nanny-cam-siberian-spaceport-180954411/Maybe public oversight can speed up construction of the Vostochny cosmodrome.Thu, 26 Feb 2015 18:44:43 +0000Earth-like Planets Might Be Rare After Allhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/earth-planets-might-be-rare-after-all-180954408/New computer simulations suggest that red dwarfs would give rise to desert planets or waterworlds.Wed, 25 Feb 2015 18:01:43 +0000Balloons of the Cold Warhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/balloons-cold-war-180951711/Operation “Winds of Freedom” used leaflet-filled balloons to fight Communism. Mon, 23 Feb 2015 16:29:12 +0000The New Silk Roadhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/new-silk-road-180954275/All paths lead back to the Middle EastThu, 19 Feb 2015 14:57:57 +0000Ancient Life on the Moon — From Earthhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/ancient-life-moon-earth-180954282/The possibility that terrestrial fossils are preserved in Moon rocks makes lunar exploration even more appealing.Mon, 16 Feb 2015 14:24:11 +0000Getting Married On the Flyhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/getting-married-fly-180954197/Couples who wed in balloons and airplanes.Thu, 12 Feb 2015 21:13:17 +0000How Could We Detect Life in Europa’s Geysers?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/life-europas-geysers-180954236/Scientists consider how to sample the spray from Jupiter’s moon.Thu, 12 Feb 2015 17:07:54 +0000European Spaceplane Test a Successhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/european-spaceplane-test-success-180954222/Reusable spacecraft splashes down in the Pacific.Wed, 11 Feb 2015 18:01:32 +0000Duke Ellington’s Ode to the First Moon Landinghttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/duke-ellingtons-ode-first-moon-landing-180954208/In 1969, the jazz composer performed a rare vocal to mark Apollo 11’s historic flight. Tue, 10 Feb 2015 20:22:34 +0000Why Are There So Few Female Pilots?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/why-are-there-so-few-female-pilots-180954115/Identifying the barriers that stop women from flying.Fri, 06 Feb 2015 18:42:29 +0000VIDEO: Hubble’s Hat Trickhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/video-hubbles-hat-trick-180954154/The space telescope captures three moons crossing the disk of Jupiter at the same time.Thu, 05 Feb 2015 15:45:14 +0000The Untold Story of U.S. Pilots Who Flew for Israel in 1948http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/untold-story-pilots-flew-israel-180954112/A new documentary introduces the American volunteers who founded Israel’s first Air Force.Wed, 04 Feb 2015 15:49:09 +0000Japan’s Small Jet Gamblehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/japans-small-jet-gamble-180954093/Can Mitsubishi succeed in the crowded regional jet market?Tue, 03 Feb 2015 16:40:48 +0000Are UAV Ready to Rock?http://www.airspacemag.com/articles/drone-advocacy-group-sponsors-ok-go-concert-washington-dc-180954050/Indie band OK Go plays pro-drone concert at DC’s legendary 9:30 Club.Fri, 30 Jan 2015 14:42:45 +0000B. Ray Hawke, Lunar Geologisthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/b-ray-hawke-lunar-geologist-180954083/Remembering a valued collaborator and friend.Thu, 29 Jan 2015 16:07:36 +0000Closing in on Mysterious Cereshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/closing-mysterious-ceres-180954068/Yet another world that may have an internal ocean.Wed, 28 Jan 2015 20:50:35 +0000