Daily Planet | Air & Space Magazinehttp://www.airspacemag.com/rss/daily-planet/RSS feed for Daily PlanetenTue, 25 Apr 2017 17:08:21 +0000Have Dinner With the Astronauts in This 360 Videohttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/french-astronaut-thomas-pesquet-posts-360-video-180963029/The latest VR footage from the space station.Tue, 25 Apr 2017 17:08:21 +0000The First Fatal Spaceflighthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/first-fatal-spaceflight-180963019/Myths and memories of Vladimir Komarov’s Soyuz 1 mission.Mon, 24 Apr 2017 20:00:00 +0000Suddenly, Alpha Centauri is a Popular Destinationhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/suddenly-alpha-centauri-popular-destination-180962996/Groups small and large set their sights on our neighboring star system.Fri, 21 Apr 2017 16:00:00 +0000Iceland on Mars?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/iceland-mars-180962978/Scientists find evidence of fire and ice in a Martian impact basin.Thu, 20 Apr 2017 13:00:00 +0000Bill Mellberg, a Clarifying Voicehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/bill-mellberg-clarifying-voice-180962969/Farewell to a wise and thoughtful commentator on space.Thu, 20 Apr 2017 12:30:00 +0000In Case of Eclipse, You Have 2 Minutes and 40 Seconds to Get the Picture Righthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/you-have-2-minutes-and-40-seconds-get-picture-right-180962915/A new book describes eclipse-watchers through history, and how many of them tried to document totality. Wed, 19 Apr 2017 16:00:31 +0000Watch an Atlas Rocket Launch in Live 360http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/watch-atlas-rocket-launch-live-360-180962934/This time it’s real-time.Tue, 18 Apr 2017 14:00:24 +0000Planet-Hunting Scientists Turn to Online Gamers For Helphttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/planet-hunting-scientists-turn-online-gamers-help-180962912/How to speed up the search for new worlds? Gamify it!Mon, 17 Apr 2017 19:35:01 +0000Keep Your Drone on a Leashhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/keep-your-drone-leash-180962889/Tethered drones aren't as well known as their free-flying counterparts, but can be more useful.Fri, 14 Apr 2017 14:00:47 +0000Hydrogen on Enceladus: Interesting, But Not Conclusive for Lifehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/hydrogen-enceladus-interesting-not-conclusive-life-180962895/Vents below the icy moon’s surface may power a biosphere, although there are other possibilities, too.Thu, 13 Apr 2017 18:00:00 +0000The Spysat and the Shuttlehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/spysat-and-shuttle-180962872/On the first space shuttle mission in 1981, NASA called on a secret eye in the sky.Wed, 12 Apr 2017 14:00:00 +0000Georgy Grechko, 1931-2017http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/georgy-grechko-1931-2017-180962850/Once the record holder for time spent in orbit, the cosmonaut’s career ranged from Sputnik to space stations to science fiction. Mon, 10 Apr 2017 19:15:00 +0000New Play <em>Ad Astra</em> Plumbs the Mystery of Wernher von Braunhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/new-play-emad-astraem-plumbs-mystery-wernher-von-braun-180962807/The story of a visionary who turned a blind eye to human suffering.Fri, 07 Apr 2017 15:30:00 +0000The French Are Coming!http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/french-are-coming-180962806/The Patrouille de France performance team graces American skies this airshow season.Wed, 05 Apr 2017 19:00:00 +0000If That Slick Drone Video Looks Too Good to Be True, It Probably Ishttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/slick-drone-video-vaporware-180962790/Some of YouTube’s best robots turn out to be vaporware. Tue, 04 Apr 2017 19:55:34 +0000And the Winners of the NY City Drone Film Festival Are...http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/2017-nyc-drone-film-festival-winners-announced-180962707/Watch the best drone filmography of the year.Fri, 31 Mar 2017 19:29:17 +0000The Airport Terminal So Beautiful It’s Reopening as a Hotelhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/engineering-twa-terminal-180962324/Eero Saarinen's birdlike TWA terminal brought aesthetics to air travel.Wed, 29 Mar 2017 19:30:11 +0000After the Asteroid Impacthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/after-asteroid-impact-180962688/Following the mass extinction 66 million years ago, life bounced back faster than expected.Tue, 28 Mar 2017 15:18:32 +0000Quadcopters Go For a Better Bird Counthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/drones-birds-180962661/Ecologists are field-testing drones to record birdsong.Fri, 24 Mar 2017 19:00:00 +0000Here’s What May Be Behind the Laptop Ban on International Flightshttp://www.airspacemag.com/airspacemag/us-and-uk-ban-passenger-laptops-some-flights-middle-east-and-north-africa-180962629/The threat is real, but the implementation raises a few questions.Wed, 22 Mar 2017 18:30:02 +0000Want To Make Mars Livable? Bring Back Its Magnetic Fieldhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/want-make-mars-more-livable-bring-back-its-magnetic-field-180962610/A novel way to terraform the Red Planet.Tue, 21 Mar 2017 17:00:00 +0000Where Was Dark Matter in the Early Universe?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/where-was-dark-matter-early-universe-180962583/Observations of early-forming galaxies shows they're pretty...normal. And that's unexpected.Fri, 17 Mar 2017 19:22:55 +0000Attack of the Drone-Snatching Eagleshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/attack-drone-snatching-eagles-180962543/A natural solution to a growing threatFri, 17 Mar 2017 14:00:00 +0000How the “Suicide Squad” Turned Into One of the World’s First Rocket Companieshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/how-suicide-squad-became-one-worlds-first-rocket-companies-180962548/Aerojet celebrates its 75th anniversary.Thu, 16 Mar 2017 20:55:13 +0000If You Build It, They Will Comehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/if-you-build-it-they-will-come-180962546/Forty-five years after the last Moon landing, it’s time to stop talking and start doing again.Wed, 15 Mar 2017 18:00:36 +0000The Ultimate Space Telescope Would Use the Sun as a Gravitational Lenshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/ultimate-space-telescope-would-use-sun-lens-180962499/An old idea gets new attention.Tue, 14 Mar 2017 12:00:00 +0000Space Station VR Experience Released for Oculus Rifthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/space-station-vr-experience-released-oculus-rift-180962511/For now you’ll need one of those pricey headsets, but other versions are on the way.Mon, 13 Mar 2017 20:07:12 +0000The Drone That Mimics Spaceshipshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/catch-falling-drone-180962459/Want to test communications during atmospheric reentry without risking your spaceplane? There's a drone for that.Fri, 10 Mar 2017 21:30:59 +0000Flying Through the Golden Yearshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/too-old-fly-180962349/A new study looks at the relation between medication use and accidents involving older pilots.Fri, 10 Mar 2017 13:35:23 +0000The Pope’s Laundry and Other Tales of Papal Travelshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/flying-pope-180961907/TWA was Pope John Paul II’s ride during his first visit to the United States in 1979.Tue, 07 Mar 2017 20:50:47 +0000Marines, Fire Up Your Printers!http://www.airspacemag.com/articles/marines-fire-up-your-printers-180962186/Why haul spare parts into battle if you can just print them?Mon, 06 Mar 2017 20:11:16 +0000A Vision for Planetary Science in 2050http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/vision-planetary-science-2050-180962366/We need to dream, and to boldly go where no one has gone before.Fri, 03 Mar 2017 14:00:00 +0000To the Moon in 2026!http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/moon-2026-180962344/A goal for the nation’s 250th birthday?Wed, 01 Mar 2017 16:42:25 +0000Could Alien Life Be Hidden All Around Us?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/could-alien-life-be-hidden-all-around-us-180962328/Thoughts about dark matter biology and a shadow biosphere.Tue, 28 Feb 2017 21:00:12 +0000Are Dubai’s Drone Taxis For Real?http://www.airspacemag.com/articles/fly-through-air-greatest-ease-180962272/Passenger drone service is poised to begin, but there are still a lot of unanswered questions.Mon, 27 Feb 2017 19:38:04 +0000