Daily Planet | Air & Space Magazinehttp://www.airspacemag.com/rss/daily-planet/RSS feed for Daily PlanetenThu, 30 Jun 2016 18:37:44 +0000Can UAV Designers Learn From Soaring Birds?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/what-can-uavs-learn-soaring-birds-180959581/Frigates use cumulus clouds as a kind of up elevator.Thu, 30 Jun 2016 18:37:44 +0000The Mystery of Tabby’s Starhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/mystery-tabbys-star-180959615/A Kickstarter campaign to study one of astronomy’s most puzzling objects.Wed, 29 Jun 2016 20:41:58 +0000Happy 40th Birthday, National Air and Space Museum!http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/happy-birthday-national-air-and-space-museum-180959588/After a two-year renovation, the Boeing Milestones of Flight Hall reopens July 1.Tue, 28 Jun 2016 16:16:58 +0000Growable Spacecraft: A Solution to Artificial Gravity?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/growable-spacecraft-solution-artificial-gravity-180959584/Modules made of tough plastic may be the next big thing in space construction.Tue, 28 Jun 2016 12:57:51 +0000New Chinese Spaceport Prepares for First Launchhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/new-chinese-spaceport-prepares-first-launch-180959556/Wenchang is set to become the country’s Cape Canaveral.Fri, 24 Jun 2016 15:48:11 +0000At Long Last, New FAA Rules for Droneshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/long-last-new-faa-rules-drones-180959544/Commercial operators won’t need a pilot’s license after all. Thu, 23 Jun 2016 16:02:48 +0000Delta Air Lines, Jennifer Lopez, and the Middle East Threehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/delta-airlines-jennifer-lopez-and-middle-east-three-180959309/Qatar Airways receives a frosty welcome in sunny Atlanta.Wed, 22 Jun 2016 18:18:52 +0000Air & Space Quiz: Test Your Knowledge of Airline Slang http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/air-space-quiz-test-your-knowledge-aviation-slang-180959474/ Tue, 21 Jun 2016 16:34:31 +0000<em>Star Trek</em>’s Anton Yelchin Killed in Bizarre Car Accident http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/emstar-treksem-anton-yelchin-killed-bizarre-car-accident-180959478/The 27-year-old actor played Pavel Chekov in three films, including the forthcoming <em>Star Trek Beyond.</em>Mon, 20 Jun 2016 16:04:14 +0000Mike Collins Talks About the Moon, Mars and Handling Apollo Hoaxershttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/mike-collins-talks-about-moon-mars-and-apollo-hoaxers-180959458/The veteran Apollo and Gemini astronaut is a Mars Man all the way.Thu, 16 Jun 2016 20:19:43 +0000NASA’s Kepler Telescope Takes a Close Look at One of Our Own Planetshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/nasas-kepler-telescope-takes-close-look-one-our-own-planets-180959422/New data on Neptune could help astronomers better understand brown dwarfs.Wed, 15 Jun 2016 13:05:11 +0000Ancient Fossils on the Moon?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/ancient-fossils-moon-180959356/Why new findings about lunar water may be of interest to astrobiologists.Thu, 09 Jun 2016 19:13:48 +0000Conversing With E.T.http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/conversing-et-180959306/What’s the best way to start a discussion with intelligent extraterrestrials—and is that even possible?Fri, 03 Jun 2016 16:05:26 +0000Surveyor 1, America’s First Lunar Landinghttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/surveyor-1-americas-first-lunar-landing-180959289/A past milestone…and possibly a future oneThu, 02 Jun 2016 13:00:00 +0000Air & Space Quiz: Aerobatic Maneuvers and How They Got Their Nameshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/air-space-quiz-how-did-these-aerobatic-maneuvers-get-their-names-180959278/ Wed, 01 Jun 2016 16:09:57 +0000<em>Star Trek Beyond</em> Director Justin Lin, Starship Captain and Family Manhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/emstar-trek-beyondem-director-justin-lin-boldly-going-where-others-have-gone-180959256/The filmmaker talks about the view from the bridge of the <em>Enterprise.</em>Fri, 27 May 2016 20:04:23 +0000Complex Life 1.5 Billion Years Ago?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/complex-life-15-billion-years-ago-180959247/More evidence is needed for such an extraordinary claim.Thu, 26 May 2016 19:11:29 +0000Who ‘Created’ Planetary Science?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/who-created-planetary-science-180959230/Is there a single founder of this discipline?Wed, 25 May 2016 14:49:48 +0000Air & Space Quiz: The Airplane That Beat King Kong and Other Triviahttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/test-your-knowledge-of-air-space-trivia-180958846/ Tue, 24 May 2016 13:28:28 +0000Some Words About ‘Some Words’http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/some-words-some-words-180959193/The astronauts’ preferred term for “instructions”Mon, 23 May 2016 13:08:06 +0000The New York Times Tours Plutohttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/new-york-times-goes-pluto-180959170/ Thu, 19 May 2016 13:50:56 +0000Twenty-Five Years Ago, Helen Sharman Traveled to Space as a Private Citizenhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/twenty-five-years-ago-today-briton-flew-space-first-time-180959146/A decade before space tourist Dennis Tito, the British chemist answered an ad and won the trip of a lifetime. Wed, 18 May 2016 19:13:55 +0000Air & Space Quiz: History of the Blue Angelshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/think-you-know-blue-angels-180958939/ Mon, 16 May 2016 18:23:57 +0000Virtual Tours of NASA Centershttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/virtual-tours-nasas-jpl-and-goddard-centers-180959109/ Fri, 13 May 2016 19:45:00 +0000New Insight Into the Early Atmosphere of Earthhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/new-insight-earths-early-atmosphere-180959094/The rise of oxygen in a thin Earth atmosphere and the deepening of a paradox.Fri, 13 May 2016 18:00:00 +0000Mars, Real and Imaginedhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/mars-real-and-imagined-180959060/ Wed, 11 May 2016 18:51:15 +0000Boiling Water and Jumping Sands on Marshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/boiling-water-and-jumping-sands-mars-180959046/Recurrent Slope Lineae and their secretsTue, 10 May 2016 18:00:00 +0000Air & Space Quiz: Can You Guess These 10 Strange Facts About Space?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/test-your-knowledge-space-trivia-180958949/ Mon, 09 May 2016 17:35:51 +0000Coming Soon: Swarms of Space Robots http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/coming-soon-swarms-space-robots-180959020/The next generation of small spacecraft will travel in packs.Fri, 06 May 2016 15:37:41 +0000The Strange Trip of Soyuz T-15http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/moving-day-orbit-strange-trip-soyuz-t-15-180959014/Thirty years ago two cosmonauts commuted from one space station to another, the only time that’s ever been done.Thu, 05 May 2016 20:22:29 +0000The Odds That We’re the Only Advanced Species in the Galaxy Are One in 60 Billionhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/odds-were-only-technologically-advanced-species-universe-are-extremely-low-180958975/A modified version of the Drake Equation, and what it tells us.Tue, 03 May 2016 13:47:16 +0000