Daily Planet | Air & Space Magazinehttp://www.airspacemag.com/rss/daily-planet/RSS feed for Daily PlanetenTue, 24 May 2016 13:28:28 +0000Air & Space Quiz: The Airplane That Beat King Kong and Other Triviahttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/test-your-knowledge-of-air-space-trivia-180958846/ Tue, 24 May 2016 13:28:28 +0000Some Words About ‘Some Words’http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/some-words-some-words-180959193/The astronauts’ preferred term for “instructions”Mon, 23 May 2016 13:08:06 +0000The New York Times Tours Plutohttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/new-york-times-goes-pluto-180959170/ Thu, 19 May 2016 13:50:56 +0000Twenty-Five Years Ago, Helen Sharman Traveled to Space as a Private Citizenhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/twenty-five-years-ago-today-briton-flew-space-first-time-180959146/A decade before space tourist Dennis Tito, the British chemist answered an ad and won the trip of a lifetime. Wed, 18 May 2016 19:13:55 +0000Air & Space Quiz: History of the Blue Angelshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/think-you-know-blue-angels-180958939/ Mon, 16 May 2016 18:23:57 +0000Virtual Tours of NASA Centershttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/virtual-tours-nasas-jpl-and-goddard-centers-180959109/ Fri, 13 May 2016 19:45:00 +0000New Insight Into the Early Atmosphere of Earthhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/new-insight-earths-early-atmosphere-180959094/The rise of oxygen in a thin Earth atmosphere and the deepening of a paradox.Fri, 13 May 2016 18:00:00 +0000Mars, Real and Imaginedhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/mars-real-and-imagined-180959060/ Wed, 11 May 2016 18:51:15 +0000Boiling Water and Jumping Sands on Marshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/boiling-water-and-jumping-sands-mars-180959046/Recurrent Slope Lineae and their secretsTue, 10 May 2016 18:00:00 +0000Air & Space Quiz: Can You Guess These 10 Strange Facts About Space?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/test-your-knowledge-space-trivia-180958949/ Mon, 09 May 2016 17:35:51 +0000Coming Soon: Swarms of Space Robots http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/coming-soon-swarms-space-robots-180959020/The next generation of small spacecraft will travel in packs.Fri, 06 May 2016 15:37:41 +0000The Strange Trip of Soyuz T-15http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/moving-day-orbit-strange-trip-soyuz-t-15-180959014/Thirty years ago two cosmonauts commuted from one space station to another, the only time that’s ever been done.Thu, 05 May 2016 20:22:29 +0000The Odds That We’re the Only Advanced Species in the Galaxy Are One in 60 Billionhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/odds-were-only-technologically-advanced-species-universe-are-extremely-low-180958975/A modified version of the Drake Equation, and what it tells us.Tue, 03 May 2016 13:47:16 +0000Driving a “Lunar” Rover, From the Space Stationhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/driving-lunar-rover-space-station-180958965/One small step for telepresence.Fri, 29 Apr 2016 20:10:24 +0000DARPA’s Spaceplane of the Futurehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/darpas-spaceplane-future-180958936/Wanted: One small, reusable launch vehicle for $146 million or best offer.Thu, 28 Apr 2016 21:46:22 +0000Air & Space Quiz: Test Your Knowledge of Airline Historyhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/take-our-airline-history-quiz-180958877/ Wed, 27 Apr 2016 19:05:04 +0000Watch the First Launch from Russia’s New Siberian Spaceporthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/watch-first-launch-russias-new-siberian-spaceport-tonight-180958924/Blast off of a Soyuz rocket is at 10:01 Eastern U.S. time.Tue, 26 Apr 2016 21:25:03 +0000Airbus Delivers Its First Passenger Jet Built in the U.S.http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/first-airbus-passenger-jet-built-us-be-delivered-today-180958879/The European company’s new plant in Alabama ships its first product.Mon, 25 Apr 2016 19:00:49 +0000Lunar Resources: Beyond the Fringehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/lunar-resources-beyond-fringe-180958896/A recent meeting in London suggests that more people are coming to accept the idea of using space resources.Mon, 25 Apr 2016 17:22:42 +0000The Forgotten Sport of Balloon Jumpinghttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/sport-balloon-jumping-180958805/For some reason this bizarre pastime never really took off.Fri, 22 Apr 2016 19:49:44 +0000Dust From the Great Beyondhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/dust-great-beyond-180958851/Interstellar grains seen by the Cassini spacecraft lend support to the old panspermia hypothesis.Thu, 21 Apr 2016 16:58:09 +0000Lightning Strikes for the First Timehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/lightning-strikes-first-time-180958853/Aurora’s X-plane takes to the air.Wed, 20 Apr 2016 20:02:02 +0000Future E-Gliders Could “Fly” on Airless Worlds http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/future-e-gliders-could-fly-airless-worlds-180958811/A NASA advanced concepts grant explores aeronautics without the aero.Mon, 18 Apr 2016 17:48:25 +0000Historic Airplane Competition To Skip Reno, But There’s Always Next Yearhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/historic-airplane-competition-skip-reno-theres-always-next-year-180958770/If past winners are any guide, some of the most magnificent vintage aircraft flying today will compete for awards in 2017.Fri, 15 Apr 2016 19:40:46 +0000What Would You Have Put on Voyager’s Golden Record?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/what-would-you-have-put-voyagers-golden-record-180958773/An author puts together his own “Earthling mixtape” in a new book.Fri, 15 Apr 2016 15:14:31 +0000The Smithsonian Gets Its First Coast Guard Helicopterhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/museums-first-coast-guard-aircraft-arrives-180958769/The Seaguard arrives just in time for the service’s centennial of flight.Thu, 14 Apr 2016 19:03:46 +0000Splashdown, Live Via Satellitehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/splashdown-live-satellite-180958760/In 1968, getting TV broadcasts from a ship at sea was still tricky business.Wed, 13 Apr 2016 22:00:00 +0000Scientists Create Life’s Building Blocks From Just Three Ingredients http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/scientists-create-lifes-building-blocks-just-three-ingredients-180958723/Take dust and ice, add radiation, and voilà.Mon, 11 Apr 2016 17:52:53 +0000Parking Is Getting Tight at the Space Stationhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/parking-getting-tight-space-station-180958707/Someone having a party?Fri, 08 Apr 2016 19:07:24 +0000British TV Show Asks If Dogs Can Fly Airplanes and...Yes, They Canhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/dog-my-copilot-180958696/This is your captain barking.Fri, 08 Apr 2016 15:25:06 +0000Supernova Fallout Hit Earth When Human Ancestors Were Alivehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/supernova-fallout-hit-earth-when-human-ancestors-were-alive-180958679/Lucky for them, the source of the explosions was beyond the “kill distance.”Wed, 06 Apr 2016 17:00:00 +0000Wright Brothers’ Patent Application, Missing for 36 Years, Turns Up Undergroundhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/wright-brothers-patent-application-missing-36-years-turns-underground-180958655/National Archives finds document in a storage facility in Kansas.Mon, 04 Apr 2016 19:19:04 +0000Mapping Melts on the Moonhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/mapping-melted-moon-180958645/Small deposits of impact melt can help explain early lunar history, if you know where the material came from.Mon, 04 Apr 2016 15:02:32 +0000Five Airplanes That Made No Differencehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/five-airplanes-made-no-difference-180958274/Celebrating the wrong turns in aviation’s early evolution.Fri, 01 Apr 2016 12:56:49 +0000New Horizons is Still Only Halfway Through Its Download from Plutohttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/new-horizons-still-only-halfway-through-its-download-pluto-180958617/There are more pictures and data yet to come, as NASA faces a decision on the spacecraft’s future.Wed, 30 Mar 2016 21:16:18 +0000NASA’s Inflatable Room Is Almost Readyhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/nasas-inflatable-room-ready-showtime-180958585/After years of planning, the Bigelow BEAM module is due to arrive at the space station next month.Mon, 28 Mar 2016 19:49:08 +0000Bird or Superman: What’s the Best Way to Fly in Virtual Reality?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/bird-or-superman-whats-best-way-fly-virtual-reality-180958578/Like so many things, it depends.Fri, 25 Mar 2016 19:30:32 +0000