History | Air & Space Magazinehttp://www.airspacemag.com/rss/history-of-flight/RSS feed for HistoryenWed, 02 Sep 2015 20:05:55 +0000Among the Ghosts at Pearl Harbor, 70 Years After V-J Dayhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/among-ghosts-pearl-harbor-70-years-after-v-j-day-180956496/A visit to where America’s World War II began, and ended.Wed, 02 Sep 2015 20:05:55 +0000A Race to the Stratosphere in 1933http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/race-stratosphere-1933-180956387/Long before the Cold War, Soviets and Americans dueled to reach the top of the atmosphere.Mon, 24 Aug 2015 18:28:04 +0000The Bugatti Racer Finally Takes Flighthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/bugatti-racer-finally-takes-flight-180956361/Almost 80 years after it was designed, the sleek 100p gets airborne.Fri, 21 Aug 2015 16:36:48 +0000The Last Piston-Engine Dogfightshttp://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/last-piston-engine-dogfights-180956250/Corsairs against Mustangs in the skies over Central America in 1969.Thu, 20 Aug 2015 04:00:00 +0000Mementos of the Balloon Agehttp://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/mementos-balloon-age-180956238/Evelyn Kendall’s collection of early flight artifacts lands at the Museum.Thu, 20 Aug 2015 04:00:00 +0000The Cult of the Sonic Cruiserhttp://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/cult-sonic-cruiser-180956241/The airliner that never took off.Thu, 20 Aug 2015 04:00:00 +0000Where Did Max Miller Die?http://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/where-did-max-miller-die-180956242/One man’s search for the place where the U.S. Air Mail Service lost a starThu, 20 Aug 2015 04:00:00 +0000Bring the Fallen Airmen Homehttp://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/bring-fallen-airmen-home-180956243/A volunteer group helps fund searches for the missing by selling rides in the types of aircraft they once flew.Thu, 20 Aug 2015 04:00:00 +0000Where Huey Pilots Trained and Heroes Were Madehttp://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/heroes-fort-wolters-180956245/Basic training for a dangerous job.Thu, 20 Aug 2015 04:00:00 +0000Ride Along in a P-51 Mustang in This 360° Virtual Reality Videohttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/ride-along-p-51-mustang-vr-video-180956257/The future meets World War IIFri, 14 Aug 2015 17:49:35 +0000Artist Aline Rhonie Tried to Capture All of Early Aviation in a Single Paintinghttp://www.airspacemag.com/airspacemag/artist-aline-rhonie-180956198/The pilot/painter’s 126-foot mural includes 600 pilots and 268 types of aircraft.Fri, 14 Aug 2015 14:00:00 +0000The Man Who Solved the Mystery of Flight 901http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/man-who-solved-mystery-flight-901-180956222/Gordon Vette’s research helped explain one of history’s worst air disasters.Mon, 10 Aug 2015 18:38:08 +0000In 1942, the Army Built a Decoy Airfield in Virginia to Fool the Luftwaffehttp://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/army-built-decoy-airfield-virginia-180955980/Henrico County residents came to call it “The Lost City”Wed, 22 Jul 2015 19:00:00 +0000Crowdsourcing Saves D-Day’s First Airplanehttp://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/crowdsourcing-saves-ddays-first-airplane-180955983/The C-47 that led the Normandy invasion gets a reprieve.Wed, 22 Jul 2015 19:00:00 +0000The Last American Aceshttp://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/last-american-aces-180955991/Members of an exclusive club tell what it takes to make ace.Wed, 22 Jul 2015 19:00:00 +0000The Birdman of Topekahttp://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/birdman-topeka-180956005/By 1912, Albin Longren was building better airplanes than the Wrights and Curtiss.Wed, 22 Jul 2015 17:18:17 +0000Hello Again, Comrades! (Здравствуйте еще раз, товарищи!)http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/hello-again-comrades-zdravstvujte-eshe-raz-tovarishi-180955876/The U.S. and Russia share a long flight to commemorate a long history.Tue, 14 Jul 2015 13:45:29 +0000An Aircraft Carrier Worthy of a Superherohttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/aircraft-carrier-worthy-superhero-180955667/Geoffrey Pyke’s ingenious carrier made of ice was like something out of a comic strip.Wed, 08 Jul 2015 13:52:35 +0000James Salter, the Fighter Pilot’s Writerhttp://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/james-salter-fighter-pilots-writer-180955844/An excerpt from the novelist’s memoir, <i>Burning the Days.</i>Tue, 07 Jul 2015 17:35:11 +0000