History | Air & Space Magazinehttp://www.airspacemag.com/rss/history-of-flight/RSS feed for HistoryenWed, 20 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000How the 737 Got Its Hamster Mouthhttp://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/how-737-got-its-hamster-mouth-180952391/The top-selling commercial airliner engine started with a strange design.Wed, 20 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000The Great Big, Beautiful Tomorrow http://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/great-big-beautiful-tomorrow-180952395/At the 1964 World’s Fair, the Space Age led the way to world peace, happiness, and fast cars. Wed, 20 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000Captain Dave and his Ukulelehttp://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/captain-dave-and-his-ukulele-180952397/Flying around Hawaii for tips.Wed, 20 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000The Rockets That Inspired Francis Scott Keyhttp://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/rockets-inspired-francis-scott-key-180952399/We know they had a “red glare,” but what kind of rocket did the British fire in 1814?Wed, 20 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000Diary of a World War I Acehttp://www.airspacemag.com/multimedia/diary-world-war-i-ace-180952405/Air combat, prison camp, and the will to fly again.Wed, 20 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000Aviation’s Sexiest Racerhttp://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/Aviations-Sexiest-Racer-180952406/Ettore Bugatti built fast cars—and just one airplane.Wed, 20 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000The Dusty Gems of Pimahttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/dusty-gems-pima-180952371/Tucson’s famous air and space museum was well worth a stop on my western tour.Mon, 18 Aug 2014 16:01:25 +0000A Spotter’s Guide to World War I Replicashttp://www.airspacemag.com/airspacemag/spotters-guide-world-war-i-replicas-180952264/Where to see a Jenny in flightFri, 01 Aug 2014 14:17:44 +0000Secrets of the Skunk Works http://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/secrets-skunk-works-180952122/Exclusive photographs of once-classified inventions from Lockheed’s famous brain trust.Wed, 23 Jul 2014 18:00:00 +0000The Accidental Record Setter http://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/accidental-record-setter-180952128/How a moonlighting ferry pilot landed in the history books, and other trans-Pacific tales. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 18:00:00 +0000The Thrill of Flying the World’s Smallest Jethttp://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/thrill-flying-worlds-smallest-jet-180952134/Jim Bede and the 1975 BD-5 Jet TeamWed, 23 Jul 2014 18:00:00 +0000Aviation Pranks, Circa 1910http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/catalog-peculiar-inventions-180951817/If you wanted to spice up your lodge meeting at the turn of the 20th Century, the DeMoulin brothers had some suggestions.Mon, 23 Jun 2014 16:33:15 +0000