Space | Air & Space Magazinehttp://www.airspacemag.com/rss/space/RSS feed for SpaceenFri, 09 Dec 2016 21:11:48 +0000Jimmy Wyld, the Young Genius Who Jump-Started the U.S. Rocket Businesshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/jimmy-wyld-young-genius-who-jump-started-us-rocket-business-180961383/Seventy-five years ago, a bunch of amateur rocketeers from New Jersey started a small company with a big future. Fri, 09 Dec 2016 21:11:48 +0000John Glenn (1921-2016)http://www.airspacemag.com/multimedia/john-glenn-1921-2016-180961367/The passing of an American hero.Thu, 08 Dec 2016 23:00:33 +0000A Step toward Silicon Life?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/step-toward-silicon-life-180961272/Scientists have found that microbes can make chemical bonds that might—conceivably—play a role in alien biology. Fri, 02 Dec 2016 14:23:13 +0000Canadian Astronaut Will Test a New Bio-Monitor Shirt in Spacehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/canadian-astronaut-will-test-new-bio-monitor-shirt-space-180961270/Space doctors hope the “Astroskin” can replace some of those messy wires and electrodes.Thu, 01 Dec 2016 21:00:00 +0000Venus, By Way of Hawaiihttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/venus-way-hawaii-180961253/ Wed, 30 Nov 2016 20:00:00 +0000Finding Earth 2.0 Will Be Harder Than We Thoughthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/finding-earth-20-will-be-harder-than-we-thought-180961067/No such discovery can be expected within this decade.Wed, 23 Nov 2016 13:00:00 +0000Chinese Astronauts Land on the Same Day That ISS Astronauts Launchhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/chinese-astronauts-land-same-day-iss-astronauts-launch-180961166/Soyuz up, Shenzhou down.Fri, 18 Nov 2016 22:02:09 +0000Early Venusian Oceans May Have Harbored Lifehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/early-venusian-oceans-may-have-harbored-life-180961137/If so, could there still be life in the planet’s atmosphere today?Thu, 17 Nov 2016 17:00:00 +0000The Underrated Gus Grissomhttp://www.airspacemag.com/as-interview/underrated-gus-grissom-180961130/A new biography confirms that the Mercury astronaut did indeed have the right stuff.Wed, 16 Nov 2016 20:08:10 +0000From a Massachusetts Field to the Plains of Marshttp://www.airspacemag.com/as-next/massachusetts-field-plains-mars-180961116/My robot is smarter than your robot.Wed, 16 Nov 2016 17:00:00 +0000China Now Has the World’s Biggest Radio Dishhttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/chinas-fast-track-180961089/ The 500-meter telescope will be dedicated to astronomical research and SETI.Wed, 16 Nov 2016 17:00:00 +0000Apollo’s Worst Dayhttp://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/apollo-fire-50-years-180960972/Veterans of NASA’s moon program referred to it simply as “The Fire.” Did it have to happen?Wed, 16 Nov 2016 17:00:00 +0000Favorable Signs for a Lunar Returnhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/favorable-signs-lunar-return-180961083/The Moon may once again play a significant role in the U.S. space program.Mon, 14 Nov 2016 19:27:02 +0000The Thorny Devil, an Alien in Our Midsthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/thorny-devil-alien-our-midst-180961007/This lizard could teach us about survival on dry planets.Thu, 03 Nov 2016 19:00:01 +0000Pluto, So Farhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/pluto-so-far-180960990/New Horizons has finally sent down all its data from the fly-by. What have we learned about the far-away dwarf planet system?Wed, 02 Nov 2016 13:04:01 +0000A Dessert Only a POW Could Lovehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/dessert-only-pow-could-love-180960887/In a cook-off between aviators and astronauts, who would win?Tue, 25 Oct 2016 11:42:03 +0000ExoMars Lander Goes Silent at the Last Minutehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/europes-first-landing-mars-180960828/The good news: The Trace Gas Orbiter arrived as planned and is running flawlessly.Thu, 20 Oct 2016 19:55:06 +0000Marsquakes May Point the Way to Lifehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/marsquakes-may-point-way-life-180960822/Fault zones could make good habitats, according to recent research. Tue, 18 Oct 2016 18:00:00 +0000Lunar Craters May Be Forming Faster Than We Thoughthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/lunar-craters-may-be-forming-faster-we-thought-180960756/New images show a more active surface on the Moon.Wed, 12 Oct 2016 18:00:01 +0000