Space | Air & Space Magazinehttp://www.airspacemag.com/rss/space/RSS feed for SpaceenTue, 25 Apr 2017 17:08:21 +0000Have Dinner With the Astronauts in This 360 Videohttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/french-astronaut-thomas-pesquet-posts-360-video-180963029/The latest VR footage from the space station.Tue, 25 Apr 2017 17:08:21 +0000The First Fatal Spaceflighthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/first-fatal-spaceflight-180963019/Myths and memories of Vladimir Komarov’s Soyuz 1 mission.Mon, 24 Apr 2017 20:00:00 +0000Suddenly, Alpha Centauri is a Popular Destinationhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/suddenly-alpha-centauri-popular-destination-180962996/Groups small and large set their sights on our neighboring star system.Fri, 21 Apr 2017 16:00:00 +0000Iceland on Mars?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/iceland-mars-180962978/Scientists find evidence of fire and ice in a Martian impact basin.Thu, 20 Apr 2017 13:00:00 +0000Bill Mellberg, a Clarifying Voicehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/bill-mellberg-clarifying-voice-180962969/Farewell to a wise and thoughtful commentator on space.Thu, 20 Apr 2017 12:30:00 +0000In Case of Eclipse, You Have 2 Minutes and 40 Seconds to Get the Picture Righthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/you-have-2-minutes-and-40-seconds-get-picture-right-180962915/A new book describes eclipse-watchers through history, and how many of them tried to document totality. Wed, 19 Apr 2017 16:00:31 +0000Watch an Atlas Rocket Launch in Live 360http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/watch-atlas-rocket-launch-live-360-180962934/This time it’s real-time.Tue, 18 Apr 2017 14:00:24 +0000Planet-Hunting Scientists Turn to Online Gamers For Helphttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/planet-hunting-scientists-turn-online-gamers-help-180962912/How to speed up the search for new worlds? Gamify it!Mon, 17 Apr 2017 19:35:01 +0000Hydrogen on Enceladus: Interesting, But Not Conclusive for Lifehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/hydrogen-enceladus-interesting-not-conclusive-life-180962895/Vents below the icy moon’s surface may power a biosphere, although there are other possibilities, too.Thu, 13 Apr 2017 18:00:00 +0000The Spysat and the Shuttlehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/spysat-and-shuttle-180962872/On the first space shuttle mission in 1981, NASA called on a secret eye in the sky.Wed, 12 Apr 2017 14:00:00 +0000Master of Marshttp://www.airspacemag.com/as-interview/master-mars-180962851/Pete Theisinger is this year’s recipient of the National Air and Space Museum Lifetime Achievement Trophy.Tue, 11 Apr 2017 13:15:27 +0000Georgy Grechko, 1931-2017http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/georgy-grechko-1931-2017-180962850/Once the record holder for time spent in orbit, the cosmonaut’s career ranged from Sputnik to space stations to science fiction. Mon, 10 Apr 2017 19:15:00 +0000New Play <em>Ad Astra</em> Plumbs the Mystery of Wernher von Braunhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/new-play-emad-astraem-plumbs-mystery-wernher-von-braun-180962807/The story of a visionary who turned a blind eye to human suffering.Fri, 07 Apr 2017 15:30:00 +0000And the Winners of the NY City Drone Film Festival Are...http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/2017-nyc-drone-film-festival-winners-announced-180962707/Watch the best drone filmography of the year.Fri, 31 Mar 2017 19:29:17 +0000Practicing Safe Softwarehttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/practicing-safe-software-180962744/From the Gemini and Apollo programs to today's space shuttle missions, computer programmers have learned to live with bugs.Fri, 31 Mar 2017 16:20:07 +0000After the Asteroid Impacthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/after-asteroid-impact-180962688/Following the mass extinction 66 million years ago, life bounced back faster than expected.Tue, 28 Mar 2017 15:18:32 +0000Want To Make Mars Livable? Bring Back Its Magnetic Fieldhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/want-make-mars-more-livable-bring-back-its-magnetic-field-180962610/A novel way to terraform the Red Planet.Tue, 21 Mar 2017 17:00:00 +0000Scenes From a Violent Universehttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/chandras-cosmos-book-excerpt-180962403/The Chandra X-Ray Observatory watches catastrophes among the stars.Tue, 21 Mar 2017 17:00:00 +0000Will Anyone Win the Google Lunar X-PRIZE?http://www.airspacemag.com/space/moon-race-google-x-prize-180962397/One giant leap for robot kind.Tue, 21 Mar 2017 17:00:00 +0000Taking Earth’s Temperaturehttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/taking-earth-temperature-180962396/A single, precise number is harder to come up with than you’d think.Tue, 21 Mar 2017 17:00:00 +0000Sleeping Their Way to Marshttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/hibernation-for-space-voyages-180962394/For astronauts on long space voyages, the safest way to travel may be in induced hibernation.Tue, 21 Mar 2017 17:00:00 +0000Where Was Dark Matter in the Early Universe?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/where-was-dark-matter-early-universe-180962583/Observations of early-forming galaxies shows they're pretty...normal. And that's unexpected.Fri, 17 Mar 2017 19:22:55 +0000If You Build It, They Will Comehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/if-you-build-it-they-will-come-180962546/Forty-five years after the last Moon landing, it’s time to stop talking and start doing again.Wed, 15 Mar 2017 18:00:36 +0000The Ultimate Space Telescope Would Use the Sun as a Gravitational Lenshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/ultimate-space-telescope-would-use-sun-lens-180962499/An old idea gets new attention.Tue, 14 Mar 2017 12:00:00 +0000Space Station VR Experience Released for Oculus Rifthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/space-station-vr-experience-released-oculus-rift-180962511/For now you’ll need one of those pricey headsets, but other versions are on the way.Mon, 13 Mar 2017 20:07:12 +0000A Vision for Planetary Science in 2050http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/vision-planetary-science-2050-180962366/We need to dream, and to boldly go where no one has gone before.Fri, 03 Mar 2017 14:00:00 +0000To the Moon in 2026!http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/moon-2026-180962344/A goal for the nation’s 250th birthday?Wed, 01 Mar 2017 16:42:25 +0000Could Alien Life Be Hidden All Around Us?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/could-alien-life-be-hidden-all-around-us-180962328/Thoughts about dark matter biology and a shadow biosphere.Tue, 28 Feb 2017 21:00:12 +0000