Space | Air & Space Magazinehttp://www.airspacemag.com/rss/space/RSS feed for SpaceenWed, 30 Jul 2014 19:10:23 +0000The First Close-Up Photos of the Moonhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/first-close-photos-moon-180952185/Fifty years ago this week, Ranger 7 showed us what the lunar surface looks like.Wed, 30 Jul 2014 19:10:23 +0000Spaceport Westhttp://www.airspacemag.com/multimedia/spaceport-america-photo-gallery-180952172/Virgin Galactic’s future launch site rises up from the New Mexico desert.Wed, 30 Jul 2014 19:00:35 +0000Suicide by Airplane: It’s Rare, But It Happenshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/suicide-airplane-its-rare-it-happens-180952198/A new study identifies 24 suspected U.S. cases of “aircraft-assisted” suicide over the past 20 years.Tue, 29 Jul 2014 18:30:51 +0000Prospecting the Moon’s Poleshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/prospecting-moons-poles-180952182/An early look at NASA plans to start assaying lunar resources.Mon, 28 Jul 2014 18:46:29 +0000Rosetta’s Comet Has a Shiny Necklacehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/rosettas-comet-has-shiny-necklace-180952157/New pictures show a bright “neck” where the comet’s two pieces join.Thu, 24 Jul 2014 20:15:32 +0000 The Museum’s New, Revamped Planetarium http://www.airspacemag.com/space/Museums-New-Revamped-Planetarium-180952121/Bright stars and new shows at the Einstein.Wed, 23 Jul 2014 18:00:00 +0000America’s Next Spaceshiphttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/americas-next-spaceship-180952126/Designed to go where no man has gone before. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 18:00:00 +0000Al Gore’s Satellite http://www.airspacemag.com/space/al-gores-satellite-180952132/It’s almost ready for launch—even if no one wants to take credit for its resurrection.Wed, 23 Jul 2014 18:00:00 +0000Andy Weir, Author of <i>The Martian</i>http://www.airspacemag.com/as-interview/andy-weir-author-martian-180950383/A conversation with a space nerd-turned-novelist.Wed, 23 Jul 2014 16:33:34 +0000Apollo 15 and The Power of Inspirationhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/apollo-15-and-power-inspiration-180952095/Finding a career in the mountains of the MoonSat, 19 Jul 2014 13:38:24 +0000A Reality Check for 3D Printing in Spacehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/reality-check-3d-printing-space-180952087/A National Research Council study tries to rein in the hype.Fri, 18 Jul 2014 15:54:32 +0000What If We Do Find Extraterrestrial Life?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/what-if-we-do-find-extraterrestrial-life-180952025/A public symposium in Washington D.C. will take up this provocative topic. Mon, 14 Jul 2014 15:29:55 +0000Plastic as a Sign of Civilizationhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/plastic-sign-civilization-180951923/We will know the extraterrestrials by their trash.Tue, 01 Jul 2014 17:22:07 +0000Will the Stratosphere Be 2020’s Hot Tourist Destination?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/will-stratosphere-be-2020s-hot-tourist-destination-180951891/Flights could begin as early as 2016.Fri, 27 Jun 2014 20:15:38 +0000Glaciers on Mars, 3.5 Billion Years Ago http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/glaciers-mars-35-billion-years-ago-180951872/New evidence that the planet was once cold, wet—and perhaps habitable.Thu, 26 Jun 2014 18:25:46 +0000To Mars! (But Not the Way We’re Going)http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/mars-not-way-were-going-180951855/Hard advice in a new report on the future of human spaceflight.Wed, 25 Jun 2014 20:31:45 +0000Fifty Shades of Darknesshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/fifty-shades-darkness-180951837/A new explanation of the Moon’s early history is more confusing than illuminating.Tue, 24 Jun 2014 19:17:31 +0000Neil Armstrong, College Professorhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/neil-armstrong-college-professor-180951771/An online archive highlights the astronaut’s little-known academic careerTue, 17 Jun 2014 18:44:49 +0000An Ocean—Perhaps—on Pluto’s Moon Charonhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/another-oceanperhaps-plutos-moon-charon-180951752/New Horizons may find another water world when it reaches its destination next year. Mon, 16 Jun 2014 18:18:12 +0000Would Life Be More Advanced on a World Twice as Old as Earth? http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/kapteyn-b-oldest-known-exoplanet-habitable-zone-180951687/Meet Kapteyn b, the oldest known exoplanet in the habitable zone.Mon, 09 Jun 2014 14:45:03 +0000Gordon Swann, Geology Teacher to the Astronautshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/gordon-swann-geology-teacher-astronauts-180951646/Remembering a pioneer of lunar exploration.Tue, 03 Jun 2014 21:01:05 +0000The Inside Scoop on Marine Onehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/inside-scoop-imarine-onei-180951238/Why the “white tops” got painted white, and what exactly is a “Weelo”Mon, 02 Jun 2014 13:36:43 +0000