Space | Air & Space Magazinehttp://www.airspacemag.com/rss/space/RSS feed for SpaceenTue, 28 Jul 2015 20:41:51 +0000SpaceShipTwo Crash Was Due to Pilot Error, and a Lapse in Safety Culturehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/spaceshiptwo-crash-was-due-pilot-error-and-lapse-safety-culture-180956096/The company running the suborbital vehicle’s test program failed to pay enough attention to the possibility of human error.Tue, 28 Jul 2015 20:41:51 +0000Nanotechnology + Small Satellites = Big Returnshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/nanotechnology-small-satellites-big-returns-180956082/A NASA study group hopes to build powerful science instruments for the next generation of CubeSats.Mon, 27 Jul 2015 22:05:02 +0000Space $ouvenirshttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/space-souvenirs-180955981/Collectors compete for artifacts from the Apollo program.Wed, 22 Jul 2015 19:00:00 +0000How to Start a Hurricanehttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/how-start-hurricane-180955982/What makes one small eddy fizzle out, and another turn into the planet’s most destructive storm?Wed, 22 Jul 2015 19:00:00 +0000Confessions of a Station Astronauthttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/confessions-station-astronaut-180955996/Clayton Anderson talks about his new book, <i>The Ordinary Spaceman.</i>Wed, 22 Jul 2015 19:00:00 +0000Bad Day in Spacehttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/bad-day-space-180956004/Patience and frustration on the ISSWed, 22 Jul 2015 18:01:53 +0000Even Neil Armstrong Gets a Kickstarter Campaignhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/even-neil-armstrong-gets-kickstarter-campaign-180955957/Smithsonian’s first crowdsourcing project will help digitize the famous Apollo 11 spacesuit. Mon, 20 Jul 2015 09:00:00 +0000Selecting a Landing Site for Humans on Marshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/selecting-landing-site-humans-mars-180955948/NASA takes a small step toward a big decision.Fri, 17 Jul 2015 16:00:00 +0000Swirling Controversyhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/swirling-controversy-180955939/The origins of strange swirl-like markings on the lunar surface are still mysterious.Thu, 16 Jul 2015 11:59:18 +0000Stowaways on New Horizonshttp://www.airspacemag.com/blogs/stowaways-new-horizons-180955932/Three not-so-official plaques made it all the way to Pluto.Wed, 15 Jul 2015 18:49:16 +0000Are These 1909 Photos the Oldest Pictures of Pluto?http://www.airspacemag.com/airspacemag/are-these-1909-photos-oldest-known-pictures-pluto-180955930/Maybe.Wed, 15 Jul 2015 16:07:49 +0000Any More Big Planets Out There?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/are-there-other-big-planets-out-there-180955913/Pluto is not the only large object beyond Neptune.Mon, 13 Jul 2015 21:54:59 +0000Pluto’s Naming Gamehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/plutos-naming-game-180955892/New Horizons is about to discover a mess of new planetary features. What will we call them?Fri, 10 Jul 2015 17:44:04 +0000Taking Pluto’s Portraithttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/taking-plutos-portrait-180955882/Even the mighty Hubble Space Telescope has to strain to see this tiny, distant planet.Fri, 10 Jul 2015 14:24:44 +0000New Horizons at Plutohttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/new-horizons-pluto-180955859/A close encounter with the last of the “classical” planets.Wed, 08 Jul 2015 18:11:22 +0000SETI and the Rise of the Machineshttp://www.airspacemag.com/airspacemag/seti-and-rise-machines-180955834/Non-biological intelligence offers another possible solution to the Fermi Paradox.Mon, 06 Jul 2015 20:06:57 +0000Sample Return May Not Be the Best Way to Find Martian Lifehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/sample-return-may-not-be-best-way-find-martian-life-180955788/NASA’s Mars 2020 will be a great technology demonstrator, but is it right for astrobiology?Wed, 01 Jul 2015 15:46:20 +0000SpaceX Loses Dragon Cargo Ship in Launch Explosionhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/spacex-loses-dragon-cargo-ship-launch-explosion-180955748/NASA says space station logistics may have to be shuffled, but there’s no emergency.Mon, 29 Jun 2015 14:16:34 +0000What Is the Space Program Good For?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/what-value-space-program-180955720/In 1968, on the eve of the first Apollo launch, rocket pioneer Wernher von Braun gave his answer.Fri, 26 Jun 2015 12:24:49 +0000Life May Need to Take Charge of a Planet to Survivehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/life-may-need-take-charge-planet-survive-180955675/A sobering solution to Fermi’s Paradox Tue, 23 Jun 2015 16:13:50 +0000Here’s What Moving Traffic Looks Like From 250 Miles Uphttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/heres-what-traffic-looks-250-miles-180955657/Urthecast releases its first high-res video from the space station.Sat, 20 Jun 2015 12:22:11 +0000A Dust Cloud Around the Moonhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/dust-cloud-around-moon-180955624/Who ever said that space is empty?Wed, 17 Jun 2015 18:26:57 +00003,200 Miles Over Cereshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/3200-miles-over-ceres-180955614/ A JPL composite video simulates a flyover of a dwarf planet.Wed, 17 Jun 2015 18:05:35 +0000 CubeSats to the Rescue?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/cubesats-rescue-180955544/Small spacecraft will have an impact on astrobiology, although their use may be limited.Tue, 09 Jun 2015 18:26:45 +0000