Space | Air & Space Magazinehttp://www.airspacemag.com/rss/space/RSS feed for SpaceenTue, 21 Mar 2017 17:00:00 +0000Want To Make Mars Livable? Bring Back Its Magnetic Fieldhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/want-make-mars-more-livable-bring-back-its-magnetic-field-180962610/A novel way to terraform the Red Planet.Tue, 21 Mar 2017 17:00:00 +0000Scenes From a Violent Universehttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/chandras-cosmos-book-excerpt-180962403/The Chandra X-Ray Observatory watches catastrophes among the stars.Tue, 21 Mar 2017 17:00:00 +0000Will Anyone Win the Google Lunar X-PRIZE?http://www.airspacemag.com/space/moon-race-google-x-prize-180962397/One giant leap for robot kind.Tue, 21 Mar 2017 17:00:00 +0000Taking Earth’s Temperaturehttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/taking-earth-temperature-180962396/A single, precise number is harder to come up with than you’d think.Tue, 21 Mar 2017 17:00:00 +0000Sleeping Their Way to Marshttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/hibernation-for-space-voyages-180962394/For astronauts on long space voyages, the safest way to travel may be in induced hibernation.Tue, 21 Mar 2017 17:00:00 +0000Where Was Dark Matter in the Early Universe?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/where-was-dark-matter-early-universe-180962583/Observations of early-forming galaxies shows they're pretty...normal. And that's unexpected.Fri, 17 Mar 2017 19:22:55 +0000If You Build It, They Will Comehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/if-you-build-it-they-will-come-180962546/Forty-five years after the last Moon landing, it’s time to stop talking and start doing again.Wed, 15 Mar 2017 18:00:36 +0000The Ultimate Space Telescope Would Use the Sun as a Gravitational Lenshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/ultimate-space-telescope-would-use-sun-lens-180962499/An old idea gets new attention.Tue, 14 Mar 2017 12:00:00 +0000Space Station VR Experience Released for Oculus Rifthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/space-station-vr-experience-released-oculus-rift-180962511/For now you’ll need one of those pricey headsets, but other versions are on the way.Mon, 13 Mar 2017 20:07:12 +0000A Vision for Planetary Science in 2050http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/vision-planetary-science-2050-180962366/We need to dream, and to boldly go where no one has gone before.Fri, 03 Mar 2017 14:00:00 +0000To the Moon in 2026!http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/moon-2026-180962344/A goal for the nation’s 250th birthday?Wed, 01 Mar 2017 16:42:25 +0000Could Alien Life Be Hidden All Around Us?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/could-alien-life-be-hidden-all-around-us-180962328/Thoughts about dark matter biology and a shadow biosphere.Tue, 28 Feb 2017 21:00:12 +0000When it Comes to New Planets, Expect the Unexpected http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/when-it-comes-new-planets-expect-unexpected-180962271/Unfortunately, the TRAPPIST-1 planets are not the likeliest places to search for life.Thu, 23 Feb 2017 18:33:48 +0000How Venus Could Help Us Understand the New TRAPPIST-1 Planetshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/how-venus-could-help-us-understand-new-trappist-1-planets-180962267/And vice versaThu, 23 Feb 2017 17:00:00 +0000Apollo 11 Moonship To Go On Tourhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/apollo-11-artifacts-go-tour-180962247/For the next two years, the Command Module <i>Columbia</i> and other artifacts will travel the United States.Wed, 22 Feb 2017 17:00:00 +0000Cislunar Space: The Next 30 Yearshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/cislunar-space-next-30-years-180962249/United Launch Alliance has a vision.Wed, 22 Feb 2017 16:43:08 +0000Virtual Reality Comes to the Space Stationhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/virtual-reality-comes-space-station-180962244/Oculus Rift arrives, as astronauts and cosmonauts send down their first 360 videos.Tue, 21 Feb 2017 20:15:31 +0000SpaceX Launches from Historic Pad 39Ahttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/spacex-poised-launch-historic-pad-39a-180962224/Commercial rockets take center stage at Cape Canaveral.Fri, 17 Feb 2017 17:00:00 +0000Ceres Just Got A Lot More Interesting to Astrobiologistshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/ceres-just-got-lot-more-interesting-astrobiologists-180962196/Indigenous organics have been found on the largest body in the asteroid belt.Thu, 16 Feb 2017 19:00:00 +0000Planet Labs Goes For Record 88-Satellite Launchhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/planet-labs-goes-record-88-satellite-launch-180962178/The upstart remote sensing company is poised to begin daily whole-Earth photography.Tue, 14 Feb 2017 21:00:11 +0000A New Lander Concept for Europahttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/new-lander-concept-europa-180962137/Life detection would be a key part of a mission to Jupiter’s intriguing icy moon.Mon, 13 Feb 2017 16:18:23 +0000People With Frizzy Hair Are More Likely to Hear the Sound of Meteorshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/the-sound-of-meteors-180961886/That buzzing, popping, and crackling noise may be real after all.Thu, 09 Feb 2017 15:55:09 +0000Before “Hidden Figures,” There Was a Rock Opera About NASA’s Human Computershttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/hidden-figures-there-was-rock-opera-about-nasas-human-computers-180961980/Katherine Johnson’s inspirational story came to the Baltimore stage in 2015, thanks to another space scientist.Fri, 03 Feb 2017 14:00:00 +0000Oxygen is Not Enoughhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/oxygen-not-enough-180962009/To point us to a habitable planet, that is.Thu, 02 Feb 2017 21:00:00 +0000Whoever Said the Moon is the End Goal?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/whoever-said-moon-end-goal-180961943/And who decided that space is only for science?Fri, 27 Jan 2017 14:00:00 +0000The Moon May Have Had Lots of Water in the Distant Pasthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/moon-may-have-had-water-distant-past-180961906/And that raises its interest to astrobiologists.Wed, 25 Jan 2017 15:05:50 +0000