Space | Air & Space Magazinehttp://www.airspacemag.com/rss/space/RSS feed for SpaceenTue, 16 Sep 2014 22:27:11 +0000Boeing, SpaceX Win NASA Commercial Crew Awardhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/boeing-spacex-win-nasa-commercial-crew-award-180952722/The companies will work toward flying astronauts to the space station by 2017.Tue, 16 Sep 2014 22:27:11 +0000India’s Mangalyaan Spacecraft Closes In On Marshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/indias-mangalyaan-closes-mars-180952707/With hopes to become the third agency to orbit the Red Planet.Tue, 16 Sep 2014 16:02:09 +0000More Signs That Europa Could Be Habitablehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/more-signs-europa-could-be-habitable-180952683/Researchers see plate tectonic activity on a distant moon.Fri, 12 Sep 2014 16:00:00 +0000Star Trek’s U.S.S. Enterprise to Boldly Go Back to the Workshophttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/star-treks-uss-enterprise-boldly-go-back-workshop-180952633/A 49-year-old pop cultural artifact gets a much-needed restoration.Thu, 11 Sep 2014 19:43:06 +0000Space Crowdfunding: What’s the Secret?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/space-crowdfunding-whats-secret-180952649/Winners and losers among the space start-ups.Tue, 09 Sep 2014 18:05:00 +0000NASA Touts Space Station Benefits in New Video Serieshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/new-video-series-shows-how-space-station-experiments-help-people-earth-180952605/Watch how some space experiments can help people on Earth.Fri, 05 Sep 2014 15:30:44 +0000Undocumented Alienhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/undocumented-alien-180952618/Meteorite NWA5000 is beautiful – but is it from the Moon?Thu, 04 Sep 2014 19:03:23 +0000New ISS Experiment Tests Organisms’ Survival Skills in Spacehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/new-iss-experiment-tests-organisms-survival-skills-space-180952600/Biological samples will be exposed to the harsh environment outside the space station.Wed, 03 Sep 2014 18:06:23 +0000Time-Lapse of Cygnus Departing the Space Stationhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/time-lapse-cygnus-departing-space-station-180952522/Astronauts say goodbye to their supply ship after a month in orbit.Fri, 29 Aug 2014 13:20:13 +0000Alien Life May Thrive on an Exotic Kind of Carbon Dioxidehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/alien-life-may-thrive-exotic-kind-carbon-dioxide-180952500/The familiar gas would have not-so-familiar properties on other planets.Thu, 28 Aug 2014 13:34:35 +0000Scientists Find Life in an Antarctic Lakehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/scientists-find-life-frozen-antarctic-lake-180952439/ …a place not unlike Jupiter’s moon EuropaThu, 21 Aug 2014 18:17:17 +0000When Sputnik Crashed in Wisconsinhttp://www.airspacemag.com/articles/when-sputnik-crashed-wisconsin-180952388/Half a century later, the town of Manitowoc commemorates its biggest day ever.Wed, 20 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000Cubesats to the Moon (Mars and Saturn, Too)http://www.airspacemag.com/space/cubesats-moon-mars-and-saturn-too-180952389/The next generation of planetary explorers.Wed, 20 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000Where NASA Learned to Spacewalkhttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/where-nasa-learned-spacewalk-180952396/Gemini astronauts jumped into this Maryland pool to experience working in space.Wed, 20 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000Life in a Lake of Oilhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/life-pool-oil-180952281/And that may have implications for Saturn’s moon TitanThu, 07 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000Moon First—Mine the Asteroids Laterhttp://www.airspacemag.com/articles/moon-firstmine-asteroids-later-180952272/Let’s learn how to extract space resources closer to home.Wed, 06 Aug 2014 19:04:10 +0000The First Close-Up Photos of the Moonhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/first-close-photos-moon-180952185/Fifty years ago this week, Ranger 7 showed us what the lunar surface looks like.Wed, 30 Jul 2014 19:10:23 +0000Spaceport Westhttp://www.airspacemag.com/multimedia/spaceport-america-photo-gallery-180952172/Virgin Galactic’s future launch site rises up from the New Mexico desert.Wed, 30 Jul 2014 19:00:35 +0000Prospecting the Moon’s Poleshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/prospecting-moons-poles-180952182/An early look at NASA plans to start assaying lunar resources.Mon, 28 Jul 2014 18:46:29 +0000Rosetta’s Comet Has a Shiny Necklacehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/rosettas-comet-has-shiny-necklace-180952157/New pictures show a bright “neck” where the comet’s two pieces join.Thu, 24 Jul 2014 20:15:32 +0000 The Museum’s New, Revamped Planetarium http://www.airspacemag.com/space/Museums-New-Revamped-Planetarium-180952121/Bright stars and new shows at the Einstein.Wed, 23 Jul 2014 18:00:00 +0000America’s Next Spaceshiphttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/americas-next-spaceship-180952126/Designed to go where no man has gone before. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 18:00:00 +0000Al Gore’s Satellite http://www.airspacemag.com/space/al-gores-satellite-180952132/It’s almost ready for launch—even if no one wants to take credit for its resurrection.Wed, 23 Jul 2014 18:00:00 +0000Andy Weir, Author of The Martianhttp://www.airspacemag.com/as-interview/andy-weir-author-martian-180950383/A conversation with a space nerd-turned-novelist.Wed, 23 Jul 2014 16:33:34 +0000