Space | Air & Space Magazinehttp://www.airspacemag.com/rss/space/RSS feed for SpaceenFri, 17 Feb 2017 17:00:00 +0000SpaceX Launches from Historic Pad 39Ahttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/spacex-poised-launch-historic-pad-39a-180962224/Commercial rockets take center stage at Cape Canaveral.Fri, 17 Feb 2017 17:00:00 +0000Ceres Just Got A Lot More Interesting to Astrobiologistshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/ceres-just-got-lot-more-interesting-astrobiologists-180962196/Indigenous organics have been found on the largest body in the asteroid belt.Thu, 16 Feb 2017 19:00:00 +0000Planet Labs Goes For Record 88-Satellite Launchhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/planet-labs-goes-record-88-satellite-launch-180962178/The upstart remote sensing company is poised to begin daily whole-Earth photography.Tue, 14 Feb 2017 21:00:11 +0000A New Lander Concept for Europahttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/new-lander-concept-europa-180962137/Life detection would be a key part of a mission to Jupiter’s intriguing icy moon.Mon, 13 Feb 2017 16:18:23 +0000People With Frizzy Hair Are More Likely to Hear the Sound of Meteorshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/the-sound-of-meteors-180961886/That buzzing, popping, and crackling noise may be real after all.Thu, 09 Feb 2017 15:55:09 +0000Before “Hidden Figures,” There Was a Rock Opera About NASA’s Human Computershttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/hidden-figures-there-was-rock-opera-about-nasas-human-computers-180961980/Katherine Johnson’s inspirational story came to the Baltimore stage in 2015, thanks to another space scientist.Fri, 03 Feb 2017 14:00:00 +0000Oxygen is Not Enoughhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/oxygen-not-enough-180962009/To point us to a habitable planet, that is.Thu, 02 Feb 2017 21:00:00 +0000Whoever Said the Moon is the End Goal?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/whoever-said-moon-end-goal-180961943/And who decided that space is only for science?Fri, 27 Jan 2017 14:00:00 +0000The Moon May Have Had Lots of Water in the Distant Pasthttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/moon-may-have-had-water-distant-past-180961906/And that raises its interest to astrobiologists.Wed, 25 Jan 2017 15:05:50 +0000Made by Nerds, for Nerdshttp://www.airspacemag.com/as-next/made-nerds-nerds-180961856/These sisters came up with nutritious snacks for hungry astronauts.Wed, 18 Jan 2017 20:41:52 +0000Systems Engineer, Northrop Grummanhttp://www.airspacemag.com/as-next/systems-engineer-northrop-grumman-180961855/On very complex systems, engineers make sure all the components work well together.Wed, 18 Jan 2017 20:25:29 +0000The Highest Jumphttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/04_fm2017-alan-eustaces-jump-1-180961678/The computer scientist who pulled off a world-record skydive is still wondering: Could it be done from orbit?Wed, 18 Jan 2017 17:00:00 +0000The Voyages of John Glennhttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/11_fm2017_orbits-of-john-glenn-180961676/Two trips to space, 36 years apart.Wed, 18 Jan 2017 17:00:00 +0000The First Sighting of a Black Holehttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/12_fm2017-mysteries-of-sagittarius-a-180961673/We know one lurks at the center of the Milky Way, but to these astronomers, seeing will be believing.Wed, 18 Jan 2017 17:00:00 +0000The Pipeline That Measured the Speed of Lighthttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/18_fm2017-oo-180961669/ In 1931, a corrugated steel tunnel figured in one of history’s greatest science experiments.Wed, 18 Jan 2017 17:00:00 +0000Are Humans Freaks of Nature?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/are-humans-freaks-nature-180961785/The small but significant gap between humans and other animals on Earth may shed light on why we see no alien visitors.Fri, 13 Jan 2017 13:39:18 +0000These Tiny Creatures Can Withstand an Astonishing 16,000 Gshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/these-tiny-creatures-can-withstand-astonishing-16000-gs-180961717/The ultimate animal survivor would still have a hard time on other planets.Fri, 06 Jan 2017 15:30:00 +0000China’s Moon Missions Are Anything But Pointlesshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/chinas-moon-missions-are-anything-pointless-180961633/The value of the nation’s lunar robotic missions goes beyond science.Tue, 03 Jan 2017 16:10:57 +0000The Martian RVhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/martian-rv-180961586/What says home better than a 1976 Airstream trailer?Thu, 29 Dec 2016 15:18:13 +0000Vera Rubin Made “Dark Matter” a Household Phrasehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/vera-rubin-made-dark-matter-household-phrase-180961581/Years later, the astronomer recalled her “incredible delight” in the discovery for which she was most famous.Wed, 28 Dec 2016 18:00:00 +0000