Space | Air & Space Magazinehttp://www.airspacemag.com/rss/space/RSS feed for SpaceenThu, 25 Sep 2014 20:47:15 +0000The Making of SpaceShipTwohttp://www.airspacemag.com/as-interview/making-spaceshiptwo-180952849/George Whitesides will lead Virgin Galactic’s first customers into space.Thu, 25 Sep 2014 20:47:15 +0000To Find Alien Life, Expect the Unexpectedhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/find-alien-life-expect-unexpected-180952853/Highlights of a Library of Congress symposium on first contact with extraterrestrial lifeThu, 25 Sep 2014 18:56:45 +0000Untetheredhttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/untethered-180952792/The MMU may have been the coolest space vehicle ever. So why did its career end as soon as it began?Wed, 24 Sep 2014 18:00:00 +0000The Mars Dilemmahttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/mars-dilemma-180952797/When astronauts finally reach Mars, will they be able to land?Wed, 24 Sep 2014 18:00:00 +0000Tools for Martian Survivalhttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/tools-martian-survival-180952798/A test program for two planets.Wed, 24 Sep 2014 18:00:00 +0000Bigger Than Saturn, Bound for Deep Spacehttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/bigger-saturn-bound-deep-space-180952802/Part space shuttle, part Apollo, the Space Launch System will be the most powerful rocket ever built. Will it be the best?Wed, 24 Sep 2014 18:00:00 +0000“Not a Woman’s Profession”http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/not-womans-profession-180952807/Elena Serova overcame more than the rigors of cosmonaut training to reach space from today’s conservative Russia.Mon, 22 Sep 2014 20:32:54 +0000Fitness Testing for Marshttp://www.airspacemag.com/articles/fitness-testing-mars-180952760/How to ready a robot for a half-billion-mile voyageSat, 20 Sep 2014 20:23:37 +0000Half of All First-Time Cubesat Projects End in Failurehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/cubesats-are-great-even-if-they-die-you-180952745/Half of all first-time Cubesat projects end in failure. And that’s not entirely bad.Thu, 18 Sep 2014 17:12:25 +0000Boeing, SpaceX Win NASA Commercial Crew Awardhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/boeing-spacex-win-nasa-commercial-crew-award-180952722/The companies will work toward flying astronauts to the space station by 2017.Tue, 16 Sep 2014 22:27:11 +0000India’s Mangalyaan Spacecraft Closes In On Marshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/indias-mangalyaan-closes-mars-180952707/With hopes to become the third agency to orbit the Red Planet.Tue, 16 Sep 2014 16:02:09 +0000More Signs That Europa Could Be Habitablehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/more-signs-europa-could-be-habitable-180952683/Researchers see plate tectonic activity on a distant moon.Fri, 12 Sep 2014 16:00:00 +0000Star Trek’s U.S.S. Enterprise to Boldly Go Back to the Workshophttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/star-treks-uss-enterprise-boldly-go-back-workshop-180952633/A 49-year-old pop cultural artifact gets a much-needed restoration.Thu, 11 Sep 2014 19:43:06 +0000Space Crowdfunding: What’s the Secret?http://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/space-crowdfunding-whats-secret-180952649/Winners and losers among the space start-ups.Tue, 09 Sep 2014 18:05:00 +0000NASA Touts Space Station Benefits in New Video Serieshttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/new-video-series-shows-how-space-station-experiments-help-people-earth-180952605/Watch how some space experiments can help people on Earth.Fri, 05 Sep 2014 15:30:44 +0000Undocumented Alienhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/undocumented-alien-180952618/Meteorite NWA5000 is beautiful – but is it from the Moon?Thu, 04 Sep 2014 19:03:23 +0000New ISS Experiment Tests Organisms’ Survival Skills in Spacehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/new-iss-experiment-tests-organisms-survival-skills-space-180952600/Biological samples will be exposed to the harsh environment outside the space station.Wed, 03 Sep 2014 18:06:23 +0000Time-Lapse of Cygnus Departing the Space Stationhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/time-lapse-cygnus-departing-space-station-180952522/Astronauts say goodbye to their supply ship after a month in orbit.Fri, 29 Aug 2014 13:20:13 +0000Alien Life May Thrive on an Exotic Kind of Carbon Dioxidehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/alien-life-may-thrive-exotic-kind-carbon-dioxide-180952500/The familiar gas would have not-so-familiar properties on other planets.Thu, 28 Aug 2014 13:34:35 +0000Scientists Find Life in an Antarctic Lakehttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/scientists-find-life-frozen-antarctic-lake-180952439/ …a place not unlike Jupiter’s moon EuropaThu, 21 Aug 2014 18:17:17 +0000When Sputnik Crashed in Wisconsinhttp://www.airspacemag.com/articles/when-sputnik-crashed-wisconsin-180952388/Half a century later, the town of Manitowoc commemorates its biggest day ever.Wed, 20 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000Cubesats to the Moon (Mars and Saturn, Too)http://www.airspacemag.com/space/cubesats-moon-mars-and-saturn-too-180952389/The next generation of planetary explorers.Wed, 20 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000Where NASA Learned to Spacewalkhttp://www.airspacemag.com/space/where-nasa-learned-spacewalk-180952396/Gemini astronauts jumped into this Maryland pool to experience working in space.Wed, 20 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000Life in a Lake of Oilhttp://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/life-pool-oil-180952281/And that may have implications for Saturn’s moon TitanThu, 07 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000Moon First—Mine the Asteroids Laterhttp://www.airspacemag.com/articles/moon-firstmine-asteroids-later-180952272/Let’s learn how to extract space resources closer to home.Wed, 06 Aug 2014 19:04:10 +0000