Magazine Staff

Linda Musser Shiner

Art Director
Ted Lopez

Senior Editor
Tony Reichhardt

Departments Editor
Mark Strauss

Senior Associate Editors
Rebecca Maksel
Diane Tedeschi

Associate Editors
Chris Klimek
Zach Rosenberg

Photography and Illustrations Editor
Caroline Sheen

Web Editor
Tony Reichhardt

Digital Producer
Lila Thulin

Roger A. Mola

Founding Editor
George C. Larson

Editorial: (202) 633-6070
Web site:

Air & Space/Smithsonian (ISSN 0886-2257) is published bimonthly by Smithsonian Enterprises, MRC 513, PO Box 37012, Washington, DC 20013-7012. We may occasionally publish extra issues. Periodical postage paid at Washington, DC, and additional mailing offices.

POSTMASTER: Send change of address to Air & Space Customer Service, PO Box 420300, Palm Coast, Florida 32142-0300. Printed in the USA. Canadian publication agreement no. 40039324. Canadian return address: Asendia USA, PO Box 1051, Fort Erie, ON L2A 6C7 Canada.

©Smithsonian Institution 2012. All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. Editorial offices: MRC 513, P.O. Box 37012, Washington, DC 20013. Circulation and advertising offices: 420 Lexington Ave., New York, NY 10170.

Subscriptions: U.S. and possessions: $26 a year payable in U.S. funds. Canada and all other countries: add $6.00 (U.S. funds) per year. Ninety-nine percent of dues is designated for magazine subscription. For Address changes and subscription orders: mail to Air & Space Customer Service, PO Box 420300, Palm Coast, Florida 32142-0300; outside the U.S., call (386) 246-0470.

Mailing Lists: We sometimes make our subscriber list available to companies that sell goods and services that we believe would interest our readers. If you do not want to receive such mailings, send your current mailing label or, an exact copy, to: Air & Space Customer Service, PO Box 420300, Palm Coast, Florida 32142-0300.

Single copies: To purchase an issue (current $5.99, back issue $7), please write AIR & SPACE/Smithsonian, 420 Lexington Ave., Suite 2335, New York, NY 10170; or call (212) 916-1300.

President, Smithsonian Enterprises
Carol LeBlanc
Chief Digital Officer, Smithsonian Media, Vice President, Digital Strategy
William Allman
Editor in Chief, Smithsonian magazine, Vice President, Live Events
Michael Caruso
Senior Vice President, Global Business Development
Alan Chu
Chief Information Officer
Grace Clark
Controller / Acting Chief Financial Officer
Beth Cunigan
Senior Vice President, Retail Group
Ed Howell
Senior Vice President, Programming Networks
John Mernit
Chief Revenue Officer, Media Group
Amy P. Wilkins

Executive Director, Client Partnerships
Gayle Lambert
Sales Director
Walker Mason
Account Manager
Meryle Lowenthal
Travel Sales Director
Jaime Duffy
Account Managers
Southwest Nuala Berrells
United Kingdom Julian Staples, J.S. Media Associates
Japan Yoshinori Ikeda, Mayumi Kai
Korea B.J. Kim
Direct Response MI Media Services, LLC, Marie Isabelle
Advertising Coordinator Bennett Blue
Marketing Director
Ellyn L. Hurwitz
Art Director
Annie K. Sullivan
Associate Marketing Director
Nancy Kaplan
Marketing Coordinator
Gabrielle Russillo
Research Manager
Linda Lawrence
Consumer Marketing
Consumer Marketing Director
Lisa Dunham
Planning Director
Sean D. McDermott
Renewals and Gift Director
Susan Warner
New Business Director
Paul Masse
Renewals and Internet Manager
Michael Ivler
Gift Manager
Jonathan Balangon
Marketing Manager, New Business
David Lloyd
Marketing Coordinator, New Business
Rose Drayton
Asst. Renewals and Billing Manager
Nicole Thompson
Vice President
Sarah Kingsley
Prepress Director
Katherine Balch
Prepress Manager
Frank Matthew Hale II
Prepress Systems Manager
Penie Atherton-Hunt
Color and Quality Manager
Bill Whitcher
Online Publishing Group
Director, Digital Services & Technology
Todd Stowell
Director, Audience & Revenue Development
Perrin Doniger
Lead Designer and Digital Strategist
Shaylyn Esposito
Digital Project Manager and Producer
Kathryn Macko-Hardy
Manager, Special Projects & Custom Content
Melissa Wiley
Digital Producer
McKenzie Johnson
Web Developer
Sean Henderson
Business Office
Vice President, Operations
Ed Dequina
Business Manager, Media
Edward J. Hayes
Finance Manager
Jay Yousefzadeh
Administrative Support Manager
James A. Babcock
Joanne Hubbard
Director, Human Resources
Dana S. Moreland
Associate Director, Human Resources
Jennifer Alexander Thorpe
Benefits Manager
Sibyl A. Williams-Green
Recruiting Manager
Jay Sharp