Articles | Air & Space Magazinehttps://www.airspacemag.com/rss/articles/RSS feed for ArticlesenFri, 17 Nov 2017 13:30:00 +0000Phosphorus: You Can’t Have Life Without It, at Least on Earthhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/phosporus-you-cant-have-life-without-it-least-earth-180967243/When searching for “carbon-based” life, we need to pay attention to other elements too.Fri, 17 Nov 2017 13:30:00 +0000Flying COW Helps Puerto Rico Get Its Phone Service Backhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/cow-flies-over-san-juan-180967206/A drone-based “cell tower” provides stopgap connectivity to the storm-ravaged island.Thu, 16 Nov 2017 16:51:56 +0000The Man Who Fell Back to Earthhttps://www.airspacemag.com/airspacemag/man-who-fell-back-earth-180967207/Astronaut Scott Kelly talks about zero-g sleeping and other oddities of spending a year in space.Wed, 15 Nov 2017 20:00:35 +0000Dream Chaser Sticks the Landinghttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/dream-chaser-sticks-landing-180967203/Sierra Nevada’s mini-space shuttle stays on track for a 2020 launch.Tue, 14 Nov 2017 22:13:14 +0000The Critical Importance of Biosignatureshttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/critical-importance-biosignatures-180967163/To identify life on other worlds, scientists will have to know what to look for, and what to ignore. Thu, 09 Nov 2017 21:04:50 +0000“Zombie Star” Has Astronomers Stumpedhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/zombie-star-has-astronomers-stumped-180967152/The supernova that came back from the dead.Wed, 08 Nov 2017 18:00:00 +0000Raptors: Portraits of Birds of Preyhttps://www.airspacemag.com/articles/raptors-portraits-birds-prey-180967000/Everything from cute baby chicks to majestic birds of prey, as seen through photographer Traer Scott’s lens.Wed, 08 Nov 2017 14:15:59 +0000Should Localities Decide on Drone Policy? Not Everyone Thinks Sohttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/administration-lets-localities-decide-drones-180967126/A new Federal pilot program will give local jurisdictions more say on drone flights, but the rationale is unclear.Tue, 07 Nov 2017 19:10:13 +0000Laika Declassifiedhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/laika-declassified-180967077/The truth about the first dog in space came out a little at a time, over decades. And we still may not know the full story.Fri, 03 Nov 2017 15:48:16 +0000The First Hydrogen Bombhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/first-hydrogen-bomb-180967074/Sixty-five years ago, a test of a fearsome new weapon. Thu, 02 Nov 2017 20:00:30 +0000The Frankness of Bridenstinehttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/frankness-bridenstine-180967053/NASA’s proposed new chief gets grilled about the home planet.Thu, 02 Nov 2017 13:03:47 +0000Beware of Black Cats Before Flyinghttps://www.airspacemag.com/as-interview/beware-black-cats-flying-180967029/Dancing on the wing with an umbrella and other pilot superstitionsTue, 31 Oct 2017 18:40:00 +0000Access Mars Introduces Space Exploration for Everyonehttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/access-mars-introduces-space-exploration-everyone-180967025/We can’t all go to Mars, but Mars can come to us.Tue, 31 Oct 2017 16:00:00 +0000World War II’s Most Famous Ghost Planehttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/world-war-iis-most-famous-ghost-plane-180967012/In time for Halloween, a look back at “Lady Be Good.” Tue, 31 Oct 2017 12:49:02 +0000Back to Darwin’s Warm Little Pondhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/back-darwins-warm-little-pond-180967008/Reviving an old hypothesis about the origin of life on Earth.Mon, 30 Oct 2017 19:00:16 +0000Mr. Moonwalkhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/mr-moonwalk-180967001/Walter Kuehnegger has been researching lunar locomotion for more than half a century.Fri, 27 Oct 2017 18:54:43 +0000The Army Has a New Eye in the Skyhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/army-gets-ready-test-orbiting-spyglass-soldiers-180965366/Kestrel Eye will demonstrate the usefulness of small imaging satellites for battlefield commanders.Tue, 24 Oct 2017 15:00:37 +0000A New Classification System for Water-Based Life https://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/new-classification-system-water-based-life-180965341/But how different can life on other planets really be?Fri, 20 Oct 2017 16:00:00 +0000It Finally Happened: A Passenger Airplane Hit a Dronehttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/airliner-probably-hits-drone-180965320/Luckily, there was little damage.Thu, 19 Oct 2017 16:30:00 +0000WWI Pilot’s Portrait Gets a Special Viewinghttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/world-war-i-pilots-descendant-gets-see-his-portrait-century-later-180965312/For Guillaume de Ramel, a heritage flight last week in Virginia had particular meaning.Wed, 18 Oct 2017 21:15:06 +0000Why We Go to the Moonhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/why-we-go-moon-180965294/It starts with a mission statement.Tue, 17 Oct 2017 16:00:00 +0000Gravitational Wave Astronomy Just Became a Team Sporthttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/gravitational-wave-astronomy-just-became-team-sport-180965266/Observatories followed a ripple in space-time to its sourceMon, 16 Oct 2017 14:00:00 +0000Thinking Smaller, the Air Force Learns a Thing or Twohttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/will-air-force-finally-get-back-light-attack-180965151/After evaluating “light attack” aircraft, the military likes what it sees.Fri, 13 Oct 2017 18:26:41 +0000Did the Moon Once Have a Substantial Atmosphere?https://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/did-moon-once-have-substantial-atmosphere-180965250/Maybe it wasn’t always as dry and dead as it is today.Thu, 12 Oct 2017 18:00:00 +0000Look Around Chuck Yeager’s Cockpithttps://www.airspacemag.com/articles/chuck-yeagers-cockpit-180964968/A 360-degree view inside the airplane that broke the sound barrier.Thu, 12 Oct 2017 16:00:00 +0000Meet Coyote, the Latest (and Smallest) Hurricane Hunterhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/noaa-sacrifices-drones-appease-poseidon-180965188/NOAA sends disposable drones deep into storms, where it's too dangerous for airplanes.Tue, 10 Oct 2017 20:11:28 +0000300 Asteroids in 3 Yearshttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/300-asteroids-3-years-180965150/That’s the ambitious goal of a proposed Finnish nanosat mission.Fri, 06 Oct 2017 18:00:00 +0000Planet 9 Might Be an Immigranthttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/planet-9-might-be-immigrant-180965149/The question is: From where?Fri, 06 Oct 2017 17:35:28 +0000Cosmonauts Shoot First 360 Video of a Spacewalkhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/cosmonauts-shoot-first-360-video-spacewalk-180965133/Worth watching, but there’s better stuff to come.Thu, 05 Oct 2017 13:01:19 +0000Picturing Pan Amhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/picturing-pan-am-180965078/A gallery of images, in honor of the iconic (and defunct) airline’s 90th birthday. Wed, 04 Oct 2017 21:00:06 +000060 Years Since Sputnikhttps://www.airspacemag.com/space/60-years-sputnik-180965102/The satellite that started it all.Tue, 03 Oct 2017 23:00:17 +0000Low Flying and High Adventure in the True Crime Movie <em>American Made</em>https://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/american-made-controversial-flying-movie-soars-180965067/Wherein Tom Cruise uses his pilot’s license while on the job.Fri, 29 Sep 2017 20:32:14 +0000Army Blackhawk Collides With Drone Over NYChttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/army-blackhawk-hits-drone-180965047/The first confirmed mid-air collision involving a U.S. drone.Wed, 27 Sep 2017 21:05:14 +0000Most Super-Earths Are Likely Not Habitablehttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/most-super-earths-are-likely-not-habitable-180965030/That’s the disappointing conclusion from a recent meeting about planetary habitability.Tue, 26 Sep 2017 19:00:00 +0000Indiana Jones’ Biplane and <i>The Martian</i>’s Spacesuit Go Up For Auctionhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/indiana-jones-biplane-block-180965013/Aircraft and miniatures from <i>The Last Crusade, Battle of Britain</i>, and other films are among the movie props up for bid.Mon, 25 Sep 2017 18:30:26 +0000Dropsondes Go Where Even Hurricane Hunters Fear to Flyhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/dropsondes-go-where-even-hurricane-hunters-fear-fly-180964982/What flying machine could withstand 230-mph winds?Thu, 21 Sep 2017 18:30:24 +0000