Daily Planet | Air & Space Magazinehttps://www.airspacemag.com/rss/daily-planet/RSS feed for Daily PlanetenTue, 13 Mar 2018 20:00:00 +0000Life May Have Begun in Ocean Sediments, According to New Theoryhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/life-may-have-begun-ocean-sediments-according-new-theory-180968465/Trying to pinpoint the origin of life on Earth.Tue, 13 Mar 2018 20:00:00 +0000Neanderthal Cave Art Suggests They Were Smarter Than We Thoughthttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/neanderthal-cave-art-suggests-they-were-smarter-we-thought-180968412/Does that mean a second human lineage could have developed technology? Wed, 07 Mar 2018 16:30:43 +0000It Takes a (Moon) Villagehttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/it-takes-moon-village-180968368/Let the lunar lobbying begin.Tue, 06 Mar 2018 15:00:48 +0000Flying in Winter Weather? Don’t Let Your De-Icing Spray Expirehttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/flying-winter-weather-dont-let-your-de-icing-spray-expire-180968323/A new system aims to end costly delays on the runway during ice storms.Fri, 02 Mar 2018 16:30:02 +0000The Crash That Doomed Henry Ford’s Flying Carhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/crash-doomed-henry-fords-flying-car-180968316/The death of pilot Harry Brooks 90 years ago ended dreams of an “air Flivver.”Thu, 01 Mar 2018 19:00:00 +0000Vahana on Videohttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/vahana-video-180968279/Your air taxi is on the way, but arrival may be delayed.Wed, 28 Feb 2018 14:30:12 +0000A Temporary Habitat in the Driest Place on Earthhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/temporary-habitat-driest-place-earth-180968258/Martian microbes may rely on the same survival strategies as desert dwellers on our own planet.Mon, 26 Feb 2018 20:00:00 +0000Bruce McCandless and His Flying Machinehttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/bruce-mccandless-and-his-flying-machine-180968241/The astronaut who pioneered the MMU jetpack recounts the history of one of NASA’s greatest inventions.Fri, 23 Feb 2018 16:44:16 +0000Sorry, That Cute Robot From the <i>Star Wars</i> Movies Is Totally Impracticalhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/sorry-cute-robot-istar-warsi-movies-totally-impractical-180968229/Rolling isn’t the best way to move around a sandy planet. Flying is okay, though.Wed, 21 Feb 2018 19:00:00 +0000A Submarine for Titan’s Seashttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/submarine-titans-seas-180968178/Researchers simulate alien lakes to learn how difficult they’d be to explore.Fri, 16 Feb 2018 15:00:00 +0000The Flying Farmhandhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/flying-farmhand-180968022/This agricultural drone requires no human supervision at all.Thu, 15 Feb 2018 19:00:00 +0000This Astronomer Wants to Hunt for Exomountainshttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/now-weve-found-exoplanets-how-about-exomountains-180968150/Future telescopes may be able to tell how smooth or rugged alien landscapes are.Wed, 14 Feb 2018 18:00:00 +0000The Astro-Couplehttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/astro-couple-180968166/In the rarest of jobs, it’s even more rare for your spouse to be an astronaut, too.Wed, 14 Feb 2018 17:30:00 +0000Drones Navigate on the Fly, Without Consulting a Maphttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/drones-navigate-fly-without-consulting-map-180968136/Avoiding obstacles is still a tricky business for autonomous aircraft.Mon, 12 Feb 2018 16:55:09 +0000Astronauts Play Zero-G Badminton, Film it In 360https://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/astronauts-play-zero-g-badminton-film-it-360-180968124/Another space first.Fri, 09 Feb 2018 17:30:00 +0000SpaceX Just Took Us to a Tipping Pointhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/spacex-just-took-us-tipping-point-180968093/Reflections on yesterday’s Falcon Heavy launch from a space veteran. Wed, 07 Feb 2018 16:30:09 +0000The Lunar Anthropic Principlehttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/lunar-anthropic-principle-180968049/Is humanity destined to live on the Moon?Tue, 06 Feb 2018 17:00:00 +0000Elon Musk Is Having Funhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/elon-musk-having-fun-180968045/Today’s launch of the Falcon Heavy, if it succeeds, will be one of the most important space developments in years.Tue, 06 Feb 2018 14:55:44 +0000Martian Ice Cliffs Make a Tempting Destinationhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/martian-ice-cliffs-make-tempting-destination-180968021/Robotic missions and human expeditions should rank these newly discovered features high on their list of possible landing sites.Mon, 05 Feb 2018 20:30:38 +0000The Aerial Game: How Football and Aviation Grew Up Togetherhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/aerial-game-how-football-and-aviation-grew-together-180968029/America’s favorite game and its greatest invention are more connected than you’d think.Fri, 02 Feb 2018 22:04:21 +0000Tragedy Over Texashttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/tragedy-over-texas-180968019/A new book details the loss of space shuttle <i>Columbia</i> 15 years ago, and the heroic search operation that followed.Fri, 02 Feb 2018 19:00:12 +0000The Battle of Bien Hoa Air Basehttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/battle-bien-hoa-air-base-180967973/50 years after the start of the Tet Offensive, F-100 pilots remember the attack.Thu, 01 Feb 2018 17:15:16 +0000The Rebirth of “America by Air”https://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/rebirth-america-air-180967994/The National Air Space Museum transforms the way it tells the story of air travel.Wed, 31 Jan 2018 15:01:58 +0000Tales of the Space Explorershttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/tales-space-explorers-180967971/2017 was a banner year for astronaut memoirs.Tue, 30 Jan 2018 16:50:14 +0000Museum’s Only Surviving Aircraft From Pearl Harbor Is Now on Displayhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/going-into-combat-in-a-cargo-plane-180967944/In 1941, this cargo plane went into combat.Thu, 25 Jan 2018 20:38:28 +0000And the Google Lunar XPRIZE Goes to... No Onehttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/and-google-lunar-xprize-goes-no-one-180967940/Five teams stuck out Google’s contest to spur private investment in lunar exploration to the end, but none will meet the March 31 deadline.Wed, 24 Jan 2018 22:00:13 +0000We Just Got Closer to Having a Real-Life Tricorderhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/we-just-got-closer-having-real-life-tricorder-180967924/In the high Arctic, Canadian researchers try out a promising new approach to life detection.Tue, 23 Jan 2018 20:00:13 +0000