Daily Planet | Air & Space Magazinehttps://www.airspacemag.com/rss/daily-planet/RSS feed for Daily PlanetenMon, 16 Oct 2017 14:00:00 +0000Gravitational Wave Astronomy Just Became a Team Sporthttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/gravitational-wave-astronomy-just-became-team-sport-180965266/Observatories followed a ripple in space-time to its sourceMon, 16 Oct 2017 14:00:00 +0000Thinking Smaller, the Air Force Learns a Thing or Twohttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/will-air-force-finally-get-back-light-attack-180965151/After evaluating “light attack” aircraft, the military likes what it sees.Fri, 13 Oct 2017 18:26:41 +0000Did the Moon Once Have a Substantial Atmosphere?https://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/did-moon-once-have-substantial-atmosphere-180965250/Maybe it wasn’t always as dry and dead as it is today.Thu, 12 Oct 2017 18:00:00 +0000Meet Coyote, the Latest (and Smallest) Hurricane Hunterhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/noaa-sacrifices-drones-appease-poseidon-180965188/NOAA sends disposable drones deep into storms, where it's too dangerous for airplanes.Tue, 10 Oct 2017 20:11:28 +0000300 Asteroids in 3 Yearshttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/300-asteroids-3-years-180965150/That’s the ambitious goal of a proposed Finnish nanosat mission.Fri, 06 Oct 2017 18:00:00 +0000Planet 9 Might Be an Immigranthttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/planet-9-might-be-immigrant-180965149/The question is: From where?Fri, 06 Oct 2017 17:35:28 +0000Cosmonauts Shoot First 360 Video of a Spacewalkhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/cosmonauts-shoot-first-360-video-spacewalk-180965133/Worth watching, but there’s better stuff to come.Thu, 05 Oct 2017 13:01:19 +0000Picturing Pan Amhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/picturing-pan-am-180965078/A gallery of images, in honor of the iconic (and defunct) airline’s 90th birthday. Wed, 04 Oct 2017 21:00:06 +0000Low Flying and High Adventure in the True Crime Movie <em>American Made</em>https://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/american-made-controversial-flying-movie-soars-180965067/Wherein Tom Cruise uses his pilot’s license while on the job.Fri, 29 Sep 2017 20:32:14 +0000Army Blackhawk Collides With Drone Over NYChttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/army-blackhawk-hits-drone-180965047/The first confirmed mid-air collision involving a U.S. drone.Wed, 27 Sep 2017 21:05:14 +0000Most Super-Earths Are Likely Not Habitablehttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/most-super-earths-are-likely-not-habitable-180965030/That’s the disappointing conclusion from a recent meeting about planetary habitability.Tue, 26 Sep 2017 19:00:00 +0000Indiana Jones’ Biplane and <i>The Martian</i>’s Spacesuit Go Up For Auctionhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/indiana-jones-biplane-block-180965013/Aircraft and miniatures from <i>The Last Crusade, Battle of Britain</i>, and other films are among the movie props up for bid.Mon, 25 Sep 2017 18:30:26 +0000Dropsondes Go Where Even Hurricane Hunters Fear to Flyhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/dropsondes-go-where-even-hurricane-hunters-fear-fly-180964982/What flying machine could withstand 230-mph winds?Thu, 21 Sep 2017 18:30:24 +0000By Pitching in to Help Storm Victims, Drones Earn New Respecthttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/after-two-hurricanes-drones-prove-useful-pinch-180964908/Could their role in recent hurricanes finally mean a regulatory turning point?Fri, 15 Sep 2017 20:10:17 +0000A Pioneering NASA Administratorhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/pioneering-nasa-administrator-180964885/The nominee to head NASA has an exciting vision for the agency.Wed, 13 Sep 2017 19:15:48 +0000 It’s Time to Loosen Planetary Protection Rules for Marshttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/its-time-loosen-planetary-protection-rules-mars-180964845/Our cautiousness is stifling space exploration.Tue, 12 Sep 2017 13:00:00 +0000Fast Radio Bursts and SETI’s High Bar for Evidencehttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/fast-radio-bursts-and-setis-high-bar-evidence-180964826/Natural or artificial: How would we know if a radio signal is intelligent in origin?Fri, 08 Sep 2017 20:00:00 +0000Augmented Space: The Moon on Your Desk, and Buzz Aldrin Anywherehttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/augmented-space-rockets-over-your-house-moon-your-desk-and-buzz-aldrin-everywhere-180964726/AR is about to go big.Fri, 08 Sep 2017 19:45:48 +0000Vote For Your Favorite Vintage Airplane in Sacramento This Weekendhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/national-aviation-heritage-international-sacramento-weekend-180964809/The National Aviation Heritage International comes to the California Capital Airshow.Fri, 08 Sep 2017 12:30:08 +0000An Afghan Aviator’s Hopehttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/afghan-aviators-hope-180964801/Shaesta Waiz wants her round-the-world trip to inspire girls everywhere.Thu, 07 Sep 2017 16:00:00 +0000How Do Hurricanes Form, and Who Would Fly Into One?https://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/how-do-hurricanes-form-and-who-would-fly-one-180964783/Scenes from a Category 5 storm.Wed, 06 Sep 2017 18:38:45 +0000Happy (Late) Birthday, Voyagerhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/happy-late-birthday-voyager-180964744/A message to humanity's farthest-flung artifact.Tue, 05 Sep 2017 19:45:15 +0000A Faster, Leaner Mars Sample Return Isn’t the Good Idea It Appears to Behttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/faster-leaner-mars-sample-return-isnt-good-idea-it-appears-be-180964707/In this case, savings don’t equal better science.Thu, 31 Aug 2017 20:00:07 +0000One Small Step for Lunar Commercehttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/one-very-small-step-lunar-commerce-180964700/Onetime Google XPRIZE contender Astrobotic inks a deal with United Launch Alliance.Thu, 31 Aug 2017 19:30:00 +0000Do Gamers Make Better Drone Operators Than Pilots?https://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/could-video-gamers-make-better-drone-pilots-180964653/Video gamers’ psychology might be better-suited to flying drones.Tue, 29 Aug 2017 20:00:51 +0000Cassini’s Last Moments, in Gory Detailhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/cassinis-last-moments-gory-detail-180964648/For NASA’s Saturn explorer, the end will come quickly.Tue, 29 Aug 2017 16:30:54 +0000What Were the First 10 Items In the Smithsonian’s Air and Space Museum?https://www.airspacemag.com/airspacemag/first-ten-180964539/Hint: It started with a purchase from Frederick Stringfellow in 1889.Wed, 23 Aug 2017 21:00:04 +0000Nightly Snow Storms on Marshttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/nightly-snow-storms-mars-180964606/It may not be important for Martian life, but it makes us wonder.Wed, 23 Aug 2017 16:50:34 +0000