Flight Today | Air & Space Magazinehttps://www.airspacemag.com/rss/flight-today/RSS feed for Flight TodayenTue, 10 Oct 2017 20:11:28 +0000Meet Coyote, the Latest (and Smallest) Hurricane Hunterhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/noaa-sacrifices-drones-appease-poseidon-180965188/NOAA sends disposable drones deep into storms, where it's too dangerous for airplanes.Tue, 10 Oct 2017 20:11:28 +0000Low Flying and High Adventure in the True Crime Movie <em>American Made</em>https://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/american-made-controversial-flying-movie-soars-180965067/Wherein Tom Cruise uses his pilot’s license while on the job.Fri, 29 Sep 2017 20:32:14 +0000Army Blackhawk Collides With Drone Over NYChttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/army-blackhawk-hits-drone-180965047/The first confirmed mid-air collision involving a U.S. drone.Wed, 27 Sep 2017 21:05:14 +0000Dropsondes Go Where Even Hurricane Hunters Fear to Flyhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/dropsondes-go-where-even-hurricane-hunters-fear-fly-180964982/What flying machine could withstand 230-mph winds?Thu, 21 Sep 2017 18:30:24 +0000Come Along to the Carrier Flight Deckhttps://www.airspacemag.com/flight-today/come-along-carrier-flight-deck-180964787/ The &ldquo;STEM in 30&rdquo; TV crew goes behind the scenes on the USS&nbsp;<em>Dwight D. Eisenhower.</em>Tue, 19 Sep 2017 16:00:00 +0000The 30,000-Foot Glass Ceilinghttps://www.airspacemag.com/flight-today/women-pilots-of-air-india-180964756/Gender equality has a tough climb in India, but climbing is what airline pilots do.Tue, 19 Sep 2017 16:00:00 +0000Flying the Mail in Remote Idahohttps://www.airspacemag.com/flight-today/air-mail-pilots-in-remote-idaho-180964754/Neither tight canyons, nor wildlife on runways…The postman’s creed is slightly different for pilots delivering mail in the mountains.Tue, 19 Sep 2017 16:00:00 +0000By Pitching in to Help Storm Victims, Drones Earn New Respecthttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/after-two-hurricanes-drones-prove-useful-pinch-180964908/Could their role in recent hurricanes finally mean a regulatory turning point?Fri, 15 Sep 2017 20:10:17 +0000An Afghan Aviator’s Hopehttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/afghan-aviators-hope-180964801/Shaesta Waiz wants her round-the-world trip to inspire girls everywhere.Thu, 07 Sep 2017 16:00:00 +0000How Do Hurricanes Form, and Who Would Fly Into One?https://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/how-do-hurricanes-form-and-who-would-fly-one-180964783/Scenes from a Category 5 storm.Wed, 06 Sep 2017 18:38:45 +0000Do Gamers Make Better Drone Operators Than Pilots?https://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/could-video-gamers-make-better-drone-pilots-180964653/Video gamers’ psychology might be better-suited to flying drones.Tue, 29 Aug 2017 20:00:51 +0000What Helicopter Climbs the Fastest?https://www.airspacemag.com/flight-today/what-helicopter-climbs-fastest-180964354/ This 1971 record still stands.Tue, 22 Aug 2017 17:00:00 +0000Space Camp May Be Habit Forminghttps://www.airspacemag.com/flight-today/space-camp-may-be-habit-forming-180964353/ When camp is a career path. Tue, 22 Aug 2017 17:00:00 +0000The War on Noisy Aircrafthttps://www.airspacemag.com/flight-today/war-noisy-aircraft-180964349/ Tue, 22 Aug 2017 17:00:00 +0000The Icarus Race: Into the Wild With a Fan on Your Backhttps://www.airspacemag.com/flight-today/icarus-race-180964345/Paramotor competitors cross 1,000 miles of mountains and desert, in search of freedom, adventure, and a trophy.Tue, 22 Aug 2017 17:00:00 +0000Robots to the Rescuehttps://www.airspacemag.com/flight-today/emergency-response-uavs-180964334/Your next 911 call may fetch a drone.Tue, 22 Aug 2017 17:00:00 +0000The Youngest 777 First Officer In the Worldhttps://www.airspacemag.com/as-interview/i-love-my-job-and-heres-how-i-got-it-180964333/Connor Shields, First Officer, Southern AirTue, 22 Aug 2017 17:00:00 +0000Remote Viewing Could Revolutionize Air Traffic Controlhttps://www.airspacemag.com/flight-today/roger-virginia-we-see-you-in-idaho-180964332/ Tue, 22 Aug 2017 17:00:00 +0000