Space | Air & Space Magazinehttps://www.airspacemag.com/rss/space/RSS feed for SpaceenTue, 17 Oct 2017 16:00:00 +0000Why We Go to the Moonhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/why-we-go-moon-180965294/It starts with a mission statement.Tue, 17 Oct 2017 16:00:00 +0000Gravitational Wave Astronomy Just Became a Team Sporthttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/gravitational-wave-astronomy-just-became-team-sport-180965266/Observatories followed a ripple in space-time to its sourceMon, 16 Oct 2017 14:00:00 +0000Did the Moon Once Have a Substantial Atmosphere?https://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/did-moon-once-have-substantial-atmosphere-180965250/Maybe it wasn’t always as dry and dead as it is today.Thu, 12 Oct 2017 18:00:00 +0000300 Asteroids in 3 Yearshttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/300-asteroids-3-years-180965150/That’s the ambitious goal of a proposed Finnish nanosat mission.Fri, 06 Oct 2017 18:00:00 +0000Planet 9 Might Be an Immigranthttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/planet-9-might-be-immigrant-180965149/The question is: From where?Fri, 06 Oct 2017 17:35:28 +0000Cosmonauts Shoot First 360 Video of a Spacewalkhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/cosmonauts-shoot-first-360-video-spacewalk-180965133/Worth watching, but there’s better stuff to come.Thu, 05 Oct 2017 13:01:19 +000060 Years Since Sputnikhttps://www.airspacemag.com/space/60-years-sputnik-180965102/The satellite that started it all.Tue, 03 Oct 2017 23:00:17 +0000Most Super-Earths Are Likely Not Habitablehttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/most-super-earths-are-likely-not-habitable-180965030/That’s the disappointing conclusion from a recent meeting about planetary habitability.Tue, 26 Sep 2017 19:00:00 +0000Indiana Jones’ Biplane and <i>The Martian</i>’s Spacesuit Go Up For Auctionhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/indiana-jones-biplane-block-180965013/Aircraft and miniatures from <i>The Last Crusade, Battle of Britain</i>, and other films are among the movie props up for bid.Mon, 25 Sep 2017 18:30:26 +0000Preserving Historic Sites on the Moonhttps://www.airspacemag.com/as-interview/michelle-hanlon-180964762/A space lawyer says the Apollo lunar landing sites are worthy of legal protection.Tue, 19 Sep 2017 17:00:00 +0000“Go” for Restorationhttps://www.airspacemag.com/space/go-restoration-180964788/Apollo’s mission control is getting revived.Tue, 19 Sep 2017 16:00:00 +0000We Built the Saturn Vhttps://www.airspacemag.com/space/we-built-saturn-v-180964759/Memories of a giant-in-progress.Tue, 19 Sep 2017 16:00:00 +0000A Swimming Pool For Spacefarershttps://www.airspacemag.com/space/blue-abyss-180964758/The town of Bedfordshire, England wants to build the world’s biggest pool for space training. Tue, 19 Sep 2017 16:00:00 +0000A Pioneering NASA Administratorhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/pioneering-nasa-administrator-180964885/The nominee to head NASA has an exciting vision for the agency.Wed, 13 Sep 2017 19:15:48 +0000 It’s Time to Loosen Planetary Protection Rules for Marshttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/its-time-loosen-planetary-protection-rules-mars-180964845/Our cautiousness is stifling space exploration.Tue, 12 Sep 2017 13:00:00 +0000Fast Radio Bursts and SETI’s High Bar for Evidencehttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/fast-radio-bursts-and-setis-high-bar-evidence-180964826/Natural or artificial: How would we know if a radio signal is intelligent in origin?Fri, 08 Sep 2017 20:00:00 +0000Augmented Space: The Moon on Your Desk, and Buzz Aldrin Anywherehttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/augmented-space-rockets-over-your-house-moon-your-desk-and-buzz-aldrin-everywhere-180964726/AR is about to go big.Fri, 08 Sep 2017 19:45:48 +0000Happy (Late) Birthday, Voyagerhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/happy-late-birthday-voyager-180964744/A message to humanity's farthest-flung artifact.Tue, 05 Sep 2017 19:45:15 +0000A Faster, Leaner Mars Sample Return Isn’t the Good Idea It Appears to Behttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/faster-leaner-mars-sample-return-isnt-good-idea-it-appears-be-180964707/In this case, savings don’t equal better science.Thu, 31 Aug 2017 20:00:07 +0000One Small Step for Lunar Commercehttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/one-very-small-step-lunar-commerce-180964700/Onetime Google XPRIZE contender Astrobotic inks a deal with United Launch Alliance.Thu, 31 Aug 2017 19:30:00 +0000Cassini’s Last Moments, in Gory Detailhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/cassinis-last-moments-gory-detail-180964648/For NASA’s Saturn explorer, the end will come quickly.Tue, 29 Aug 2017 16:30:54 +0000Nightly Snow Storms on Marshttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/nightly-snow-storms-mars-180964606/It may not be important for Martian life, but it makes us wonder.Wed, 23 Aug 2017 16:50:34 +0000Mars Fakershttps://www.airspacemag.com/space/mars-fakers-180964343/Can we learn anything by pretending?Tue, 22 Aug 2017 17:00:00 +0000In Pursuit of the Perfect Spacesuithttps://www.airspacemag.com/space/space-wear-180964337/Choosing the right outfit is crucial when its job is to save your life.Tue, 22 Aug 2017 17:00:00 +0000