Space | Air & Space Magazinehttps://www.airspacemag.com/rss/space/RSS feed for SpaceenThu, 14 Dec 2017 18:00:00 +0000Why We Need Humans—Not Just Robots—On the Moonhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/why-we-need-humansnot-just-robots-moon-180967547/Machines alone won’t be able to satisfy our curiosity.Thu, 14 Dec 2017 18:00:00 +0000SpaceX’s Old and Improved Launch Pad Re-Opens for Businesshttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/spacexs-old-and-improved-launch-pad-re-opens-business-tomorrow-180967492/The rocket company turns a tragedy into an opportunity.Mon, 11 Dec 2017 20:25:09 +0000It Came From Beyondhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/it-came-beyond-180967432/ʻOumuamua, the first known interstellar asteroid, may lead us to rethink the idea that life came here from other stars. Wed, 06 Dec 2017 17:00:00 +0000When Did Alien Sightings Turn Into Alien Abductions?https://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/when-did-alien-sightings-turn-alien-abductions-180967397/Reports of encounters with extraterrestrials took a turn in the 1980s. The question is why.Tue, 05 Dec 2017 20:05:09 +0000<i>Artemis</i> is a Step Backwards to the Moonhttps://www.airspacemag.com/articles/artemis-180967128/Andy Weir's second novel combines fun action scenes with a snoozer corporate plot.Tue, 05 Dec 2017 17:16:32 +0000Just How Do You Get a Smallsat into Orbit?https://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/just-how-do-you-get-smallsat-orbit-180967374/NPR’s Planet Money podcast documents the journey of a cubesat from design to launch.Thu, 30 Nov 2017 20:00:00 +0000Let’s Make Chocolate in Space!https://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/chocolate-factory-orbit-180967261/Candy lovers aim for new heights. Tue, 28 Nov 2017 14:00:00 +0000Take a Step on Another Worldhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/take-step-another-world-180967334/What will it be like to be on the Moon? Mon, 27 Nov 2017 20:40:49 +0000Cosmic Zoo vs. Rare Earthhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/cosmic-zoo-vs-rare-earth-180967308/A new book argues that complex life is common in the universe.Wed, 22 Nov 2017 15:49:08 +0000The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Companyhttps://www.airspacemag.com/space/fate-of-the-lynx-180967118/They had brains, vision, drive. Where did XCOR go wrong?Tue, 21 Nov 2017 18:00:00 +0000Defenders of the Planethttps://www.airspacemag.com/space/fight-against-killer-asteroids-180967109/A new NASA office pledges to save humans from the fate of the dinosaurs.Tue, 21 Nov 2017 18:00:00 +0000Why Not Use the Space Station as a Mars Mission Simulator?https://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/why-not-use-space-station-mars-mission-simulator-180967248/The ISS4Mars project would help astronauts get ready to venture farther from home.Mon, 20 Nov 2017 19:30:44 +0000Phosphorus: You Can’t Have Life Without It, at Least on Earthhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/phosporus-you-cant-have-life-without-it-least-earth-180967243/When searching for “carbon-based” life, we need to pay attention to other elements too.Fri, 17 Nov 2017 13:30:00 +0000The Man Who Fell Back to Earthhttps://www.airspacemag.com/airspacemag/man-who-fell-back-earth-180967207/Astronaut Scott Kelly talks about zero-g sleeping and other oddities of spending a year in space.Wed, 15 Nov 2017 20:00:35 +0000Dream Chaser Sticks the Landinghttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/dream-chaser-sticks-landing-180967203/Sierra Nevada’s mini-space shuttle stays on track for a 2020 launch.Tue, 14 Nov 2017 22:13:14 +0000The Critical Importance of Biosignatureshttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/critical-importance-biosignatures-180967163/To identify life on other worlds, scientists will have to know what to look for, and what to ignore. Thu, 09 Nov 2017 21:04:50 +0000“Zombie Star” Has Astronomers Stumpedhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/zombie-star-has-astronomers-stumped-180967152/The supernova that came back from the dead.Wed, 08 Nov 2017 18:00:00 +0000Laika Declassifiedhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/laika-declassified-180967077/The truth about the first dog in space came out a little at a time, over decades. And we still may not know the full story.Fri, 03 Nov 2017 15:48:16 +0000The First Hydrogen Bombhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/first-hydrogen-bomb-180967074/Sixty-five years ago, a test of a fearsome new weapon. Thu, 02 Nov 2017 20:00:30 +0000The Frankness of Bridenstinehttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/frankness-bridenstine-180967053/NASA’s proposed new chief gets grilled about the home planet.Thu, 02 Nov 2017 13:03:47 +0000Access Mars Introduces Space Exploration for Everyonehttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/access-mars-introduces-space-exploration-everyone-180967025/We can’t all go to Mars, but Mars can come to us.Tue, 31 Oct 2017 16:00:00 +0000Back to Darwin’s Warm Little Pondhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/back-darwins-warm-little-pond-180967008/Reviving an old hypothesis about the origin of life on Earth.Mon, 30 Oct 2017 19:00:16 +0000Mr. Moonwalkhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/mr-moonwalk-180967001/Walter Kuehnegger has been researching lunar locomotion for more than half a century.Fri, 27 Oct 2017 18:54:43 +0000The Army Has a New Eye in the Skyhttps://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/army-gets-ready-test-orbiting-spyglass-soldiers-180965366/Kestrel Eye will demonstrate the usefulness of small imaging satellites for battlefield commanders.Tue, 24 Oct 2017 15:00:37 +0000A New Classification System for Water-Based Life https://www.airspacemag.com/daily-planet/new-classification-system-water-based-life-180965341/But how different can life on other planets really be?Fri, 20 Oct 2017 16:00:00 +0000